1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System unstable with high NB clock

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by hat, Apr 6, 2012.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've discovered that my memory performs quite a bit better when I run my NB at 2500MHz compared to 2000MHz. In the AIDA64 memory benchmark, there's an improvement across the board in all areas, and not just in my memory, in my L1, L2 and L3 caches too. The problem is the system goes unstable when the NB is set to 2500MHz. What should I change? I can change CPU voltage, memory voltage, NB voltage and CPU NB voltage. For now, I've dropped the HT link speed down to 2000MHz while keeping the NB clock at 2500MHz to see if maybe the HT link went unstable. Specs to the left.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,883
    just turn up the cpu/nb volts a bit.
    hat says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,511 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    CPU/NB voltage is the "northbridge" voltage as it is listed in CPU-Z. It's really the memory controller. Keep HTT at 2000mhz, there's no reason to go higher and it makes no difference.
    hat says thanks.
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Here's some before and after images. I'm not raising the HT link, just the NB frequency. I take it the voltage I need is CPU NB VID control?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,883
    You betcha. Do you know what the voltage is reading in the bios?
    hat says thanks.
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Stock is 1.15v. That failed within 10 minutes. I tried 1.175v, crapped out around 45 minutes. Now at 1.2v...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,883
    your going to probably doing to need 1.275ish Im thinking. 1.30v is still ok for 3000MHz :p
    hat and cadaveca say thanks.
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tested one hour stable at 1.2v, going to run it through the 8 hour test later tonight while I sleep.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    You are not raising the right one? , you need to raise the CPU NB Vid control & not the NB voltage
    The CPU NB VID Control should be at 1.2v stock & for 2500+ NB stable you will need about 1.350-1.375v
    Mine is running at 1.4250v for 2660 NB

    Also as Erocker said keep the HTT at +- 2000 , i keep mine at auto & stock voltage
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2012
    hat says thanks.
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,511 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    ^ Yes, that is the voltage he is adjusting.
    hat says thanks.
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Mine is 1.15v stock and passed occt for 1 hour stable at 1.2v. Maybe you need a higher voltage because you have a quad? I'm not sure if it's totally stable yet, will do a longer test overnight.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Your CPU NB VID voltage is too high, or you have a poor performing chip.

    To OP, no more than 1.25v should be enough for 2500 mhz NB to be stable; somewhere between 1.21 and 1.25 should be enough, depending on how many sticks of RAM you're using and how much (if at all) you're overclocking the RAM.
    hat says thanks.
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page