1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Techpowerup! Hwbot Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by d1nky, Aug 16, 2013.

  1. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,536 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,640
    I will soon have my GPU's under water as well as replacing the MSI motherboard with the ASUS MAXIMUS VI EXTREME. After I have completed my updated Haswell build I will see what I can contribute.
     
    d1nky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,318 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    684
    Just a note for ya, that m6e won't get you any further overclocking wise. Unless you go cold. Its not worth the cost.
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  3. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,536 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,640
    Already own it. I bought it about a month ago. Oh well...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,288 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    346
    Location:
    CZ
    The M6E will have m nice ram timing options so you can take advantage of that. But as far as CPU speed is concerned motherboards do very little with haswell because the main output VRM is on the cpu substrate itself.
    The M6E also has really good PCIe lane routing where the main card is always run directly to the CPU.
     
  5. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,318 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    684
    Boards didnt do much for SB/IB either and their VRM's were not on the CPU. A lot of people think that they need an expensive board to run high clocks when the reality is, an ASrock Z77 Extreme 4 will push your IB CPU to its ambient cooling limits and brush it off.

    Its even worse with Haswell. ;)
     
  6. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,536 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,640
    I am looking for a little bit more stability when running two 780's overclocked as well as the cpu....
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,318 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    684
    Any board that supports two cards will be stable. :)
     
  8. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,288 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    346
    Location:
    CZ
    The X79 platform is really dependent on the board to the point where some boards hit 200mhz more than others using the same voltage
     
  9. Rangerjr1

    Rangerjr1

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    138 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Dinky stop going offline!
     
  10. OhWell

    OhWell New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    marsey99 and d1nky say thanks.
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    d1nky says thanks.
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    you forget about clocking VGAs hard, and some cards needing additional 3.3 V from PCIe. NOt all boards offer added power delivery for PCIe.

    OC is more than JUST CPU, or JUST memory...

    For CPU OC, yeah, most boards are equal, but power consumption of VRM(board heat) and other seemingly small items (T-Topology) can have a HUGE impact on performance and the longevity of an OC.


    For benching...air, yeah, not too much will matter..it's more about BIOS support for pushing the memory you are using.


    I was hoping to see you in this thread. :rockout:
     
    marsey99, Random Murderer and d1nky say thanks.
  13. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    its good to see dave in here giving advice, thanks man!
     
  14. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,318 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    684
    I didn't forget a thing. I clocked two 7970's to the moon on an Asrock Z77 Extreme 3 for Pete's sake. No extra power for PCIe, nothing. Maybe I was lucky. :)

    Perhaps the HIS 7970 IceQ x2 doesnt require that extra power, while 780's do? I don't know. :confused:

    I hear ya, and believe ya, just havent experienced 'instability' yet across a couple of low end boards with high end cards.
     
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Give me a bit I will get some clocking done. Just wish I had some good parts down while I have time here in Houston. Oh well.

    [​IMG]

    Need to weasel my way up to first for the team again it has been a while. Got a TK-42 sitting in the box that should be good for a handful of first place spots.
     
  16. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA

    Is the mvg one that doesn't have that extra power?

    I ran 3770k 6+ghz and cf 7970 also and did get some good scores

    only reason I see ppl get the 300+ mb are for 3-4 cards and if they need the space to run the cards on ln2
     
  17. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I should join tpu :p but I gave up ocing :(

    but nice seeing tpu getting more ppl back into this even though the bot is poorly run lol
     
    marsey99 and d1nky say thanks.
  18. Rangerjr1

    Rangerjr1

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    138 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Dinky come online i need help!
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You don't push hard enough. when going for frequency, it can matter a bit, but more for 3D points...


    Of course, some boards have better PCIe power delivery than others, but to compare the EX4 to a $400 board specifically designed for benchmarking...I do not believe it's as cut and dry as you say. it's very close, no doubt...but in NO WAY is it directly equal. BIOS plays too big of a role, and the high-end OC boards tend to get more BIOS support.


    Of course, I am one of just maybe 5 people that seem to think PCIe 3.3V power is important. But it was important enough for Shammy to point out why the Maximus V Extreme had VRM between the PCIe slots specifically for 3.3V, and offered the ability to adjust 3.3V line in BIOS...


    Also, you don't have to "believe me". I don't come up with ANY of this info, I am merely relating tips. XD...and they aren't MY tips... I only give tips for 24/7 since no one else does.
     
    marsey99 says thanks.
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,318 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    684
    :roll::roll::roll::roll:

    :slap:

    :shadedshu

    Doesnt push hard enough... OH MAN, I think I just pee'd in my drawers a little laughing at that statement... wow.




    Being serious, something tells me that dude will not be frankensteining his cards or going ln2...which THEN would want that extra power at hte pcie slot. We can both make up scenarios to which is needed. I was just sharing my experience with it is all.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2013
    cadaveca says thanks.
  21. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,482 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,179
    Make that 6. I specifically look for an extra PCI-e lane power connector when buying boards I know will be pushed hard with multiple cards. My P55 FTW had one, my X48-T3RS had one, and this RIVE obviously has one. I think it's a highly underrated feature on high-end boards. This notion was reassured when I was talking with Shammy last year.
    I had a good laugh as well:roll:
     
  22. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,595 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    man i can't get 4.8GHz stable on my CPU anymore
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,594 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    while amd started the ball rolling intel really took it to a whole new level with sandy b. yes the be chips were the 1st mainstream unlocked cpu sandy just made it so it was fool proof and so much came down to the chip and not the board. i had my 25k in a cheap z68, a higher end z68 and a mid ranged z77 and it was just as fast in them all. ok the higher end z68 could do the same speeds on less voltage (24 phase vs 4 in the z68 and 12 in the z77) but it wouldnt go any faster in it.

    dave i totally agree dude, people do focus too much on just some aspects of overclocking when for the best day to day system you want to find the sweetspot where everything is tweaked a little bit to make the most of its performance. i have ben a long time fan of pcie clocking for 3d bench runs but it too comes with its own risks.

    as for the extra power, i think thats more needed with the older cards which would suck that much juice all day under load than todays which need to be cold to run fast enough.
     
  24. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,288 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    346
    Location:
    CZ
    My HD 7970 does take voltage adjustments but won't scale very well past 1150mhz on 1150mv. Any suggestions cuz I wanna get into 3d benching but my card won't hit 1.2ghz even at 1.3v and my temps are sub 65 at 100% load so those are non issue.
     
  25. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,318 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    684
    Some boards REQUIRE you to use it with SLI/CFx... Like EVGA iirc.

    I also agree with what dave said, but this is a hwbot overclocking thread where we care less about that stuff. Good memeory clocking, cpu clocking, plx if a few gpus, good power delivery... Done. That discussion in this context really has no relevance I'm afraid.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page