1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.5.8 Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. James1o1o

    James1o1o

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    So higher or lower ASIC a good thing or a bad thing? What does the % actually represent?
     
  2. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    I got only 47.1% on ASIC quality is my video card defective? a lower % means more likey to die? or less OC? or less reliability?????????

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  3. TomasH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've an ASIC quality of 102,6%. Can it be higher than 100% or is this an error?
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Nice job. Again you forgot to put the names of those who translated gpu-z
     
  5. DAOWAce

    DAOWAce New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    US East.
    Not sure whether this is accurate or not..

    The ASIC quality of my MSI GTX 460 Hawk is 87.4% whereas the quality of my Talon Attack version is 64.6%. If one isn't familiar with MSI cards, see here.

    Surely the card with nearly 23% higher quality would qualify for a higher spec SKU.

    Maybe it's reading the cards wrong when in SLI..
     
  6. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    475 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Here's mine. 84.3%.

    GALAXY GTX 560Ti GC.
    VDDC stock is 1.012 V.

    Thanks for the update.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I think we should all calm down on the ASIC thing here for a minute and realize it is a new feature and things might either need to be ironed out first..... or that we all don't fully understand everything. I am seeing a lot of questions by people almost panicking saying "my one stock reference video card is 93% while my other high end non reference card is 43%". Just calm down....I think it is just a great little new tool we all can use and it shouldn't be made into more then that. And it defiantly shouldn't be made into to the new metric on which we sell second hand video cards. Because as we all can see from this thread.... some people with 63% ASIC can bump up their voltage and get a killer overclock. Sometimes higher then people who have a ASIC of 80% or more.

    For example.... I have a ASIC of 84% on one card and 82.7 on my other HD7970. I can overclock these cards very nicely without voltage increase. So I think it would be pointless to us it as the new metric for everything second hand. People might be screwing themselves over!
     
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,356
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Wafer quality refers to leakage. A low-leakage part is going to be the most efficient, but is more likely to either coldbug or not overclock very far(pseaking in terms of many samples form the same process)

    Higher leakage parts(with lower quality), when cooled properly, should clock better when temps are decreased.

    A part with zero leakage is NOT what an overclocker wants...it's what a person who wants to save on power consumption wants.


    Basically, if a silicon part does not leak, it doesn't give off as much excess power as heat.

    20mmrain, is the lower "quality card" slightly hotter? I'd like to see how each clocks under water or LN2. finding the sweetspot for each process would be interesting.
     
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,330 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    My gigabyte windforce OC is only 66.6% im guessing these GTX570s are mostly bad leakage. I haven't tried any OC but im sure it wont be too bad
    780 core is stock on this





    just a quick question
    If you card is producing artifacts can this been read from these ASIC scores? as in a bad core will have <20% or something?
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  10. someone New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saarbrücken, Germany
    Nice!
    The next logical step seems to check for correlations between ASIC, power consumption and overclockability, in-between a fixed model (say GTX 560Ti), of course.

    Then, we may see, if this is going to be the "next big thing", whilst the last one was the CPU batch...
     
  11. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    my GTX460 TOP that runs all day 870mhz gets rated for 40%
    my GTX560 gets 71%

    wtf

    edit just noticed, the pixel fill rate for my 460 is wrong.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  12. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    my 560 ssc 2gb asic quality is 103% is that good or.....
     
  13. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well this just sucks ass . Yet another old ass card of mine that is not supported ! So I have no clue what mine is or even would be !
     
    aznsniper911 says thanks.
  14. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Sparkle Calibre GTX 550 Ti 1GB: 71.1% (only OCs about 50MHz to 1GHz core)
    ECS GT 440 512MB GDDR5: 80.6% (OCs about 80MHz to 890 core.)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    London
    How long does the test take?
     
  16. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    517 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    81.8% on my sapphire 7970.
     
  17. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Which one? The ASIC percentage is simply read off the chip.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    If I understand this all correctly, Higher the % just means more likely to have a higher OC, It's doesn't mean your card is going to die.

    Great job as always W1zzard, I'm starting to think your a mad scientist of GPU's.

    Also I know my 4850 isn't currently supported (which is perfectly ok because I already know my card can't be upped by 20mhz), but just for reference where do you click to do this test?
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,939 (3.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,531
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Neat, nice set of improvements. :toast:
     
  20. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Only if you can use them all . Mine is so OLD it can not take advantage of them . GOD it sucks being POOR ! :cry:
    Every thing I own is so old it all belongs in a museum !
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,974 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Whoa there. Your stuff looks pretty damn good to me. Appreciate what you have, life is easier that way. :)
     
    trickson says thanks.
  22. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,939 (3.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,531
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Awe man, I've just checked your specs, it's not that old. That Q9650 at 4GHz is still very respectable. :toast:

    I don't blame you for wanting the latest though and I hope you're in a position to get some new hardware soon.

    EDIT: Dammit erocker, you beat me to it. :laugh:
     
    trickson says thanks.
  23. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    <---- Not as crappy as my stuff, but then again I can still play all my games at descent quality. I just want to have new stuff!!

    I could buy a New Intel 2011 a couple 7970 and stuff, but I'm super tight with my money I always find a reason to not buy something.:banghead:
     
  24. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I just built a Pentium E6600 (Wolfdale 2MB) system with an ASRock G41M-S3 and overclocked it to 3.8GHz and was mighty surprised how well that system runs. It was actually able to hold 50-60FPS in TF2 with a GTX 550 Ti installed (CPU was maxed out though) but I give it credit for running TF2 much better than my laptop's quad core Phenom II 2.1GHz which goes down to 30 and less all the time. This setup is just another folder/cruncher now (I needed another place to put the GTX 550) and it does excellent. Your Q9650 is probably better than many of the Phenom IIs out there, and people still use them everywhere. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. pokazene_maslo

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hmm. On my notebook with ATI Mobility FireGL V5000 (mobility x700) it always shows PCI-E 1.1 x16@x16 1.1 no matter if I have powerplay set to optimal performance or optimal battery life.

    According to my knowledge M26 (mobility x700) supports dynamic lane count switching that should be adjusting number of PCI-E lines that are used.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page