1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System randomly restarts while installing programs....

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by 3991vhtes, Nov 16, 2007.

  1. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    I was trying to install LibertyBASIC Gold License Edition on my new legacy build, and when it was about 71% done installing, my system reboots. Here's the spec:

    Mobo- PCChips M585LMR Socket 7 Motherboard
    CPU- AMD K6-2 @ 525MHz (95*5.5)
    RAM- 448MB SDRAM
    DIMM0 - Infineon PC133 256MB
    DIMM1 - Kingston ValueRAM PC133 128MB
    DIMM2 - Infineon PC100 64MB
    *don't know if these really matter

    HDD- 10GB Maxtor EIDE 5,400RPM
    Graphics- MGA Matrox 2MB PCI

    Thanks
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,036 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Ohio
    Probably all that mixed ram not liking that OC... unstable...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Even +25MHz can make it unstable?! wow.
     
  4. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    with timings that are too tight, even 25mhz can screw you over, try messing with ram using memtest and make sure it passes, also check your system with orthos & amd overdrive.
     
  5. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    What exactly is orthos, and AMD overdrive?
     
  6. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    they are used for stability testing, amd overdrive can be downloaded from tpu, it has some great stablity tests, both orthos & amd overdrive give me the same exact message and problem when i have instability only amd overdrive checks for some other things that orthos misses.
     
  7. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    if it puts the CPU under a load for a little bit, forget it. This puppy gets HOT.

    does the fact that there's no L2 cache impact anything?

    BTW, RAM timings are set at "Turbo" in bios.
     
  8. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    hmm thats where the problem is, the turbo setting needs to be changed. and if you cant run your cpu confortably at full load then i suggest you drop the voltage and clocks.
     
  9. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Won't post under 2.2Vcore

    I'm going to change ram timings to 10ns, then 8ns, and see what one is more stable.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page