1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TechPowerUp OSD Server: new beta build

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by W1zzard, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. gegegreen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    very good software but I can bring myself to abandon definitely for its inability to save the settings and restore them afterwards again we can not export to a INI file for example .
    I'm tired of constantly re my settings again and again, a pity that this function is not been planned.
    I think the devellopement is stopped?? damage I adored this little software.
    thank you for the work, thank you for trying
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,996 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,722
    Location:
    US
    Sorry to see no one responded to you. How ever if you do see this or if anyone else is wanting to save them self's from redoing the settings here you go.

    Start Command Prompt and type Regedit
    Regedit can be found under Start\Accessories

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER>Software>techPowerUp>OSDServer then you just right click were it says OSDServer and export.

    WARNING messing with the registry can stop the OS from working right and even stop it working so be careful.

    Anyways..I use openhardwaremonitor and was curious if support for it could be added to work with this program..

    I do wounder why this has not been added to the forums Our Software section ?.. Maybe because it's beta but still personanly think it should be added to get more attention.

    And last of all thanks Wiz..
     
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,955 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,754
    just to clarify. you are asking for a feature to export settings so you can take them to another pc?

    or is there something wrong with settings not getting saved between restarts?

    osd server is kind of a pet project of mine that i work on when i have free time/bored. then i realize people dont care about it, get dissapointed, ignore it for a while, only to work on it again some time
     
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,996 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,722
    Location:
    US
    Maybe a lot of people miss it due to just being a thread in the video section.

    And as for interest i like the app\tool lot. However you did not say if openhardwaremonitor support been added yet or if it will be t some point.

    Unless it supports another CPU app that shows CPU clock temps and voltages please say.
     
  5. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,539 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,691
    Its my go to app for monitoring fps/gpu stuff in game.

    Also, since I just thought about it. One of the games I play has a pretty comprehensive in game stats monitor. One of the things it does is tell you how long the cpu is taking to send data to the gpu or something. It is to see if you cpu is the bottleneck. I found that pretty usefull for that game at least. The game is natural selection 2.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,996 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,722
    Location:
    US
    Just got a issue with TPU OSD and that was running Max Payne 3 which we started to play tonight and what happens is that is just courses a black screens with a crash.

    Here's the windows crash report

    Faulting application name: MaxPayne3.exe, version: 1.0.0.82, time stamp: 0x50bbea2b
    Faulting module name: OSDServer.dll, version: 0.0.0.1, time stamp: 0x4fbbf912
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x000054ec
    Faulting process id: 0xe70
    Faulting application start time: 0x01cdedfa3638d111
    Faulting application path: D:\Max Payne 3\MaxPayne3.exe
    Faulting module path: D:\games\TechPowerUp OSD Server\OSDServer.dll
    Report Id: 81771eaf-59ed-11e2-bc4b-bc5ff41eda3c
     
  7. NJCermak New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I know not one person is going to make much of a difference, however, I just wanted you to know that I very much appreciate your program. Due to certain circumstances, I'm unable to use MSI or EVGA's RTSS iteration. Fortunately, I stumbled upon your little program. I've been using it for awhile now with very few, minor hiccups. I think (if you're still developing this at all or not), that this could become a very lightweight, versatile program in conjunction with GPU-Z.

    Alas, I just wanted to maybe give you a little bit of a push and some kudos if you needed it for some motivation! :toast:
     
    W1zzard says thanks.
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,996 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,722
    Location:
    US
    Could not agree more and i believe the only reason that wiz has not updated it is just due having the time..

    Hopefully he finding some time every so often to make it as good as any other TPU app.
     
  9. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,259 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    I raise my hand to say "useful".

    I would also raise my hand to including other sensors not just GPUZ data. ie CPU temp and FB-DIMM temp. Then the OSD would contain all the info I wanted in one neat simple package.
     
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,996 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,722
    Location:
    US
    Like to see that too, all so would like to see a extract setting's button too so people would not have to fiddle in the reg.
     
  11. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,996 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,722
    Location:
    US
    Shame not many use it as i still think it's the best for having in game details of your GPU and CPU.

    Then again it is hard as hell to find.
     
  12. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    i wish it would get 64 bit application support, bcs with new games being 64 bit i would love to use this, bcs it's sooo much easier then MSI OSD and works better then FAPS (FRAPS).
     
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,996 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,722
    Location:
    US
    Works perfectly fine for me in Vista and Win 7 and i use it with every game i play without issue. Well if i start Arma up 1st i get a issue due to battleye kicking off :p..
     
  14. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    i am not talking about Windows, i am talking about games, i haven't had luck with any of the games i got that can run 64 bit applications (the exe file is for 64bit only) stats don't come up.
     
  15. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,440 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    530
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Don't lose heart W1zzard! You have admirers of this project! I think it's great!
     
  16. slymester New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Bump.
    Very excellent utility here
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page