1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System wont power up

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by hoax32, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Hello TechPowerUp!!!!!

    I did something really stupid:

    I bought me some arctic silver 5 bcause i was out of ceramique.
    So after i bought it, i decidet to update the thermal paste on m AMD Athlon XP 2400+ CPU.
    I opened the case carefully and took out the cpu with no problems.
    I puted on some AS5 and at that moment it sliped out of my hand and fellt onto the kitchen floor (hard floor).
    I WAS SHOCKED AND!!!
    I already started thinking ahed :laugh:: "what would happened, if the cpu would be broken?
    I only have a 1GHz AMD 1000 for backup, so it would not be fun!!!! :shadedshu

    So without any BIG worries i finished my job and installed it back to the system.

    AND THEN :cry::cry::cry::cry::cry: :

    When i pushed the power button, the led's and fans went on for 1 sec and everything turned off itself!!!! :cry:

    I tried it a couple of times on different connections and power supplys...but no answer.
    I even washed of the thermal paste with 40% alcohol wodka.
    But NOTHING seems to work.

    The 1GHz Back up cpu works good, but i want my ATHLON XP, bec it was the first cpu i bought with my own budget for 80$ 5 years ago and 80$ was alot for me when i was 11!!!!
    I have alot of memorys of happy abd bad times in this prozessor!!!! :cry:

    I already tried resetting cmos.

    I begging u Tech Power Ups!!!!!! :respect:
    Please help me to figure out waht the problem is and if there is still hope. :cry:
  2. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    906 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    hmm the cpu core could be cracked... are the pins all ok?
  3. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Relax. then take it apart again and start over, you may have missed something. Take your time, and try again.
    Ckeck pins/ and CPU case also check socket you may have something in it.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  4. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    My question is why the hell did you take the CPU OUT in the first place ? You can clean it and every thing with out taking it out . I only take out my CPU if I absolutely absolutely have to . Man that sucks balls too . More than not you may have cracked the Cores . Look at all the pins . Now you have to take it out :roll: and check it out . Use a magnifying glass if you have on . :eek:
  5. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    As mentioned checked the CPU pin's, see if there's any noticeable crack's or anything what look's worrying.

    Also I'd bench test it, strip your rig lay your part's on the table... then power up and hope for the best :D
    hoax32 says thanks.
  6. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    First of all thanks for the replys!!!!!
    At least u all help me mentally! :eek:
    I took out the cpu to do my job, because its a small case with alot of wires.
    It would of benen imposible to finish my job under that conditions.

    I checked the cpu for cracks and broken or damaged pins, but everything looks like new physically.

    What could it be?

    I went throu all the steps like 4 times, with no improvement.

    What could it be?
    And by the way my CPU smells like wodka golbatschow the whole time!
    Was it right to clean it with wodka? (40% a.)

    And another thing:

    My CPU gets war when trying to turn on the system.
    Does getting warm mean it is in working condition?
  7. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    You didn't over use this "Wodka" you speak of did you?

    I've your CPU is fairly old, and I'm not 100% sure on this so maybe someone wuold like to back me up or state otherwise, but wouldn't getting vodka or any other impure liquid on the little chips around the CPU itself cause harm?

    [​IMG]
  8. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    :eek::eek::eek: i did, bec. so manny people where saying, alcohol helps cleaning the thermal paste/grease. And it had 40% of it. Why was it wrong? :eek::eek::eek:

    I did it carefully with a litlle sponge.
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I am at a loos . If the only thing you messed with was the CPU and dropping it then my guess is the CPU is toast . But man that sucks . I would have never used wodka For sure some thing tells me you messed this one up for sure .
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yes . You should really only use isopropyl alcohol .
  11. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Might of been a horrible electro-static shock what killed it when it hit the floor, who know's.

    R.I.P Athlon 2400+ - 2005 to 2010


    :roll:
    hoax32 says thanks.
  12. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    IM SOUCH A DUMB-A**!!!! :cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:
    I should of checked the web before any actions!!!

    Does it mean my hot loved casanova CPU has "left me"? :(
  13. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yep sounds like you killed it . Hey don't feel bad one time I was taking the IHS off my 4000+ and had it almost off when POP ! The cores also came off :cry: Killed it dead !
    hoax32 says thanks.
  14. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I'd still say it's worth benching the whole system if you really don't want to class it as dead and gone just yet, but besides that I don't see any other option but to call it, it's day.
  15. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Buhuhuhuhu!!!! :cry::cry::cry:
    Im never ever gonna throw it away!!!!!
    Gonna keep it and put it into a frame in my room, so i will never forget, not to dip a cpu into wodka golbatschow!!!

    Maybe its gonna work one day, and now i have to live with a 1GHz Athlon!!!:cry::cry::cry:
  16. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Arnt you missing another major point?

    NEVER drop another CPU again either. :banghead:
  17. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    First off no matter how much room you have once you put that CPU in you should be very thoughtful about taking it back out .
    Just be thankful it did not look like this one LOL !

    Attached Files:

  18. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Everybody knows that! :cry::cry::cry:

    Is there any one who has a AMD athlon for socket A/462 that he wants to get rid off? :respect:

    Working at MC-FAT doent really help me in my budget, bec i save for a car.
    So maybe for really chap?
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    sounds like it to me.
    I would try to clean the cpu up alittle with some rubbing alcohol before i call it toast.
    i clearcoated/water proofed one of my Socket A CPU's(everything but the core got a really thick coat of nail polish and clear enamel) then i rigged up a cap and grabbed the pump that we used outside and cleaned it up really good and did "direct die chilling" that is where you spray water directly on the cpu core.
    by telling you this it's to help put your mind at ease about getting the cpu wet with alcohol but don't dunk it in it or anything. Just take a q-tip and clean everything really good that could have got the vodka on it with rubbing alcohol (highest % you have) then let it dry(couple minutes) and try it again.
    also a cpu putting out heat doesn't mean that it is working. I have had a few socket A athlon XP's and a few Pentium 3's warm up but had been dead
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Wow... now that is a blast from the past... look's like one of my old "thoroughbreds" which I some how forgot to connect the CPU fan up properly and then let a 10yr old boy sit infront of it for around 10 minutes before deciding that he should come tell me that it won't work and there's a horrible smell coming from it.

    Nevermind... we all have our own special memories of times like these :toast:
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Lesson learned and moral of the story:

    CPU's don't drink and you shouldn't either while maintaining your hardware. Sorry for the killed hardware but sometimes we just gotta find an excuse to upgrade. xD
    95Viper says thanks.
  22. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah !!

    Attached Files:

  23. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    That made me :roll: ... partly because I'm usually high when working within my rig :banghead: ... I know my day is coming... again.
  24. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah me too that was great ! :laugh:

    I bet you didn't drop the vodka bottle LOL ! How much did you drink when you were cleaning it any way . A drop for you a shot for me ? ... :D

    Yeah LOL I can't smoke a bowel any more and crack my case I have fucked up too much hardware that way :laugh: !
    95Viper says thanks.
  25. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Thats not FUNNY!!!:(
    This CPU might be old, but it means alot to me, because it accomplished things, that iwould of never thought of:

    COD2=18fps 800x600
    Wolfenstein Enemy territory=27fps 1024x768
    Max payne 2=37fps 1024x768

    :cry::cry::cry:

    Nobody with an athlon xp out there that he wants to get rid off?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page