1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tables

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by DanTheBanjoman, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    I bugged W1z about being able to create tables that can be sorted, handy for scorelists mainly. I convinced him to look into it and he found a decent and simple solution.

    I took the liberty of taking the HD tune thread as example for people to get an idea.

    Please leave some feedback. And DarkEgo, sorry for doing it without asking :)



    For the people who maintain score threads, this is how you make a table:
    Code:
    [table="head"]Username|Device|Min|Max|Average|Latency
    TIGR|4x 1TB Hitachi Ultrastar (558GB RAID 0)|||329.3|
    TIGR|4x Western Digital RaptorX 150GB (21GB RAID 0)|||329|
    TIGR|4x Western Digital RaptorX 150GB (600GB RAID 0|||270|
    
    The first line contains all column names, rest contains data, each column separated by a |. If the above sample isn't clear, ask.
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2008
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,430 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,618
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Awesome! Nice feature. Syntax looks fairly simple.

    Lemme try one:

    Processor Make Model Clock Speed TDP
    1 Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.40 GHz 65W
    2 AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ 3.20 GHz 125W



    Can I use this syntax with news? Will the system be able to generate tables on the homepage?
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2008
  3. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    No clue how it will work on the main page actually. Though I don't recommend using it in news, steal tables from reviews, those are nicer.
  4. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    I like it. I just converted over the list in the F@H news post and it only took a few minutes of repetitive copying and pasting of the | character. It's very forgiving of where space are and how entries are arranged in space so you don't have to form the rows and columns yourself.
  5. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,532 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    That is going to help clear things up greatly - i vote this gets stickied so that others can see it.
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,430 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,618
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Okay, it doesn't seem to work on the main page:
    [​IMG]
  7. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    That is neat, Can I use it in my Vantage thread?
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Looks like they missed off the | at the end of each line.
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,430 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,618
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yes. No need to ask. Edit the threads right away. You'll lose markers alongside though.

    Example:

    1. Username1 348743987 iterations/sec <- Highest Intel Score
    2. Username2 209804980 iterations/sec
    3. Username3 172399875 iterations/sec <- Highest AMD Score
    4. Username4 99798678 iterations/sec
    5. Username5 98382767 iteratons/sec

    Try doing this with all your markers: Create a column for "Remarks" and then place your markers where you feel.
    Rank Username Score Remarks
    1 1 Username1 348743987 iterations/sec Highest Intel Score
    2 2 Username2 209804980 iterations/sec
    3 3 Username3 172399875 iterations/sec Highest AMD Score
    4 4 Username4 99798678 iterations/sec
    5 5 Username5 98382767 iterations/sec
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2008
  10. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Adding the last | isn't necessary, but to be sure I tested in on the front page and it didn't fix it.
  11. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    That looks pretty nice. Glad that you Bugged him long enough for this Dan!

    :toast:
  12. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    I'll have to play with this, it looks like it might take some time.
  13. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,788 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,490
    this bbcode is for the forums only. it will neither work in article, reviews or news posts.
    jbunch07 says thanks.
  14. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    I Might have to change the Vantage thread to this. Thanks W1zz.
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    Sticky for reference?
  16. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    That last | is for the latency, which was empty in the example. Though if there are too few columns it'll still work, it'll just leave all columns after the last empty.


    If you couldn't use it I wouldn't have made the thread :)
  17. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    I agree! this needs to be stickied.
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  18. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    Hey I was playing around with the table and i realized that if you click the column names at the top of the table it changes the order its in, also very useful.
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    could someone help me i don't understand this
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    pm me if you have any questions, I use it in both of my compilation threads and would be glad to walk you through it.
  21. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Very nice, I like it alot. Way to go Dan and W1Z!
  22. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    That's a very specific thing we looked for, actually I was planning on finding out if you sort by some column by default. Would be handy.
  23. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    I looked it up.

    Column 1
    0 Using this you can sort. 1, is the column number, ie the first column in this case. The added "d" sets it to descending, default is ascending.
    1
    2 Using this you can just add values at the bottom and it'll be sorted automatically. Sorting is case sensitive, so make sure everything is either lowercase or uppercase.
    3
    4
    5 More info:
    6 http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showpost.php?p=900270&postcount=2
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2008
    lemonadesoda and jbunch07 say thanks.
  24. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,532 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    this is going to be interesting - an idea maybe, just maybe, an insert table or something similar. many people don't know how to use code.

    Not entirely sure how it would be implemented though, someone with a bigger capacity for computer code than myself can sort that out.
  25. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page