1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thank You for installing AMD Catalyst Software

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by W1zzard, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,037 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,943
  2. _larry

    _larry

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    224 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    What version? I have been having similar issues, especially with my overclocks on.
     
  3. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    520
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    inb4 people start saying that Nvidia drivers are better.



    Nvidia drivers are better.
     
    SIGSEGV, Zubasa, Mussels and 2 others say thanks.
  4. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    822 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    This is why I prefer nVidia cards; CCC and drivers are always a crap shoot. One version will be fine, the next will cause all kinds of problems, the one after that will fix those problems but introduce a new set, etc., etc. Since I started using nVidia cards exclusively I haven't had a single software or driver issue on the video side. Maybe because I use Intel CPUs/chipsets and they play nicer with nVidia drivers. Hopefully the new AMD cards and firmware will be a step up for them. I'd love to see them exceed nVidia's best offerings and become a competitive force in high-end gaming again.
     
    remixedcat says thanks.
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,037 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,943
    13.9 WHQL, everything stock, same system I've benched like 100 cards on. Fixed after reboot, uninstall Catalyst, reboot, install Catalyst. Just had to lol and wanted to share with you
     
    erixx, Chevalr1c, Flibolito and 2 others say thanks.
  6. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I had similar issue. With 13.4 my new 7870 was working fine with nice OC. Uninstalled and installed 13.9 boom Black Screen of death! thought ok may be something is wrong, restarted and everything worked fine and suddenly at desktop after idle for about 10 minutes, Black Screen again. I thought my 7870 is F'd card! Uninstalled 13.9, reinstalled and behaving good so far for almost 3 days now. Even OCed my 7870 from previous GPU 1100, MEM 1300 @ 1.3v (default 1.25v) to GPU - 1175, MEM 1450 at default voltage. BF3 Multiplayer seems to be much better even on 64p map.
     
  7. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,506 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,122
    Obligatory AMD fan boy comment saying there are no issues with AMD driver (not even with crossfire) and it must be W1zz doing something wrong ;)

    Lol :roll: j/K :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,842 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,473
    The only time I have EVER had issues with AMD/ATI is when it comes to updating drivers on laptops, primarily Toshiba. I have stuck to the tried and true practice of uninstall driver, reboot into safe mode to clean reg of driver info(started with regsupreme back in the day and now use Treexy + CCleaner), reboot back to normal mode, and install drivers.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,951 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,378
    Needs more audio.
     
    erixx and the54thvoid say thanks.
  10. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,472 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,690
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    lol. You sat through that presentation too, didn't ya. Ruined a game of BF3 for me and my mates.
     
  11. Johan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    It gets worse if an eight year old PC installs its NVIDIA drivers like four times faster than your own SSD powered game monster installs its AMD drivers.*

    *That's when they work the first time. Not like the tenth time after several systems restores due to blue screens on boot after installation.

    My sincere apologies for continuing the eternal complaining about AMD software.
     
    remixedcat says thanks.
  12. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    As much as I've always hated CCC, which I STILL can't get to launch any custom game profiles, I've not had any success with RadeonPro either, which is supposed to fix those problems.

    That said, lately I don't see AMD's drivers as being any worse than Nvidia's. They've come a long way in that dept.
     
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,914 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    hey i just reported a problem! the 13.9 drivers dont even contain drivers for my 7790!
     
  14. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    You sure you selected the right driver? The 7790 drivers are listed as separate from the rest of the 7000 series on their driver selector page.

    [​IMG]

    I know some of the 77## series are the only ones that can be used in hybrid Crossfire with their APUs, and I don't know if that's the reason, but obviously they're a different animal.
     
  15. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,080 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,015
    the 13.9 drivers are the shit on my two systems. Improved my 3dmark11 scores and my games seem smoother by far.
     
  16. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469

    nVidia or AMD has their own driver problem so this is only a personal opinion. I don't think one is better than the other one.. I could aswell say that I have no issue with AMD, and my G74sX has alot of driver problem ;)

    @WIzz

    I loled at the picture soo much that i had a couple of colleague at work asking me what was happening haha :D

    Good Screen :D
     
    95Viper says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    822 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
     
  18. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,491 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    500
    AMDee and Nvidiaaaa shareholders are jsut the same as Microsoftttt-hof and Appel-pel s.holders. Global shit rules the world.
     
  19. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,397 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    CZ
    Here's my experience with AMD drivers: No issues because I forget to update them and sit on driver that maybe a a few moths old but 100% functional except for minecraft which ran at 200+ fps on 12.x but on whatever 13.x I have now it's sub 30 FPS :p
     
  20. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    I was gonna say, the video won't work. But the card sounds GRRRREEEAAAT!!!!!

    Seriously though, I hope it gets better Wizard.

    At least someone is trying to run some real benchmarks.
     
  21. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,338 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Now the real question here is did W1zz send Microsoft information to find a solution ... :)
     
  22. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    That's hilarious. :laugh:
     
  23. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,144 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,429
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah i dunno what happens to that but so far AMD driver is kinda drunk, one reason to take nvdia cards
     
  24. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,057 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    Ruby's on the rag
     
  25. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Thats funny as I had the exact same error just the other day on a A8-6600K APU system. I found that it wasnt the driver but a windows update that screwed it up. ad to format start again to fix it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page