1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Super Desktop, Inferior Game Running :(

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Niv, May 26, 2008.

  1. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've just purchased a new desktop and it's specs are fantastic (well to me it is). However, the thing can't play ANY game without lagging ridiculously.

    The game would first run smoothly, if not hyper-speeding everything, then it would go into this 1 frame/5sec mode for couple seconds then repeat the same process again.

    I don't know what's up with the system, but after checking TaskManager, I noticed that when the lag starts the CPU would spike up an extra 10% and that SYSTEM in the list would appear to be trying to do something that lags the game! Please help! This is pretty depressing for me since I was greatly expecting some fantastic game play.

    Any help is much appreciated. :)
     
  2. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Welcome to TPU!

    You'll be able to get more help if you fill out your System Specs in your profile or give them here. That way our awesome community has more info to work with.
     
    Niv says thanks.
  3. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is my system's specs:
     
  4. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,399 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    What are the specs of the computer?
     
    Niv says thanks.
  5. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry for making so many multiple posts I'm very unfamiliar to forums :(

    Here are the specs reposted:

    OS: Microsoft Windows XP Media Center 2002
    CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6400+
    Mthr Brd: ASUS M2N-VM DVI
    RAM: 3GB
    Vdeo Crd: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT
     
  6. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,399 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I was just slow in posting, and by the time my post went through you had responded.
     
    Niv says thanks.
  7. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That's alright :) any help is appreciated. Your being here is already giving me comforts in this vast community of experts. The last forum I requested help in gave me cold shoulders for a long time and that doesn't exactly give me peace of mind. :(
     
  8. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,399 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Basically there are two things that could be causing the problems, either something hardware related (if you bought the computer from a store, posting a link could be helpful) or something software related. What game(s) have you noticed this with, and what other software have you installed since buying the computer.
     
    Niv says thanks.
  9. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    k atm I'm 99% certain that this is purely hardware (and maybe 1% that some bad software) for these reasons:

    - All games installed in my other laptop and tablet (both are inferior to the desktop and much older) are able to run the games 100% problems free
    - All games currently installed in this desktop has the identical lag problem (begins smoothly/ hyper speed, lag lag lag, returns smoothly/ hyper speed)
    - All games when lagging have SYSTEM popping up in the TaskManager followed by some CPU spiking

    Games that I've tried are: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade, Voyage Century Online, Caesar IV

    Things that I've done hoping to solve this problem:
    - reinstalled NVIDIA driver using newest version provided by company site
    - run anti-spyware, greyware, malware etc. with NOD32, ThreatFire, Xoftspy (returns 0)
    - running the games with ALL defense softwares turned off
    - updating directX to most recent version 9.0c
    - restarting computer

    and of course none of them worked :(
     
  10. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,399 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Hrm...well the only way to be 100% sure it isn't a software program is uninstall everything you have installed. Yes it is a lot to do, but the only way that can be 100% sure without totally formatting the system. If that doesn't seem to work, then you may want return or exchange the system if it is bought, if you built it, you could test the hardware, but not sure if you have spare parts, or have a friend who could help.
     
    Niv says thanks.
  11. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    0_0 dang... if it's software anyway I can test that first?
     
  12. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    So the games start out playing fine, then starts really lagging and stuttering? I am thinking that a background program is interfering with it. You could try shutting down all unnecessary background programs and see if that helps.

    Also, what brand and wattage is your power supply? It could be running out of juice and causing something like this.
     
    Niv says thanks.
  13. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,399 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I would uninstall everything, then just install the games and see how they run. If the lagging still happens it could be hardware, like the graphics card overheating, if it doesn't then install one program at a time, and try gaming. If you don't get any problems, install another program. This might be a lot of work, but in the end it is probably the best way of checking the system that I can think of.
     
    Niv says thanks.
  14. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    k I'll try the back ground program solution right now. How do you check the power supply brand and wattage? It's only a piece of long plug with no labeling s...
     
  15. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Check the inside the computer, there should be a sticker on the power supply that tells what I need to know. I am willing to be that it's going to be a low powered power supply. Also, is this computer a name brand, like Dell, or HP, or did someone else build it?
     
    Niv says thanks.
  16. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    What virus protection are you running? If any shut it down and try it. I had this same problem. Turned out it was my virus protection running in the background.
     
    Niv says thanks.
  17. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    k power supply I will check in 1min. The protection programs I have are listed above, I'm going to shut them down (don't hack me please) from TaskManager and see how it goes. The desktop is custom build, so it's got things from everywhere. Specific companies related are in the specs.
     
  18. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,399 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Where did you purchase the parts from?
     
    Niv says thanks.
  19. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    parts are purchased from a small computer store called flycomputers, their website is www.flycomputers(dot)com (I don't know if this forum allows links) my desktop is a custom build using one of the entertainment system there as a template. (swapping parts)
     
  20. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    LMAO k I shut off half the total things in my TaskManager and the games now run at 3x of their supposed speed instead of 2x with the same problems still occuring. I'm gonna go restart my computer now and I'll be back with the power plug answers.
     
  21. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The power plug has these writings on them hope this is what you're looking for:

    27 TEC 53(RVV) 300/500V 3X 0.5mm^2 (written on the part inside the case)
    XD RVV WGX3C P.V.C WIRE B (written on the part outside the case)
     
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hrm... 3GB. Is that 3 sticks? Try taking one stick out if it is 3 sticks. You're probably not running dual channel.
     
    Niv says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think what I would like to stress is that the games start most of the time ULTRA-fast. Games run at 2x~3x their supposed speed for 5~10secs then lags to some incredible degree (as if the computer processed too fast and then decided to do nothing), then goes back to the 2x~3x hyper-speed again (as if computer realized that it has forgotten about the game program and decided to pick up the work again) which of course will result in the lag again. This process repeats at a steady pace as if the computer times it.
     
  24. Niv New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nope, sorry I see only 2 sticks (chips). Do you still want me to take one out?
     
  25. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    3GB of memory with only 2 sticks?
     
    Niv says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page