1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.5.8 Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,669 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,413
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    TechPowerUp today released the latest version of GPU-Z, our popular video subsystem information and diagnostic utility that provides you with accurate information about the graphics hardware installed, and lets you monitor their clock speeds, fan speeds, voltages, VRAM consumption, etc., in real-time. Version 0.5.8 introduces two new features. The first one is a render test that applies sufficient load (not stress) on the GPU to pull it out of PCI-Express link-state power-management, to ensure the Bus information is accurate. If you find the PCI-Express bus link speed or PCIe version displayed incorrectly, simply click on the "?" button next to the field to launch the load test.

    The next new feature is ASIC quality, designed for NVIDIA Fermi (GF10x and GF11x GPUs) and AMD Southern Islands (HD 7800 series and above), aimed at advanced users, hardware manufacturers, and the likes. We've found the ways in which AMD and NVIDIA segregate their freshly-made GPU ASICs based on the electrical leakages the chips produce (to increase yield by allotting them in different SKUs and performance bins), and we've found ways in which ASIC quality can be quantified and displayed. Find this feature in the context menu of GPU-Z. We're working on implementing this feature on older AMD Radeon GPUs.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    DOWNLOAD: TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.5.8, TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.5.8 ASUS ROG Themed

    The full change-log follows.

    • Added explanation about PCI-Express power savings and 3D render test to accurately measure bus config under load
    • Added function to display ASIC quality for Fermi and Southern Islands. (Located in the GPU-Z system menu)
    • Fixed crash on older ATI cards
    • Added voltage monitoring for HD 7970
    • Improved real-time clock monitoring for HD 7970
    • Fixed OpenCL detection for AMD Antilles, Whistler, Seymour, Blackcomb
    • Improved default clock reading for AMD HD 7970 and Fusion
    • Added support for AMD FirePro V7900, HD 6930, HD 7690M, HD 6410D
    • Fixed Intel Sandy Bridge IGP to be DirectX 10.1, 32 nm
    • Added support for NVIDIA Tesla C2075, GeForce GT 630M
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  2. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    896 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Australia
    I like it!! So if the Asic quality is 73% is that good or bad? What is the ideal range?
  3. kaktus1907 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Istanbul
    My GTX 460 1GB's production date is 25th week of 2010.. and according to GPU-Z ASIC quality test it's rated 72,9%, it's default vid is 987mV, i can use it 900MHz@1100mV, 975MHz @1212mV..

    [​IMG]
  4. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,093 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,614
    My 580 Lightning has an ASIC of 80.6% and my OE GT530 has an ASIC of 87.4%

    For those who may not know, you open the context menu by pressing Alt then pressing your down arrow :D

    Nice little update, W1z :cool:
    Crap Daddy says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,605 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    i dont know... but my GTX560 TI has a rating of 77.1%
  6. kaktus1907 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Istanbul
    wonder what're your oc numbers? thats very high asic quality, no surprise binned chips are used in lightning series card.. for GT530 it's rather very small chip and yields are high.. so it's normal that it has higher ASIC quality
  7. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    So I have an ASIC of 78.9 on one 460 and then 47.7 on the other. Thats bad isn't it?
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,216
    how do the two cards compare in max oc results ?
  9. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,093 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,614
    Haven't bothered pushing the Lightning, stock voltage is 1.006 and I run it @ 875core.

    I wonder if having access to this rating will start to factor into the resell value of cards? I can see people claiming 'golden' GPUs and using this as a method of validating. Wonder if that is warranted?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    I've had them both up to about 830Mhz on the core from 715Mhz stock. Didn't push higher than that, but I tested to 850. Think if I remember right it didn't like it that high.
  11. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,437 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    It will only have value if it turns out to have any bearing on overclocking, and maybe voltage efficiency depending on what you're going for. Need more data.
  12. kaktus1907 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Hi W1zzard, great update thx..

    i wonder is there anything related with on chip numbers to ASIC quality.. as i said my chip rated as 72.9% quality and on chip it's written NN7288.M2P.. is there any relations with them ?
  13. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,216
    no idea. what gpu?
  14. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,437 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Scroll up.
  15. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,216
    ah, thanks. for nvidia, most probably not

    edit: i just checked my 7970. no numbers in the gpu markings that match asic quality
  16. kaktus1907 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Istanbul
    it's Gigabyte GTX 460 1 GB OC the first batch i guess,, i bought it first week August 2010.. i posted gpu shot my earlier post #3..
  17. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Oh, the 44.7 one does run hotter than the other. But I thought it was always just case placement. Although, come to think of it, when I transferred into this Storm Sniper with a big fan over the slots, I didn't see really any improvement in it's temp.
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,216
    asic quality directly controls voltages on a lot of cards
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  19. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    So the voltages might be different? Hmmm. Well it is running almost 10c hotter than the other.
  20. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Ahh yep...one 460 is running @ around .9750v right now while the other runs @ 1.0370v...hmmm, the lower voltage one is fluctuating a lot while the other isn't moving at all. Just like it is stuck at 1.0370v.
  21. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,144 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    how to get the "ASIC quality" popup if it should start with GPU-Z it doesn't on my pc ^^;
  22. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,437 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Should we start compiling numbers somewhere? I'd guess score, VDDC at 3d clocks (no load), and maybe volts for a high, stable overclock? I wouldn't bother with heat given case and paste job inconsistencies.
  23. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,216
    make a new thread in the graphics card forum if you want to take care of it
  24. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,437 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    I don't want to take care of it haha. Somebody else do it.
  25. Q9650

    Q9650 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    how to use asic quailty feature?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page