1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Temperatures of intel core extreme qx9650

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by georgep001, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well after hours of trying to get my qx9650 overclocked i finally got it stable at 3.6ghz now my question is on real temp at max load my cpu hits 66c 67c is that too hot my setup is as follows

    asus rampage formula
    2x 2gig ddr 2 1044 corsair domainator ram
    qx9650 intel core 2 extreme
    thermaltake big water 760i watercooling for cpu
    2 4870x2 crossfire
    1000w ultra x2
    antec 1200 case
    2 1tb hardrives

    so if anyone can get back to me my main core runs at 66c 67c at full load the others usually peak at 65c im using real temp also if thats an exceptable temp id like to know how i can get my qx9650 stable at 4.0ghz i got it too finally boot into windows but doesnt last more then a couple seconds on prime without failing the tests thx any info will be appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2008
  2. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    hi,
    qx9650 stepping C0,TCase max 64°C Idle power 16W
    Tcase temp
    25°C cold,55°C good temp,60°C little hot,65°C hot
    for Tjunction core you need to add + 5°C
    eg:Tcase temp =55°C
    Tjunction core1=Tcase temp+5°C=60°C=good temp
     
  3. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    612 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    Romania
    Why do you think that it's too hot? This is hot but in the same time is perfect functional. ;)
    Peoples are too scared by temps. You are at a comfortable 33C distance from TJMax so relax, you're fine.
     
    georgep001 says thanks.
  4. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok thx alot i just didnt wanna fry a 1300 dollar processor im new to overclocking so i think the highest my core hit after hours of being on last night was 71c
     
  5. kyle2020 Guest

    Hmm that thermaltake shit er sorry kit (haha) wont be doing you any favours.
     
  6. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ill be replacing it after my wedding this week 70c seems alittle too hot ive set the processor back to stock im running at 38c idle right now
     
  7. kyle2020 Guest

    Oh congratulations man! :toast:

    What will you be replacing it with might i ask?
     
  8. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ty and no idea any suggestions? i had a hardtime getting the thermaltake cpu block to fit in actualy cause of my motherboard so id like something i can get in easy without having to grind and stuff but i dont know as far as what ill be getting next if u have any suggestions ill gladly take them thx.
     
  9. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Intel says 64.5c, so you should be safe to around 74.5c or so....
    I would be careful pushing it any further without something better for getting the temperature.
    And I would lap that heatsink :)
     
  10. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    whats lap the heatsink mean?
     
  11. kyle2020 Guest

    lapping is a process of sanding down a heatsinks base to provide better contact between it and the CPU for heat dissipation. Makes it have an almost mirror shine too :D

    As for suggestions, if your going air and want cheap, go for an AC Freezer pro, if your willing to spend a bit go for the Xigmatek rifle or something like that.

    Water wise, either go for a custom kit with some beasty radiators or if you want a kit, get the kit im getting - the XSPC X20 Delta (if you can get it). Apparently a cracking kit!
     
  12. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
  13. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    do u think re applying thermal paste and reseating the heathsink will give me better results?
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,652 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,042
    1st I would make sure your current water block is properly seated. If you are looking at a new w/c setup, go with a Swiftech MCP655 variable pump, the Dtek fuzion V2 blocks are nice, and a good/quality 2x120 radiator should do wonders.
     
  15. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  16. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sigh computers i threw 6k into this computer this past month i just want the thing to work whats better for cooling though water or air?
     
  17. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Fair enough, its not hard though just time consuming you can't be in a hurry.

    As said above making sure your block is seated well to your chip is a good start.
    As always a proper amount of spread of a good thermal paste is always another big thing.

    Most water blocks have a pretty smooth surface to start with so lapping it may not give you too much extra, unlike my AC Freezer it comes pretty rough, lapping it gave me between 3-5c drop depending on load.
     
  18. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729

    Water is better then air but its not a ton better, you can drop a few degrees, but if you really want good cooling you need vapor chill or tec, something a bit more in depth.. There are more options obviously.
     
  19. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well my friend when he put it in he spread the paste threw the whole top of the processor unlike myself with previous computers i just put some in the middle and it spreads threw out but he didnt use the thermal paste i had bought i had the ocz thermal paste i just find it wierd my fiancees computer i just built last night her intel core 2 duo with a stock fan and that ocz thermal paste i used runs at 26c idle were as mine well runs alot hotter on idle right now im using prime 95 as we speak overlocked my cpu to 3.6ghz im steady at 70c 67c 67c 67c
     
  20. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    heres a screenshot
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  21. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Ya with water that sounds really hot... Quads will run hotter than duals, but that ridiculous....
    Now applying thermal paste to quads is also slightly different then dual cores but I would definitely apply some new paste if he did a sloppy job.
     
  22. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Aside from a bigger picture being needed, use techpowerup.org to host your image :)

    I'm shocked no one as asked for your VCore....I have a suspicion that it may be a bit too high....you should lower it and see if your OC is still stable, as that should lower the heat factor somewhat ;)
     
  23. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok i will try reapplying some thermal paste and reseatting the heatsink ill get back to u guys.
     
  24. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my vcore hasnt been touched im running 3.6ghz stable with only the fsb changed everything else is on auto but i will try your suggestion my vcore is running at 1.272v right now
     
  25. georgep001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page