1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System start is slowed down

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by WojtasRed, Apr 21, 2009.

  1. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I have PHENOM II 720 BE and get this problem (system start is slowed down)... I mean, when I turn on my PC, I must wait about 15 sec to see anything on my LCD... My MoBo is GA-MA790X-DS4 and BIOS is F6. BIOS settings are set on OPTIMAL (even on SAFE MODE problem was here). I`ve this problem before with PHENOM 9850 BE and BIOS F4. Any suggestions? plz :)
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2009
  2. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Maybe hard drive?
  3. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Reconnected it and that doesn`t solve my problem.


    When I installed PHENOM II 720 at first reboot everything was OK.
  4. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    hey, i know this is abit off topic but can you unlock the fourth core on that MOBO i have the same one
    , vista somtimes takes a we bit longer to load then it comes right, thats my exp with it anyway.
    other than that you might wanna try this to narrow down whats causing it to slow start.
    Type MSCONFIG into the start search bit, then go to start up, deselect all the things you dont want starting up, or things that shouldnt be starting up. the accept the change reboot and see how you go. or you can deselct all if you want, you dont need them on startup, they will start you u need them to
  5. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I mean, when I turn on my PC, I must wait about 15 sec to see anything on my LCD...

    There`s no possibility to unlock 4th core on this MoBo. You need MoBo with chipset SB750.
  6. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    ok, sorry
  7. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    so it wont be your Hard drive then
    so you wait 15 sec then it starts to post?
  8. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Yep, when I turn on my PC, I must wait about 15sec till I see anything on my screen.
  9. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    but its the normal startup you see? like right from the start?
  10. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Have you tried with a different monitor?
  11. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    well it crnt be the monitor if it post like normal the screen you should see as soon as you press on he's seing 15 secs late so the pc takeing 15 sec's so show it not the monitor
  12. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    Try reconnecting again the VGA, if possible, borrow another VGA and install it and try, try disconnecting the Hard drives, CD-ROMs, leaving only the memory, VGA, and CPU on the motherboard, and try to power-up, see if its still has the 15 second delay, try to reconnect also the memory, if possible borrow another memory and test it, this method is more likely a trial and error, its possibly a hardware failure or loosing contact connectors on the slots, you just need to identify what hardware that`s causing the delay detection in the BIOS
  13. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Do you think, it`s hardware`s problem?
  14. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    We "know" its the problem, software hasn't even been thought about at bootup
  15. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Lol once again you didnt read the rest of the posts hayder master
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  16. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    I have the same board and mine does that too. I had to pull the cmos battery and let it sit for about 30 minutes yesterday before I could get it to boot. I was OC'n though. Let me go home and look through my BIOS setting and see. I think I have all the ports I dont use disabled. Ill post tonight my setting.
  17. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Wait OP, So when the monitor comes on eventually, is it already through post or is it only starting post then?
  18. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    The issue sounds like mine. No joke sometimes it takes 15-20 sec's before the first post screen will show. Especially after i clear my cmos..
  19. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Ok so thats rules out everything besides the mobo then, i think the problem is a setting in the bios, let me guess, your motherboard has 2x bios?
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    ohhh, dumm thanx for know me my friend i read the post but it was not clearly read i was expect he mean after 15 minute when windows boot
    thanx again
  21. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    some guys pointing for hard drive problem, to be sure it is not a hard drive problem try disconnect sata connector and power cable form hard drive and go turn on
    if it is work well that's mean the HD problem but im sure it is not the HD problem
    also try other bios version even it is old like f5
  22. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I tried reconnect HDD and swap to F4, F5 and problem is still the same...
    I`m waiting for news from you, crtecha ;)
  23. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Well Im working till 3:30 eastern time. So it will be sometime after that. Soo hold tight and we'll get this figured out.
  24. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    WojtasRed, does your motherboard have a backup bios, in case you mess up an overclock or something?
  25. TechnicalFreak Guest

    Could it be memory related, i.e. bad memory (mobo having problems to read the memory??).

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page