1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System wont power up

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by hoax32, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i have done the same thing.
    under the influence and voltmods or socket mods = FAIL and a strange smell :shadedshu
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Man got rid of mine like 5 years ago . Man that is old tech . Maybe time for an upgrade ?
  3. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    did you try what i said?
    also lighten up man shit happens.
    Sorry but a few months ago i sold my only working Socket A CPU :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    YES SIR LOL ! The Smoke filled room was always a dead give away for my wife ! :laugh:
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Didn't mean it really to be funny. I try not to be judgemental but wtf were you doing with wodka at the age of 16?!

    To help a little:

    http://txmicro.com/AMD-XP-2400-2.0GHz-Socket-A-462-CPU-AXDA2400DKV3C-p-2167.html
  6. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Its my dads wodka.
    He has his own wine business and some beer and wodka.
    He has gallons of drinks in the basement.
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    OMG this kid is 16 and has vodka ? MY dad would have beat my ass with the belt till it was glowing hotter than my cpu's when I toast them !

    Well you stay out of them ! Get some alcohol that you put on cuts not in a drink ok ? Good God son stay away from dads liquor cabinet ! That stuff aint for cleaning it is for drinking !
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Like I said previously, I'm not judgemental.

    Yeah, if i had some chips laying around I would just send one. Practically all of my older stuff got pitched and trashed in a recent move.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  9. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i didn't notice how lucky i was at 16. I had 6 rigs 4 of them dual cores 1 quad and 1 p4ht and i had 3 8800GT's and 1 8800GTS,1 GTX260 216. Now at 17 i have the rig in my specs..

    really take my advice on cleaning the CPU with rubbing alcohol!
    ps send me some of the vodka for a taste test :p
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    At 16 the only thing we had was the commodore 64 and that Apple thing .
    But I had rooms filled with stereos and record players and T.V.s tape plays as well . Man I am OLD :ohwell:
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  11. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    i just tried the alcohole trick.
    Doesnt seem to work.
    I used alcohol that was in our first aid kit.
    It said pure alcohole "For medical use only"-i think i can category it as an technical-medical emergency. :(

    I offer a Pentiusm 4 2.8GHz for a AMD Athlon 2400 @ 2 GHz or up.
    Ill pay shipping for both.

    Maybe i should create a extra post for this.
    But i dont feel like!!! :cry::cry::cry:
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  12. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    it was worth a try. Sorry for your lost :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,483 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,724
    I've got an Athlon XP-M 2600+, it is a mobile processor, but works in standard Socket A motherboards.

    It has been sitting in my basement for years in a pile of laptop parts that I never got around to selling.

    It is yours if you pay shipping.
    hoax32 says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    ^^i would go this way. mobile CPU's are fun to play with in desktop boards. Even the s478 mobiles are fun(really overclockable and cool running :))
    hoax32 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    This is the first I've heard of a mobile processor being used in a desktop system.. good going :toast:
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    IIRC Athlon XP mobile counterparts had the multiplier factory unlocked.
    Techtu says thanks.
  17. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    some of them did but other ones you have to do the bridge mod to unlock them ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I've got to say I'm really impressed... although how about the newer cpu's on the market, are any of those mobile cpu's compatible on the desktop series?
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I don't think any of them use the same socket anymore. :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Yeah I remember that from the desktop model's :D

    imo it's a shame, I would of liked to of seen it going, but nevermind. I can't complain with either desktop or laptop model's of today :)
  21. TechPowerDown Guest

    didn't you put an old mobile P4 in a desktop when you lived here?
  22. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    yes i did. I did the pin mod on it and got it to like 4.2ghz@1.72v :roll:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,483 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,724
    Well, the processor I thought I had turned out to be thrown out a while ago, as was the pile of laptop parts.:eek:

    But I found a 2900+ instead.:rockout:
    More than 25k PPD
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I think that was the T-Bred B based Semprons where you had to brdge the L5 connections and onlyworked on a VIA chipset **ehemm** 90% were Asrock...

    Oh the days!!!! I miss that chip.
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i had mine on a Nforce (don't remember which one) i ran air on all of mine but 1 i did the direct die chilling on that one :)
    I had a CPU that ran 2.6ghz@2.7v IRRC 24/7 stable on air that was a nice one.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page