1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TechPowerUp OSD Server Beta Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by W1zzard, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,784
    First build attached.

    [​IMG]

    - Supports DX9, DX10, DX11
    - At this time it draws only FPS in the top left corner

    No installation necessary, just unpack and run the exe and leave it running. To quit, look for the TPU icon in your systay.

    Please check if it works in all your games, also report back with ideas and feature requests.

    0.0.1:
    - Fixed crash when server is closed and started repeatedly

    0.0.2:
    - Prevented multiple instances of OSD Server
    - OSD Server needs to be started as admin now to get into all games

    0.0.3:
    - Added shared memory for other applications to use OSD functionality
    - Improved rendering support for DX9, DX10, DX11. OSD should now be shown in all games
    - Fixed several crash issues
    - Reduced FPS counter update rate

    0.0.4:
    - Fixed OSD not displayed in Dirt 2 / F1 2010 (and possibly other titles)

    0.0.5:
    - Improved font engine performance by several orders of magnitude
    - Minor bugfixes

    0.0.6:
    - Added configuration dialog to tray icon
    - Added GPU-Z plugin (need to start GPU-Z before OSD Server)
    - Added rendering engine and system time display
    - Reworked plugin API for 3rd party developers

    0.07:
    - Fixed problem that caused OSD be hidden on DX10/DX11
    - Updated icon
    - More application compatibility improvements
    - Bugfixes
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,784
    and save your work. it could crash any running application
     
  3. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    LOL, W1zz, joining the fray with MSI AB vs FRAPS vs PlayClaw are we? ;)
    I'll test it out as long as it doesn't corrupt my saves. :)
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,784
    been working on it for a long time, this is complicated stuff, and it's still far from production ready
     
  5. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,784
    probably
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    oh hell yes w1zzard, brilliant idea.


    edit: working fine in starcraft II, which is ofc DX9. FPS doesnt quite match up with the in game one, but that could be timing differences.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
  8. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,175 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    365
    Crashes HL2 engine in CSS. Black screen when enable with game loaded, and failing to produce overlay when started before game load.

    Win7 x64 SP1. Newest Nvidia driver. Current HL2 engine and fully updated Steam client.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
  9. Luke

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    I can't get it to run in any of the games i have tried so far (Including StarCraft2)
    I do have crossfire and 2 screens if that makes a difference
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Kick ass W1zz!
     
  11. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    486 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    also no luck getting it to work here could be eyefinity problem?

    some ideas, change colour / move anywhere not just have it sat in any corner.
     
  12. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    works with gtaiv and citiesxl 2011
     
  13. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,784
    new build uploaded to first post
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    i liked the TPU icon better than the new one.
     
  15. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    So far I checked it with 2 games.

    Works fine with Fallout: New Vegas.

    But in Dirt II it didn't show any fps in the top right corner, nothing, as if the program wasn't running at all.
     
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,784
    dirt 2 dx9 or dx11 ?
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2011
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    i can confirm version 0.03 works in dragon age II in DX11 (actual DX11, not DX11 path in DX10 mode)
     
  18. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    dx11
     
  19. rflair New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Crashes TF2 (Team Fortress 2) when game switches into 3D mode.

    Win7 x64
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2011
  20. Orbmu2k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Great work W1zzard!

    The upcoming release of nSpector will add support for it.
    [​IMG]
     
  21. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,784
    bump for new build

    tf2 works for me (in the menu), didn't try in-game yet
     
  22. rflair New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    YES it works in TF2, I had ATItraytools running and it was causing the crash.

    So your new tool and ATT don't get along.

    Works nice though.
     
  23. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    486 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    i agree,new icon kind of looks like fraps icon.
    eyefinity working in some this time
    tried new build in DA2/WoW/BC2,no problems in DA2 and WOW here are pics
    http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/8093/wow2011032019215110.jpg
    http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/6194/dragonage2demo201103201.jpg

    in BC2 you can see here it goes to corner of middle screen and shrinks itself a little both in sp/mp
    http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/1668/bfbc2game20110320192817.jpg

    edit just tried MOH works fine in that to
    http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/7969/moh2011032020270732.jpg SP
    http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/8143/mohmpgame20110320204357.jpg MP
    edit again this seems to be a SP / MP difference with the FPS going to middle screen corner in MOH
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2011
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,784
    bump for new build
     
  25. The Coolest New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Great job W1zzard!
    Here's my work in progress, a plugin for Core Temp.
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page