1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

svchost.exe

Discussion in 'General Software' started by ivicagmc, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. ivicagmc

    ivicagmc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    176 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Serbia
    I might have a problem with svchost.exe. Sometimes it takes about 50% or more of cpu doing something for about 30min. Slows comp really bad, especially games. Is that normal? I have Norton internet security 2011 and everything is clean so I think it is not a virus. I solve the problem by shutting down process in windows task manager, but it is annoying me very much...
     
  2. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Yeah not usually a virus .Can you post a shot of task manager with list of processes ? (next time it happens that is)
     
  3. ivicagmc

    ivicagmc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    176 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Serbia
    Yes, I'l do that... Funny thing is when I turn it of system remains stable... Noting happens...
     
  4. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    My most "hungry" svchost is the audio one.

    [​IMG]

    It eats a lot of ram, but not cpu. To figure out what it is, right click and push "go to services."
     
    ivicagmc, pantherx12 and scaminatrix say thanks.
  5. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Install malwarebytes and report me back for the total viruses
    don't watch porn too much ;)
     
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I've always wondered what svchost was, and why it had so many processes, didn't realise it was different services and thought my copy of windows was buggy.

    ( knew it was a windows thing though, not often you get a virus as soon as your system is running XD)

    So thanks! :D
     
  7. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    I am not sure why there are always so many svchosts, but I believe it is for reliability. If all of the core windows services were in one executable, and one component failed, then that would mean the entire operating system would blue screen and restart. Therefore, one would need to separate them. That way, if one component failed, the other ones would still be working, and the failed one might have a chance to restart.

    Just a guess.
     
  8. ivicagmc

    ivicagmc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    176 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Serbia
    I did scan with Malwarebytes, there is noting. Looks like new Norton is doing a great Job. That crazy svchost.exe didn't appear today. Now when I want to catch him...:)))
     
  9. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    It controls alot, he's mine. Just taken now.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    If there is a svchost which changes its ram usage or CPU usage than it is camuflaged as a svchost, but in fact its a malware
    Malware bytes lost its power since the svchost virus was modified and it cannot be catched even with update
    try another anti-virus or malware cuz it is not as useful as it has been
    It depends on which svchost date your system has catched it
     
  11. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    No. Srvhost is a container process for services that are launched from dynamically linked libraries (DLLs), and they are created to contain groups of similar services (ie. firewall services). They are created this way so that if one service goes rouge, it does not take out the other srvhosts that are running. Depending on the requirements of the DLL service(s) contained in a particular srvhost, the need for additional CPU time or RAM can change over time depending on what it is doing.

    That being said, srvhost processes should not be using an inordinate amount of CPU cycles for long periods of time. You might remember the little bug that MS had to fix a few years back when certain srvhost processes were using 100% CPU time.

    On occasion you may see a srvhost run amock and simply restarting the srvhost process will correct the issue. To alleviate unneeded service host processes, turn off services that you are not using.
     
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    www.blackviper.com is a good guide to look towards to find which services to disable.

    Make sure this actually says SVChost, I had a virus once that tried to disguise itself as SVChost but it was actually SCVhost...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page