1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

system hanging when loading certain programs...help with troubleshooting?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by itechnics, Apr 27, 2008.

  1. itechnics New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    just built a new rig recently. was working fine for the first few hours.

    when I'm trying to load games or some applications.

    build:
    Apevia X-telstar case
    Nforce 780i SLI
    q9300
    9800GTX
    750w TT p/s
    4gb mushkin ram
    3 SATA hdds
    2 DVD-RWs
    1 120mm scythe cooling fan

    think it might be the p/s? i've updated all my drivers.
  2. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Have you defragmented the harddrive?
    you could download HD TUNE and check the drive for errors.
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2008
  3. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    open process viewer see if theres anything unusual using cpu and ram ive made the mistake of installing windows and leaving the router on before and got spyware infections cos i didnt have anything installed to stop it.
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2008
  4. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    I should have put this all in one thread but i keep thinking of things to add but if any of it helps?

    check the bios is setting the right voltages for your cpu a friend of mine got a Nforce 790i and it set his Q6600 to 1.5v which is way too much. some newer cpu's somtimes get overvolted which will cause more heat than required and somtimes degrade your chip.

    also check ram voltage this somtimes gets under volted.

    fsb termination voltage?

    check all your tempratures.
  5. itechnics New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    check my temps. were fine. voltage settings were fine. -- I think it was my MB drivers. I used the latest ones and it hung about half of the software i tried to load, not to mention it failed installing most of the adobe components -_-; after i formatted the hdd again and installed usin g the drivers that came with the MB on the disk it works fine.

    but one other problem, when I first load up my PC it shows my available network connections. if i restart they disappear -- any explainations for this? I tried restarting and it wouldn't work. I heard some Nvidia MBs have this issue.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page