1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System Upgrade

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by simonalexander2005, Feb 17, 2008.

  1. simonalexander2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, I have the following system:

    Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 motherboard
    Athlon 64 3200+ CPU
    2 x 17" 1280*1024 res monitors
    1GB Kingston PC3200 DDR RAM (2*512)
    GeForce 6600 GPU (Soon to be XFX 8800GS Alpha dog XXX edn or similar)

    what would you recommend I upgrade in order to keep the system level? i.e: what is my weakest component at this point, and what would even it out?

    cheers
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2008
  2. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    nothing at a sensible price.. either leave things as they are with the new card or ditch the lot and go intel..

    amd 939 just isnt supported any more.. am2 possibly but not 939..

    trog
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i'd say your cpu is weak....but that would require upgrading your board and ram as well. i don't know how much you have to work with but you may consider getting...

    p35 board
    e2XXX chip
    2gig's decent ram

    that with your soon to be 8800gs will bring you up to date and would make for a great low/mid range machine. make sure you have a good power supply as well. that's commonly overlooked.
  4. simonalexander2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    would an athlon 64 4000+ be worth upgrading to at the current prices (OEM £40($80), retail £50 ($100)?

    google shopping search
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2008
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    you wont see much difference from what you have now. you need to get a dual core chip and some more ram. ddr1 is 2x-3x the price of ddr2 and the 939 x2's are hard to find.
    for what you're gonna end up spending to upgrade what you have, you would spend less upgrading to the new stuff i suggested earlier.

    you could get an e1200 dual core celeron that would beat the AMD 4000 for about half the price of the AMD 4000 chip.
  6. simonalexander2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK Cheers.

    What would the athlon equivalent of that be?
  7. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    not really.. your new grafix card will give u major boost in gaming.. probably double what u have.. a slight boost in cpu power wont make any noticeable difference..

    why not talk about overclocking the chip u have.. if u havnt done it.. think about it.. that comes free..

    trog
  8. simonalexander2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  9. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    thats the problem.. with 939 their aint one at reasonable money..

    the last time i loooked on ebay.. a 939 4800 was selling for £174.. i bought a new am2 mobo and 6000+ chip for that..

    i go back two months..

    trog
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yep. you could get...

    p35 board for $89
    e2140 chip for $73
    2gigs ram for $45

    that would beat the AMD 4800 X2 939 chip that goes for like $180
  11. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    start a new thread and i will walk u thru the overclocking steps..

    trog
  12. simonalexander2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cheers. Will do when the new GPU arrives (hopefully tuesday!)
  13. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,355 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    That's a very good low-cost solution.
  14. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    or just get a 3800 x2 for like $75 and overclock it to 2.8! job done for a cheap upgrade or as others are saying a new system rebuild
  15. simonalexander2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    would that work with the mobo? The specs say it takes 64 and 64FX - doesnt mention dual core so not sure...
  16. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    the old 939 x 2 chips didnt clock that well.. ones that did cost oodles of money.. the FX60 for 1200 dollars came at 2.6 gig.. i dont think life is quite that simple dude..

    trog

    ps.. i have an old single core 3000+ it comes at 1.8 gig and will clock up to 2.4 gig.. i would say the 3200 single core would go to 2.4 or 2.5 gig.. worth having if it costs nothing..

    i have a single core 3700 sandy.. it came at 2.2 gig and clocked to 2.8 gig.. i also had later single core 4000 which came at 2.4 gig and cloked to a remarkable 3.2 gig.. this gamed very nicely with a 1900xtx card.. i used it for well over a year..

    if u live in the UK i still have the 2.8 3700 sandy chip.. it got replaced by the 4000.. still sat on my shelf..
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2008
  17. simonalexander2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi.

    New graphics card came - amazing card. very happy (Although Linux isn't liking it... :()

    That sounds awesome if you're offering... Never reseated a processor, but am sure i could manage ;)
  18. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
    i would upgrade to a AM2 board if i was you.

    AM2 $75 for a good overclockable board
    CPU $60-$120 for a cpu $100 for the x2 5000+ BE
    RAM $45 for 2Gb G.Skill or ADATA DDR800


    BUT FOR ALMOST $240 YOU COULD HAVE A NEW: BOARD, CPU AND RAM.
  19. simonalexander2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    new thread made Here
  20. simonalexander2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK i have decided to basically buy new mobo, cpu, ram and case (woo for student loads ;) )

    thinking as follows:

    Processor AMD Phenom 9500 quad (£118 ($136)):

    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/136388/show_product_specifications?spectype=extended#

    Mobo ASUS M3A 770 (£53 ($106)):

    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/139890/show_product_specifications?spectype=extended#

    Case Thermaltake Soprano Case - Silver w/ Window (or black) (£50 ($100)):

    http://www.tekheads.co.uk/s/product?product=604747

    what do you think?
  21. webwizard

    webwizard New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    61 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    The XFX 9600GT XXX Alpha Dog would be a good step up for a card. A pair of these cards in SLI beats the GeForce 9800 GTX hands down.
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page