1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Surround sound for tv

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by camoxiong, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Is there any adapter or converter for surround sound for a crt (the fat tv) tv? I'm builduing a htpc.
     
  2. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    any help?
     
  3. techguy31

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    500 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Well if you are building a htpc, I assume that the standard mobo audio is HD 5.1. So just plug a surround sound speaker driectly to the mobo and you will get surround sound. As for the video, if it is a CRT tv then that means you will have to get a s-video GPU. Then you just plug that s-video from your crt to the GPU. Simple.
     
  4. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,250 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Location:
    Canada
    To better assist you what component's do you have exactly? Then we can suggest what you need to get it working together, but from what i understand you have the video portion sorted already right? So just need to figure out the audio part.

    Fill out your system spec's @ left by going to user CP that will help as well
     
  5. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Well, I have the AMD E series cpu/mobo combo with 4gb ddr3 ram, with a 500gb HDD. Yeah, the video/tuner card.
     
  6. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    I going to use a tv tuner card not a gpu card
     
  7. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,250 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Location:
    Canada
    From what i understand you'll be sending video from tuner card to monitor so you'll need to connect the audio from your MOBO or get a sound card and connect it to a set of speaker's or amplifier/speaker's. Depend's what you want to do, you can buy PC specific all in speaker set's that don't need an amp or you can use an amp and connect to regular speaker's.

    I still suggest you fill out your system spec's by going into user control panel, need to know the specific's. Model #'s and all :)
     
  8. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    ok, thanks.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page