1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Super Talent Introduces the World's First DDR3-1600 MHz 4GB SO-DIMM

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 4, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Super Talent Technology, a leading manufacturer of Flash storage solutions and DRAM memory modules, today announced it is currently manufacturing the world’s first over-clocked 4GB SO-DIMM running at 1600 MHz. Super Talent Technology will now move forward with the shipment of 512M x64 (4GB) configurations of these new memory modules. While several manufactures are shipping DDR3 SO-DIMMs (small outline dual in-line memory modules), used in laptops and notebooks, supporting clock speeds of 1333 MHz, Super Talent’s has moved beyond this limitation and produced a DDR3 SO-DIMM capable of over-clocking to an incredible 1600 MHz.

    Ideal for today’s extreme portable workstations and gaming machines, Super Talent’s new 4GB SO-DIMM will enable these creative professionals to remove the memory bottleneck created by today’s 1333MHz limitation. “As memory technology continues to move forward Super Talent will continue to push the limits of what is possible and deliver the fastest solutions available.” – SuperTalent COO, CH Lee.

    [​IMG]

    Our new 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM was tested conducted in a 17-inch HP Envy 17-1011NR mobile workstation.
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    now wouldnt it be great if atom based netbooks could see more then just 2Gb ram? if you could install 4Gb of ram, the netbook would fly. hence windows XP Pro still being my #1 choice for OS on netbooks - takes up over 512mb less resources and you can change the background wallpaper - unlike windows starter.
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,865 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    What do you have running on a netbook that needs >2GB RAM? Right now my Windows 7 x64 desktop, running 2 WCG projects and FAH is using 1.25GB ram. I would think the remaining .75GB would be adequate for typical netbook activities, especially considering you most likely wouldn't have DC projects running in the background on a netbook.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,424 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    872
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    It's just more smooth. I used to have 1GB in my Aspire One, upgraded to 1,5GB and the difference is qite big even when running just browser and few other programs.
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    4Gb would still help. especially for more multitasking. you can have firefox with upto 10 tabs open and a VLC blastin out some tunes while you surf without putting a strain on the netbook when youre switching apps. boot up times will also be significantly improved and background services like Norton/Kaspersky internet security wont hurt that much because you have 4gb to play with,

    whether you need it or not - it would still be nice to have just incase you need that extra resource
  6. xenos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yeah cos DDR3 1333 MHz is such a bottleneck. hurr hurr hurr.
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,387 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    No netbooks with newer D4xx/D5xx Atoms? They support 4GB. While 4GB in one slot to max out memory would be sweet for netbook, this particular model is a bit overkill. Those Atoms only support up to DDR3-800 I believe. Hmm... maybe go for some really tight timings ;)
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    my question is how are you even going to get the ram to run at 1600mhz in a laptop, 90+% don't seem to have any bios options to change ram speed/timings, chances are it will default to something like 1066mhz anyway right?
  9. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    364 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Exactly my thoughts, too. It is more likely to hamper an overclock with tight timings.
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    my thoughts exactly - but one serious question....how are you going to overclock a netbook if bios options are so limited? options are not limited just for netbooks but for most laptops as a safety precaution so that their respective owners do not damage their laptops and i many cases, laptops/netbooks arent designed to be overclocked due to the limited cooling available that would most likely be unable to support the extra heat of faster processors.

    the only company i know of that have implement overclocking in their laptops is MSI with their overdrive button
  11. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,387 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    When I read the article, I wasn't thinking of this memory in any thing other then the top niche of laptops with 'desktop' CPUs, or tweakable BIOS's, etc. I mean if it doesn't support it, it doesn't support it.

    Eurocom and Sager have notebooks that have DDR3-1600 as an option. If someone bought 6GB@1600, they can now go 12GB@1600 thanks to Super Talent.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page