1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System startup time

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Rado D, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. Jan Kyster

    Jan Kyster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    60 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
  2. Rado D

    Rado D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    490 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    I've tried soluto yesterday actually.just to see.I can say it looks nice,I think that for a freeware program its very profesionaly done.I love its interface,its so different.Unfortunately,in my case.waste majority of stoppable items that came up would save 0.1 seconds,a second at most and there was nothing that I wouldnt allready know that its stoppable.And there is quite a lot under research.
  3. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Boot your system with the drive with the OS only plugged in. Then restart your PC with everything plugged in again. Will have to do this everytime you tunr the power to the PCreseting the CMOS or resetting the CMOS in general. This worked for me and my 6 internal HDD's when I got boot errors.
  4. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,120 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Do you have any disk optimisation software on your system, e.g. defraggers, boot optimisers, shadow copiers? - By this I mean non windows software, not any of the stuff that comes with Windows.
  5. Rado D

    Rado D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    490 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Yes I have several of them.but none of them doing anything uppon boot,If thats where you are aiming.
  6. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,195 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,495
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    It reads the same on my Vraptors and there ain't anything wrong with them.
    Goto the menu at the top choose "Function" then "Advance Feature".
    Find "Raw Data" and pick "10[DEC]", now you should be able to read the data results in Decimal instead of trying to figure out "000000000000" means zero in hex.:rolleyes:


    Try HDDTune Free or Pro (trial) and look at the same line. The data column is what you want to look at and it should read 0 (zero).

    Not anything wrong with your Reallocated Sector Count.:)

    EDIT:

    Don't know if anyone has mentioned it... Try Autoruns and look through the Startup, device drivers, processes, etc. to see what you got running and starting up.
    See anything questionable ask some one if you need it or not. Or, go to some place like Black Viper's site to see what it is.

    Edit edit:

    Turn on your quick boot option in the bios and change your plug-n-play option in the bios. See if they have any effect on it.
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2011
    Rado D says thanks.
  7. Rado D

    Rado D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    490 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Thanks for advice mate.Well as I've mentioded before.I've been with computers for 12 years and I know my bios back and forth,Tried everything to eliminate that 2 minutes hangup at startup..on the hdd monitoring utilities side,Im using HD Sentinel Pro,its fantastic program.so I've done a light surface test yesterday,and there are no bad sectors,however there was quite a few sectors marked as with decreased read speed.now the average read speed of a healthy sector was stated by the utility very precisely around 120MB/s(speed that my Velociraptor get in any HD utility),some of the sectors with decreased acces time were as low as 18.XXMB/s.so altough there are no bad sectors,the drive has more than 5400 power on hours.the question is that if this could cause any slowdown during the boot.maybe next time I will do a fresh OS install I should do a good deep formating.
  8. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,120 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Not quite where I am aiming. Did you know however that windows will attempt to 'repair' the 'damage' that your disk optimisers might do? I am thinking that your optimisers are messing with the the prefetch system, e.g. superfetch and layout.ini

    edit: so to test this out, can you totally disable all your optimisers and then reboot 3 times. Does this then show any improvement?
  9. pigulici

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    315 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Romania
    why not use the utility from producer of your hdd for a scan?, I use the utility with extented test to find bad sector on my 600gb velociraptor(after first day of use), a week later I have another new from service...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page