1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.5.8 Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    higher leakage = higher temps but higher OC
    Lower leakage=lower temps but usually low OC.

    Bad leakage? that is not even a type of leakage. Every transistor has some type of leakage, that is why ES CPUs in previous gens to SB OC so much higher, because usually they had unlock TDPs. I woudl actually expect the higher binned cards for the same type to have lower ASIC if the leakage is what they say is quality of the silicon.

    My ref gigabyte GTX 570 is 89.7%

    i don't think ASIC refers to just leakage.
    overclockers should want higher as higher leakage transistors usually can work faster, that is why they use them in very critical parts of teh GPU.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775

    Attached Files:

  3. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    BTW right now Ivy bridge has an issue where the leakage is just crazy, so its air/water clocks are coming out like SB. but on LN2 its like amazing compared to all previous intel platforms IMO. .
     
  4. cristian.a

    cristian.a New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my radeon hd 6670 gddr5, say popup "ASIC quality reading not supported on this card." :wtf:

    Why, why, why ????????

    edit:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  5. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    And how do you do that? When I click the question mark I get the window to start the test, I just want to get the ASIC reading.
     
  6. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    263 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    102% on a 560ti twin frozr II/OC
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,791 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,168
    [​IMG]

    Stock volts. I've been running it like this since I got it. Water block should be here next week, hopefully it likes some extra volts. :)
     
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Right click the title bar of the window (where it says TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.5.8) to open a context menu that has the ASIC reading option.
     
    claylomax says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    Thank you! At last. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsSS9VcMidA
     
  10. jaredpace

    jaredpace New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    165 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Can you get vrm temperature sensor readings for the 7970 in gpuz?
     
  11. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,428 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,035
    Location:
    Minnesota/Norway
    So, who's got the lowest ASIC quality? My first 470 reads a massive 36.9%, which sounds about right. It was never a strong overclocker. Default VID of 1.037V can be overclocked to 725/1800 at stock volts or 775/1900 at 1.087V. Nothing too spectacular. Best I've ever gotten it was 850/1900 at I think 1.15V. It wasn't 100% stable and the card alone drew more than 400W in Furmark. (Don't worry I had the AXP on it and it never got above 75°C, worry about the VRMs though.)

    My other 470 with a quality of 60.9% is a little better. Default VID is 0.975V. 725/1800 at 0.975V and 775/1900 at 1.037V.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  12. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    It doesn't work for me on 6990s, it says "ASIC quality reading not supported on this card."
    Same on an ASUS 6970 DirectCU II
     
  13. sanadanosa

    sanadanosa

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Semarang, Indonesia

    Didn't you read this? "The next new feature is ASIC quality, designed for NVIDIA Fermi (GF10x and GF11x GPUs) and AMD Southern Islands (HD 7800 series and above),"
     
  14. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Nope sorry, totally missed it :)
     
  15. Freedom4556

    Freedom4556

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    78 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    AR, USA
    I got 97.4% on an EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Core FTW
    Currently running factory overclocked 797/975/1594 @ 1.013 V

    This seems exceptionally good, am I right? Which would seem to support EVGA doing binning.
     
  16. mad1394

    mad1394 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    127 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Yea well my POS Gigabyte gtx 460 which has given me a lot of headaches has an ASIC quality of 110.3%. :ohwell:
     
  17. Disruptor4

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    227 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    ASIC quality reading is not supported on this card.
    :(
     
  18. Freedom4556

    Freedom4556

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    78 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    AR, USA
    I wonder where Wizz is pulling this number from and what it was originally meant to represent?
     
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,952 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,754
    it's from the gpu silicon, and it's used to calculate the gpu voltage.

    "bad" gpus get a higher voltage so they make the default clock. "good" gpus can do it with lower voltage

    as you've seen in this thread, the scale for nvidia isnt perfect yet, so i'll apply some fixes once I have more data that suggests the typical ranges of gpu leakages
     
  20. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Any chance for some old card support ? Like the HD5770 ?
     
  21. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,524 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,625
    Curious to see what my two GTX 580's would show:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Looks like my second card should oc better than my first one in the SLI setup.

    Thanks W1zz for this nice little enhancement:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. jaredpace

    jaredpace New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    165 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    wiz any word on AMD 7900 series vrm temperature sensor readings in the next gpuz
     
  23. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,952 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,754
    hd 6000: probably
    hd 5000 ... rv610: maybe
     
    AlienIsGOD and trickson say thanks.
  24. cristian.a

    cristian.a New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Yes !!! i want to play too !!!!
     
  25. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Me too . :respect::cry:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page