1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

suspected virus/worm..

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by jimbo, Apr 4, 2009.

  1. Grownman

    Grownman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    139 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    CA
    =D Just what I personally always do. I back up almost every week all my important data + installers and such. Reformat and then drag all that stuff off the external and install away. Pretty quick compared to dling all these scanners and maybe paying for a membership etc and then having a chance of not finding/eliminating it.
    jimbo says thanks.
  2. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece

    :laugh:

    Well if a virus looks like a small green items with human body and antennas in their heads ,
    i would agree ...

    But , as long they are simple computer files , made by humans , i would not worry , or shoot the computer in order to kill them . :laugh:
    amit_talkin and jimbo say thanks.
  3. jimbo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Will keep trying scans til it finds nothing, if it doesnt help i'll system restore..worst comes worst reformat
    thanks all for ur inputs :)
  4. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    You are welcome .. :)
  5. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    :rolleyes: In other words, they can avoid being scanned, prevent being removed, hide themselves, move themselves, ect. If you know exactly what you have, then by all means remove it (manually is the best way), if you are having problems and don't know what's going on, your best bet is to wipe clean and start anew. And no, system restore is likely useless.
  6. amit_talkin

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    129 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    India
    lol, thnx for making my signature :laugh:
  7. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Most of the times , i try to reply with humor ... thanks God it works :D



    Dear farlex85 .

    There is a difference , between an activated Trojan-virus .. what ever .
    And an inactive one ..

    The system restore , deactivates the start up .... after that, all the bad files ,
    are unusable kilobytes , that can easily detected and removed .

    There is no race here , of who is the most knowledgeable ... all that we do are to educate its other , based on facts , so to help people, in order to avoid panic, and common mistakes that panic creates.

    Your opinion are respectable , but not completely correct .
    That is all ...

    Take care.
  8. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I'm can't quite decipher what the first part means. How are you making the distinction b/t whether he has an "activated Trojan" or a "deactivated" one? System restore will not simply deactivate any malicious file, and even if it does, it can be re-activated. I did not try to instill panic, and I'm not sure where that last part came from, but all I was saying is time and time again, the most fool-proof way to get rid of a virus is to re-format, I'm not sure why that was so difficult to understand.
    DaedalusHelios says thanks.
  9. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,920 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Activated trojans? You need a license key to use this trojan further? lol

    What would be the point of spreading inactive trojans around? Thats a new one or we have a language barrier going on.
  10. taylorfield072 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yep, definitely a virus! Don't get amused, run an anti-virus ASAP! You'll never know what that virus is capable of destroying on your pc.
  11. Sadasius

    Sadasius New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    263 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    One of the handiest programs I had ever used for these kinds of problems is Norton 'GoBack'. It's a system restore program that loads before windows does. I have had some nasties before and more and more of then screw around with the restore function in Windows making it pretty useless. New virus's are coming out all the time and it's usually the malicious one's that get reported and sent in. Kids are witting and compiling new code sequences all the time. It's a never ending battle. But good internet practices are a godsend as well. P2P sharing is how almost all of these viruses get into your computer. Just because your anti virus does not detect it does not mean it's clean. Use Norton 'GoBack', I swear by it. You can catch the nastiest of nasties and all you have to do is shut her down and do a restore from Norton after the bios loading screen and your clean again.
  12. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Norton 'GoBack' sounds good , as an alternative way to start up , the system restore process.

    But if a virus becomes smarter it could disable it too .

    I am not negative , its good to have an alternative such this one.

    But , the best one will always be , the boot CD , that can activate the system restore,
    in my eyes this solution looks like an attack with no defense ;) ( against the evil ) :D
  13. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    Very nicely stated!There are inactive trojans that can be activated by going to a site or by a set date or by many factors...but I would use Malwarebytes link>> http://dw.com.com/redir?edId=3&site...762cda96794ad5350d&pid=11015805&psid=10804572

    then install it and update it and run it...if it finds anything other than cookies then boot into safe mode (F8 Key on start up to you get to a black screen with white letters,choose "safe mode" then run full scan and removals until zero findings)
    Then install Avast >> http://filehippo.com/download_avast_antivirus/download/85741ee011405530bf8522816c8916bb/

    and install and try and live happily ever after.
    kiriakost says thanks.
  14. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    This is what newbes do .... the masters act otherwise ...

    For instance , we never use TNT to blow up , one loaded workstation or a Server,
    because of a non distractive virus .
  15. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    Umm.... Why would you want to reformat if you do not have to. You remove the virus, then go and put a system restore a few days before the virus got onto your PC. That fixes most registry damage and what not. I mean, why reformat and start all over when you can fix it and make like it was in the same amount of time?
  16. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I always reformat after virus infection. Just because I get the feeling I didn't quite get it. Sometimes if its a doozy of a virus I'l turn the internet off and reformat all the pc's just incase it spread across the network. Also I keep dual boots on all pc's one ubuntu and the rest X64 vista meaning if I need to use the internet I can fire up linux and browse porn err I mean a solution I can. Thats my personal method although you could do the scans disable all strange processes that aren't normal and any startup programs that are suspicious.

    Say that to my old sempron.
  17. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I've never heard of reformatting as analogous to TNT. I'd think of it more like throwing out an old couch and getting a fresh one. It's a good thing to do anyway.

    The only reason not to re-format would be time constraints. If they take the same amount of time re-formatting is a no-brainer. But hey, whatever floats your boat. :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page