1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Super Pi 1m scores

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by giorgos th., Aug 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I'm so tempted to dig out my spare waterblock and hook it up to the hosepipe.
    Mobo can do about 580mhz before it starts to crap out, so that should give me 5.22ghz. Ran can run that frequency 1:1.

    Hmmm, a sub 9s time would be awesome.
  2. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,499 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    You got to DO it while you can, don't put if off anymore.... :rockout:
  3. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    rofl:roll: are the voltages that embarrassing that they need to be whited out:confused:
  4. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,499 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    :pimp:
  5. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I`m going to match yours score I`m going for 10GHz :D
  6. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,499 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    2.4v :rockout: Vcore
  7. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    hey SV a little tip.

    for super pi disable HT, that'll get you 8's for sure. It improves my super pi runs by about .3 seconds.
  8. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    and also try to raise the NB frequency over 4200-4300mhz...
  9. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,499 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    thanks guys for he tips, i am just learnign and still have to learn these tricks and also jsut learn.

    very much appriciated :rockout:
  10. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    are you running pi in Windows 7 with backgrounds,themes etc etc or is it my idea?
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    for real? That I know off the NB has to be less than the QPI an the absolute max or at least the most i've seen people run the QPI is at 4000 MHz. Maybe its different with the 965 EE than with the 920?
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    hey have you guys heard of AMD Fusion? Have you'll had it work with an intel rig?
  13. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    here you go with my 965...
    it`s not different between the 2 cpus...you just change uncore multipliers in the bios and start testing efficiency..

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  14. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    625 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    Phenom 9950 BE result:

    22.41s

    http://www.hwbot.org/result.do?resultId=793755

    I did get 22.078s but didn't manage to get a screenshot with CPU-Z. Is setting affinity to one core prohibited? The .078 is with affinity on one core. The .41 is without affinity setting.
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thank you Giorgos.

    Crazy, guess Ill have to try out different setups. I'm having a hard time stabilizing my ram with a BCLK over 192, it just wont boot. Divider is at 8. Any suggestions? BTW, dropping the divider down to 6 fixes the problem but I dont think im reaching the max on my sticks.
  16. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    how much Vqi and Vdimm you give?
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    VQi?? you mean perhaps QPI? QPi was 1.4


    vdimm 1.69v

    if you want maybe we can take it to PM's, maybe its a bit off topic?
  18. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    Vqpi is the qpi voltage yes...1.4 is good...maybe it needs more...i usually played with 1.57V..
    high uncore clocks need high Vdimm....
    i can play 4480+mhz uclock for 32m pi (stability) with 2.1Vdimm.
    Chicken Patty and SystemViper say thanks.
  19. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,499 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    wow ,so goihng that high is not a problem for a benc run, I like it! :rockout:

    I found that high Vqpi got me over some hurdles...
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    here is a link to a post it has my settings and stuff.

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1199702&postcount=1444

    thing is im scared to go over 1.4v, trying not to have to RMA anything lol. Whats the whole deal on going over 1.65v. thats still not clear to me.
  21. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    the most important thing to take care is the qpi/dram voltage difference....
    always keep it within 0.5...
    F.E. if you give 2.0Vdimm you must give 1.5Vqpi..
  22. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    you wont give 1.6Vqpi for 24/7 usage...just when it`s needed for a bench...
    running more than 1.65Vdimm is "nonsense"...
    some of the first B revisions died from that.
    The new C ones dont have a problem...i used 1.8Vdimm for 24/7 usage and 2.16V max..
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    so you are saying that for short periods of time, running high voltage is not that bad?

    by the way as you saw mine is a C revision.
  24. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    it`s not bad at all....active cooling is necessary though...
    all of the retail cpus are C revision.
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    active cooling such as? fans?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page