1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

testing crucial ddr problem

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by bodoblues, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. bodoblues New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    2x1g crucial ballistix PC4000, memtest86+, nf7-s, epox 8rda3, foxconn 6150K8MA-8EKRS.
    tested on all. on the nf7-s memtest is full of errors. on foxconn the ram is working flawless when it boots. the system was up even 2 weeks and no problem. sometimes on restart or after shutdown system won't work. I have to change the ram with some other and when I try after few days it boots with crucial. now epox. I do not have xp installed on it, only the cdrom for testing. sometimes the ram passes all tests flawless but after reboot it is again full of errors. I tried all kinds of timings and voltages. even reached 3.3 v on a MSI, which I forgot to mention. ideas, anybody?
     
  2. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    If they work on 2 other boards and then not,is not the Epox or other boards. well it is the memory Crucial has had bad sticks from other sources ( I know it is Micron but they tend to use PCS or something from time to time) Go to Crucial`s web site and request RMA and check there FAQ out and the forum.
     
  3. bodoblues New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    and they will repalce the pc4000 with pc3200. LOL. thanks!
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    if the rams bad, the rams bad. The bad warranty is your problem for buying that brand.
     
  5. JackAttack

    JackAttack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    118 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Uh oh...is that a krappy brand?
    Thats what I bought and now I wonder if I should have researched ram a little more.
    Not that I'm having any problems, just that I am now worried I may HAVE some problems later on based on your statement.
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    its not a crappy brand, but if they're going to swap 500Mhz ram for 400Mhz ram (as said in post #3), then i'd call that crappy warranty service (unless they offered 2GB sticks or something)
     
  7. JackAttack

    JackAttack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    118 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Ahh..got it now. Man, did I get confused here...old age is setting in, I guess.
    Let me apologize as I don't even HAVE Crucial ram (told you I got confused...lol) - I use Corsair Dominator.
    I'm going back to bed and get some sleep.
    Ok, thanks once again Mussels for your help.
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,848 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    have you been in touch with Crucial CC?? & have they told you that they will only ship PC3200's back to you???

    but yeah - its looking pretty bleak as PC4000's arent listed on their site anymore.... If you havent spoke to them yet - I suggest you do so. Crucial are a fairly big player in the memory market & from what i last heard - their service is pretty good & with RMA they have to give you back in item EQUAL or as close to the price you paid.

    but your screwed any way you look at it - their PC3200 sets are only 'value/budget' sets so could be limited on overclocking potential.

    but give them a call anyway - you dont NEED to send your ram back to them unless you want to. their not gonna send a swat team after you if you decide not to take them up on their PC3200 offer.

    .:EDIT:.

    *sigh* the days that I had a set of £20 1Gb modules that could do 250mhz :p @ 2.5-3-3-8 - forgot what that brands called but they were the best PC3200's ever next to my OCZ Platinums & Corsair XM3200 XL's
     
  9. bodoblues New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well this time ur wrong and the services ur talking about are long gone. I have spoked with crucial support and they told me they can only exchange with same amount of mem but not pc4000, pc3200 instead. last night I've contacted them again cose another set was failing and Susan sugested I can receive credit for buying new type of ram. good news I said, I could use some ddr3 on a new board. the bad news are that browsing I've discovered lotsa pages about customers who said the new crucial ram is failing the same way. sometimes after 6 months. and some customers said crucial offered credit half the price of same amount of pc3200. this one I'd like to check. I'll laugh even harder. I'm thinking to change the manufacturer. happy new year everyone!
     
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,848 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    well its your choice - Ive never owned any crucial sticks before so i cant really comment.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page