1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Tentative Launch Time-Frames for AMD 45nm Desktop CPUs Tabled

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,253 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    A lot has been said about the launch schedules of AMD's upcoming 45nm desktop processors over the last fortnight. While the company itself slated its 45nm desktop CPU range to kick-off on January 8 2009, skeptics think otherwise saying it could take longer for AMD to have sufficiently stocked up inventories in retail channels.

    HKEPC compiled a list of tentative order availability. time-frames for the 45nm CPUs sourced from PC manufacturers, which shows that the company launches Phenom II X4 940 on Jan. 8, while most of the product launches are concentrated in the months of February and April, 2009. Starting those months, channel vendors will be able to place bulk orders for those processors, to stock up inventories. Also pictured is the die-shot of AMD Deneb, and a picture showing the differences between the AM3 and AM2+ pin-grids (AM3 on the leftHS, AM2+ on rightHS).

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: HKEPC
  2. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Well, my XFX GTX260 BE is due in this week. I splurged and used my Deneb fund on the new video card. Couldn't pass it up! I don't want the Deneb's to be launched in Feb or April because AMD really needs these out ASAP. But, since I have no more Deneb fund, it gives me time to start saving again if they come out in Feb or April. :D It's a win win for me.
  3. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    605 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    does anybody knows the TDP of those A64 x2 ?

    Do you guys think we can expect much improved tpd from this family, maybe a a64x2 @2.2 25W ? :laugh:
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Don't we know this already? Why is AMD so hesitant to tell us the price of these..
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2008
  5. Jean Chevreuil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    KBD and DaC say thanks.
  6. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I can wait for Jan 8th, 2009. No biggie for me. By then, prices will be shown to us.

    @DaC when did you go from the X2 3800+ I sent ya to Intel :p
    DaC says thanks.
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,253 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    They added their own sauce to this Chinese article which is basically nothing more than a description of the AMD slides: http://publish.it168.com/2008/1114/20081114006901.shtml
  8. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    605 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    Oh 65W =(
    I was expecting about 45W for those anyway Q3 is just too far ahead

    LoL
    Well it was a long time ago in fact
    I lost count how many times I built and rebuilt my pc this year :roll:
    I'm sticking with q6600 for now until Phenom x2 shows what it can do :D
    But I also want to build a low energy PC that isn't a turtle... my hope is on the new amd line. :ohwell:
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,469 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,209
    Because theres such a force called Intel, & because Intel keeps slashing their prices. A wise move from AMD - keeping its cards close to its chest. If i were AMD id do exactly the same thing. they have to keep the market competitive
  10. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    The chart does not mention any TDP.

    Tough choice go with 940 or 945 ? AM3 requires new memory (DDR3) wich i do not have.
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    AM3 works on AM2+ boards :toast:
  12. Octavean

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    706 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    I thought Phenom II AM3 version would have both DDR3 and DDR2 MEM controller. If so, wise move on AMD's part IMO especially if AM3 boards support both DDR2 and DDR3. If I were to build a Phenom II platform I would go AM3 with DDR3 or if DDR2 is supported then AM3 with DDR2 (with option to go DDR3). Either way I can just pull a stick of DDR2 or DDR3 from one of my systems to get started.

    So yeah, it would be Phenom II X4 945 for me and I would expect it to be less then my current i7 920 based system,....but OC to the moon ;)
  13. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    993 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    i just wonder if you do use the current AM2+ boards if you need another CPU in order to do the bios update for the phenom2?
  14. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    i sold my mobo, cpu , v.card , even my case and my become patience become end , i can't wait more than month to without pc
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,078 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,375
    so facing the screen the AM3 is on the Left, and AM2+ on the Right or is it the Direction the Screen is Facing AM3 on Right and AM2+ on Left? Because there really isnt much difference in the PGA other than 1 pin being moved from 1 spot to the other.
  16. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    851 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    I'd guess the AM3 is on the right hand of the picture. It has two aditional pins (and we alway need more pins : )

    If they are due out in Jan/Feb retail where is W1zz demo sample ; 0

    I may stand corrected per this I think the AM3 is the Left side of the picture.
  17. techie81

    techie81 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    70 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bay Area
    An AM2+ 3.0 GHz Quad core is looking really tasty!
  18. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I`m interested in those Athlon64 x4 2.5 GHz. In my theory they should be nice buy. Considering that price should be much lower than Phenoms because of less cache and smaller die size knowing that Phenoms don`t benefit much from cache it is not big of a handicap. And hoping that in little time when AMD would perfect their 45nm technology 2.5 athlons would clock ( I Hope) to 4GHz like phenoms.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page