1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System reboot from overheating?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Bunchies, May 17, 2012.

  1. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hey ,so the last week ive been having an issue with reboots.

    ill be playing a video game and my pc will reboot and it doesn't shut off right after and the bios doesn't tell me a msg about an overclock (i did set my memory to 1600Mhz may have done it wrong wich was recently) but it'll restart and work again just fine.

    my idle temp are 49-50c ,they used to be 42c
  2. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Do you know the max temp of your CPU under load?

    Otherwise could be anything really regardless of what the system states.

    How frequent are the reboots and are they still happening.
  3. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    it only happen when i play high end video games so i don't think its a Psu problem cuzz i never have a problem with just internet searching or just leaven it on the desktop for a bit ,i can have a very hot room sometimes

    Max loads are 62-65c on the cpu

    and on the gpu its 64-74c

    could it be a memory overclock problem? or just heat
  4. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Both those temperatures are not unreasonable for what you have.

    Have you tried any stress tests on your hardware?

    Could try running Furmark for an hour and see what happens.
  5. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Sounds pretty much like a PSU issue
  6. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I don't really wanna run furmark for an hour lol

    but i can leave my pc on overnight with 50c idle temps while running a few things
    ill try cleaning it out and try dropping it back to 42c .thats why i dont think its the psu

    but can it be my ram ,cuzz i didnt touch any voltages or cpu clock .i just changed the ram clock to 1600mhz but they are 1600mhz sticks
  7. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    What is the issue with running FurMark for an hour?

    Faulty Ram can case GPU failure symptoms.
    In my experience BSOD or VPU recover (AMD card).

    have you taken a look in CPU-Z to see what voltage your RAM sticks are recommended to run at, when running at 1600Mhz?
    Look under the SPD tab for voltage and ram timings.
  8. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    there at 1.50V
  9. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Overheating motherboard or GPU VRMs can cause this.
  10. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    alright well ill try cleaning it out and looking at my psu or motherboard for any odd things
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    this is what I am concerned about.
  12. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    im gunna work on getting better cooling this weekend .i should be fine than?
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Hard to tell.
    The system is auto rebooting and the we are still uncertain what the issue really is.

    Set your system at stock clocks and voltage.
    then stress test I think.

    So set the system to optimal settings in BIOS if you have overclocked in anyway.
  14. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    okay ,is there a system log that could tell me what caused the shutdown
  15. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    343 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Well, playing "high-end" video games will put more stress on the PSU (e.g. CPU and GPU are using more power) way more than surfing the net, and if the PSU can't cope with the stress or doesn't provide enough power(whether due to poor quality of the unit or overheating) to the PC then it will reboot, shut down or even freeze the entire system. And it doesn't look like the CPU is overheating, because the Core i7 960 can take a lot of heat (I believe the TjMax of the Core i7 960 is 100°C), especially when compared to the older Intel Core 2 processors.

    By the way, that Cooler Master ExtremePower Plus 700 got a fake wattage, Cooler Master makes use of a 600 watts Acbel Polytech OEM. Yes, Cooler Master has doing this with their eXtreme Power series for years. So consider checking the PSU; test your PC with an other PSU, or borrow one if you can.
  16. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I am pretty sure it's your PSU , as when you draw more power from it , it reboot...
    Ram/drivers would give you a blue screen with 0xxxx code
    Overheat would usually freeze up your PC or started to get real slow

    Definitely try/buy another PSU
    Some ram required 1.650v for 1600 mhz you'll have to check that out
    Also i see you got 24gb of ram?
    All the slots filed i guess & mix ram?
    You could try using only 2 sticks of ram (same make) & see how it goes...?

    But i still bet on faulty or under power PSU...
    Last edited: May 19, 2012
  17. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks for the info , ill try 2-3 sticks ram and ill look into voltages.

    i dont really have the money to go and buy a new psu

    but i did try taking the side panel of my case and putting a huge fan in front of it and play'd a few games for 12 hours from 1am-1pm i didnt have any crashes at all .usually it would crash within the first 1-2 hours if thats any info that would help out but i am thinking on getting a new psu now though just to be sure ,my psu does push ALOT of hot air out the back of my case so maybe its not cooling well enough
    Last edited: May 19, 2012
  18. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I understand not having the money for another PSU as i am in the same boat as you as to when it comes to buy new hardware...
    Anyhow you can buy a can of air dust & blow every parts inside your case PSU included & had a fan or two on to your case if you can?

    Try that for a while (a week or two) before buying a PSU if no problems occurred then problem solved if not you'll have to go for another PSU

    I hope that a good clean up will do the trick for you
  19. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    lol well i cant buy one right now cuzz im 16 so i dont have any extra money and im in school so i dont have a job soooo holidays and birthdays are my time to buy all my hardware :toast:

    But thanks for the info

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page