1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System Advice for 3d rendering

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by arnoldo, Dec 30, 2005.

  1. arnoldo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi all...

    First...Happy New Year to everyone :D
    As the 2006 comes, I want to change my current system. Currently, I'm using Gigabyte 8I915PL-G with Pentium 4 2.66 GhZ (no HT) running on 3.4 with 1 gigs (2x512Mb) running at 2.5-3-3-6. Max temperature is 55 degree on 100 % load. I tested using Prime 95 for three hours and it runs stable.

    I don't do a lot of gaming. Only play NBA Live 2006 as I only love basketball game and prefer to play RPG on PS2 but I do a lot of 3D rendering using Maxon Cinema 4D as 3D is my main interest. I never tried render any animation though. I am afraid that my spec is not good enough to render animation. So, 3d modelling and still image rendering all of the time.

    I am thinking of switching to AMD 64 3200+ with DFI Lan Party NF4-D or just upgrade my CPU to 3.0 Ghz that has 2 MB L2 cache because my motherboard is not capable of running dual core. Since my knowledge in system area is not sufficient enough to decide even after I read some review available on the net, I really need your advice.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Poisonsnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    363 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    Although I am an AMD fan Intel's latest offerings are not bad and you might as well save yourself buying a new mobo and get the 600 series Intel CPU. I know that AMD CPUs are generally better for gaming and have heard Intel's are better for video encoding, but I don't know if 3D rendering falls under this or not.
     
  3. live2game2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    66 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I would say

    Asus P5WD2 Premium
    A Pentium D
    2gbs of DDR2 (Mushkin or some other good brand)
    OCZ Powerstream 520W
    A Quadro Video Card
     
  4. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    i second the above setup as ram will be at a premium. an intel based computer will definatly run a little better as the higher clocks encode faster. you will want at least a 3.4+ ghz cpu before overclocking just to make things easier. another thing to look at is your current case and disk setup. a couple (or more) 250-300gb hard drives make alot of heat so a new case may be in order. as for the video card any middle to high end quadro/fire gl or mid priced gaming video card will work well. just make sure its 256 or 512mb. good luck man ;)
     
  5. arnoldo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the feedback guys... :D

    I attached Everest benchmark of my current system. It is running on 1.32 Vcore and 2.86 Vdimm.

    This is what Cinebench showed me:

    Rendering (1xCPU) = 102 second (257 CB-CPU)

    Cinebench Rendering result almost reach the same level as Pentium D 1xCPU rendering test and according to a review (forgot which site :banghead: ), Cinebench detect HT as multiple CPU.

    I am not sure that my CPU will still alive within the next 6 months as I overclocked it as many as 28 % (original: 133 Mhz; Current: 170 Mhz). Daily, it runs at 37 degree celcius during idle. It jumps to 58 degree celcius during full load. That's why I am thinking of replacement.:nutkick:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    wait for the 900 series to come out, and buy a P5WDG2-WS or whatever its called, the 975X chipset.
     
  7. arnoldo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Woow....another new chipset.... Now I'm thinking to switch to AMD even more especially I just read that even 3ds max run better on AMD plus I don't need to buy new DDR2, which will make me spend more, and AMD dual core x2 3800+ run much faster compare to 4800 even the 4800 is OCed (according to a review).
     
  8. Amdguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    I say use an amd dual core amd cpu, something like a good 4400+ or 4800+
     
  9. arnoldo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've been thinking of getting the X2 3800+, actually. :D But it is still difficult to get here. Most of the store out of stock for X2 3800. I might have to wait until this weekend. :(
     
  10. Envo Diverter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    NH, USA
    i would say go for it1:rockout:
     
  11. Amdguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    cool deal man, try newegg.com they are pretty good
     
  12. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    microcenter has x2 3800 for 20% off
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page