1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Temps @ idle

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by DreamSeller, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. DreamSeller Guest

    So i've just noticed that in core temp i guess the only prog. that shows the temps right at idle i get 35 C and that kind of scares me ive got this chip:
    [​IMG]
    what to expect if i oc it? :ohwell:
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,075
    Why does 35c scare you?!:wtf: That's a good temp for idle.
     
  3. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    lol i have a brisbane g2 too, and one core reads -1 the proc itself is under 20... even if the ambient is higher... the sensors seem to be bad on a64
     
  4. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,209 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    S.Cali
    35C is fine.....;).....now lets start the overclocking:D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,075
    I still haven't had an AMD chip that the core reads correctly on! I generally go by CPU socket temps. I'm pretty sure that if the CPU socket temp stays below 45c on idle you're ok.
     
  6. DreamSeller Guest

    [​IMG]
    well thanks i still don't know the load temps ...


    and about the OCing i'll do it once i get a new psu mines a generic 450w atm lol
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 20, 2009
  7. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    It is summer it is normal for temp to be something above ambient so 35C it is not much for any CPU. You can`t expect the CPU to cool the room :D.
     
  8. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i stumbled upon this everest-readings.... the ambient temperature is 20c°

    that seem to be more than 20 degrees difference on one core? my watercooling-copper- loop is behind my rig, its surely not colder than my room is.it cant be^^
     

    Attached Files:

  9. DreamSeller Guest

    lol heres what mine says
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    your CPU should ALWAYS be above ambient. unless you dont like reality, and created your own laws of physics.
     
  11. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    now that seems kinda more realistic... never tried coretemp:

    but it reads my frequency wrong....
     

    Attached Files:

    • pic.JPG
      pic.JPG
      File size:
      187.7 KB
      Views:
      65
  12. DreamSeller Guest

    mine too but i've got c'n'q on so idk :laugh:


    edit:so what are the max temps at idle when oc'ed ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 21, 2009
  13. crunchie

    crunchie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    110 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Australia
    Idle temps really do not matter. It's what you get under load that counts. Keep it under the safe limit for the cpu and all is good.
     
  14. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    overclocked to 3.4, it had like 33c° in idle and not more than 42 under hours of linpack
     
  15. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,582 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Australia
    Sitting at 17c at the moment ;) but thats with Cool and Quiet on to make it run at 1.2GHz, if you turned yours on it should clock it down to 1.0GHz for both cores and should drop that temp another 10c, it did for mine and this runs at 104W :D
     
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
  18. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I did not say that only in summer CPU temp is above ambient :roll:
    I was trying to say that because of the summer that ambient temps are high.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page