1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Symantec Claims 80% of all gamers are Infected by malware

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Jul 4, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Or, at least 80% of all gamers that attended DreamHack Summer 2007. Symantec went around the LAN party, and found that 80% of all gamers there were either infected by malware, or previously had been infected by malware. Symantec claims that the reason the infection rate among hardcore gamers is so high is quite simple. When gamers start practicing/gaming, they turn off their anti-virus programs in order to maximize performance. While this makes sense during the game, as the risk for getting infected while playing a game is very low, most gamers neglect to re-activate the protection of a good anti-virus program.

    Symantec claims that with their Norton 360 software, there is no need to worry about this, as their anti-virus solution is designed to encumber performance as little as possible while still providing optimal protection.

    Source: Nordic Hardware
  2. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    I bet they counted tracking cookies as "malware". :rolleyes:
  3. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    :laugh: If tracking cookies were malware, I'd be up to my eyeballs in spyware :p.
  4. Jonnycat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    331 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    PNW
    Hehe, that is exactly what I was thinking.
  5. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    [​IMG]
  6. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    "Symantec claims that with their Norton 360 software, there is no need to worry about this, as their anti-virus solution is designed to encumber performance as little as possible while still providing optimal protection."

    Norton not use up resources?? Common what a joke... I use avast free verison any day over that bloatware....
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I was going to say the same thing Wazz.
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I haven't ran any kind of virus destroyer on my system in a few years. I have found them pointless with smart Internet practices
  9. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ

    very true, since my last reinstall of vista I have not reinstalled avast. But the home edition for free is a good product...
  10. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Kaspersky is nice in that it doesn't try to update signatures while processor usage is high. Nothing worse than some update kicking in while playing on net :) And don't mind it taking 5megs of memory and games run fine. Everything else (programs) is on manual update or program start. *scanning for those 5 "malwares" I usually find what wazzledoozle mentioned* :)

    edit: oh noes, 54 infections found! (54 tracking cookies).
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2007
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    well i reinstalled zone alarm and I only had gamespy being detected as spyware... that was it. Nice try norton but we enthusiasts are different to those so called "Gamers" who have dells, HP, etc preloaded with crap.
  12. FOXCONN1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    well said TK. couldn't have nailed it on the head any better myself
  13. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Also, upon installing antiviruses, games froze all the time, not because of my PSU, crappy boxes popped up and then next thing i knew when i was back I had failed a quest I spent an hour on.
  14. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,163 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    Norton is the worst Anti virus for a gamer its memory footprint is huge and it uses resources all the time when you write to a disk. McAfee Enterprise versions on the other hand is the way to go minimal memory usage and customizable scanning technique. The only problem with it is that it is for advanced users only.
  15. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I use AVG free edition, kicks the crap out of that bloatware known as symmantec. AVG also happens to do a much better job than symmantech for free, it would seem irony isnt without a sence of humor, something free doing a far better job than something you have to pay for :D
  16. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Symantec ? Hahahahahahahahahahahaha......Should i say more ? :p
  17. little geek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    194 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    cambridge, england, shed :)
    i use zonealarm pro i dont bother with antivirus simply because noone else uses my machine and i only go on sites that are safe if theyre not safe i i use my mums pc instead but if i do ge a virus i just format as all my games and stuff are on seperate drives
  18. hotrippr

    hotrippr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    158 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    AVG Free+ spybot S&D+CrapCleaner+Panda free online scan+Outpost firewall=clean. ZA was good but now is meh. I use the emule and get malicious files all the time and havent been infected in years since my protection setup. I like the AVG messages in Gmail on attatchments it lets me know that it is a virus or not, have been happy with AVG for a few years now. Symantic is for the masses. I got a virus with symantec along time ago I used AVG to find it and kill it. I would say you need to have at least 2 solutions one on your machine and a DIFFERENT on line scan to cross reference any missing virus from a companys db.
  19. mrmonk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  20. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,691 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    qft :toast:
  21. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    Symantec have actually made a lot of changes so it dosent guzzle resources anymore, seems this thread is evidence that once you (as a company) get a bad name for whatever reason, it can take a good while to lose it again, and no i dont use norton, i use avg, its just that ive read a few write ups on the new norton(or 360, or whatever they call it now) saying it has one of the LOWEST resource overheads of current a/v products
  22. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,177 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    nod32 here,seems ok
  23. waspman3

    waspman3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    228 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rantoul,Ill
    Since I work on software related issues for friends and I see they have Norton I just shake my head and continue to uninstall and get them Avast.The only problem with Avast is the scanner is sloooooow.But other than that pretty descent.As for spyware related issures I use XOFTSPY SE.Very quick and thorough.Takes less than 5 minutes to scan 140,000 pieces(files)and in some cases will find viruses.Very good program!!So far not too impressed with the AD-AWARE 2007 free edition,maybe Im just not use to it yet. WASPMAN

    Would NEVER SUGGEST anyone to get Norton!!
  24. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92

    To bad they dont have any worthwhile software isent it?

    I find that hard to beleave though.

    On the other hand if i was using Norton anything i would turn it off before doing anything anyways :laugh:
  25. demonbrawn

    demonbrawn New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Using Symantec = :nutkick:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page