1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thar she blows up.....

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Ketxxx, Jul 21, 2006.

  1. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Ok, so the unthinkable has happened. My PC has decided to throw an epishit, and quite possibly even present me with a challenge to resolve as the error could be one of 3 components, what makes it all the harder is these 3 components can all exhibit the same sign I currently have. The point in this thread is largely for reference for anyone who may need it.

    Now some details;

    Problem description: Random restarts & varying BSODs.

    Detailed analysis: With CPU & RAM at stock all is well. Lowering multiplier to 8x or 7x and Increasing FSB to 300MHz results in the random restarts & BSODs. Increasing multiplier to 10x and FSB to 250MHz makes no difference. Unlikely to be a faulty Mainboard as if that were the case, the 50MHz FSB drop should show an increase in stability at least. However the possibility is not ruled out. Due to the FSB change if the CPU memory controller was dying it also should of backed that up, however there was no change, ruling the possibility out of that, however this is still an option. Of particular note is the fact my TCCD even @ stock was unhappy running SPD timings of 2.5-4-4-8 @ DDR400 2.6v. Interestingly adjusting the timings manually to 2-2-2-6 @ DDR400 and increasing Vdimm to 2.8v cured this. Indeed, 2.8v is rather high just for DDR400, especially from TCCD. However, HCI Memtest reports no errors, but SPI 32MB test fails.

    Steps taken thus far: Multiplier & FSB changes, chipset, Vdimm, LDT & Vcore adjustments made. No effect. Varying RAM timing adjustments & switching the modules position, no effect. Applicable DIMM slots tested, functioning. Varying BIOSes tried, no change. Timing adjustments.

    Current working theory: SPD timings pre-programmed to modules has become damaged somehow, or modules have developed a fault which cannot be picked up by conventional means.

    System spec: See drop-down tab

    Next steps: More timing adjustments, moving modules to yellow DIMM slots to varify DIMM slots are not at fault.

    Current mood: Pissed off.

    Thus ends the analysis, for now..
     
  2. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Does your BIOS possess a "Safe Defaults" type of setup in it?

    I'd hazard a guess to try that maybe??

    APK
     
  3. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Been there, done that, didn't do squat. Damn thing. Has to be the oddest problem I've seen in a while, TCCD although it seems fine is still what I'm eyeing as the culprit
     
  4. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    That might be an area to concentrate in, I noted you mention the volts applied... try AUTO?

    APK

    P.S.=>
    I might, so I am paying CLOSE attention here... may learn something, OR something to avoid... as I just did that o/c & the ambient temps outside worldwide are HOT!

    Right now, I am thinking you're in "deep sheet" to be honest my man!

    BUT, I'm not in your guys' league in the "o/c knowledge business" & all that... & what I would have tried by now?

    Is already listed... perhaps the others can "bail" you here, it's not in areas I am strong in, not yet & not w/ today's stuff either (yet) imo.

    GOOD LUCK, hope the others can help you MORE on this end... apk
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2006
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    No such thing as auto on this SLI-D for Vdimm. I get the feeling I will need to RMA my RAM though, again. 2nd time in like 9 months, pitiful. Manufacturer I went with at the time better have a damn good explanation.
     
  6. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Wait out the others' scanning this thread, I saw them here... don't "give up the ghost" yet!

    :)

    HEY (edit part): I saw you say this:

    ANYTHING OF NOTE IN THE EVENTLOGS? How about BSOD msgs...??

    APK

    P.S.=> Any other RAM you can toss in there to test with, even IF lesser type??? apk
     
  7. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    lol they have as much time as it takes me to play around with the RAM timings and switch DIMM slots. Either way I know whatever is at fault its going to be painful on me resulting in a non-functional puter. Likely suspects are CPU, Mainboard, or RAM. So far my moneys on the RAM due to a high Vdimm just for DDR400.
     
  8. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    See my edits & P.S. above...

    :)

    APK
     
  9. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Nope. Before a clean formatand setup (needed it anyway) BSODs were truely random, sometimes it was driver irq not less or equal, other times it was nv4disp.dll, others it could be win32k.dll, bog standard memort dump BSODs, the list goes on...
     
  10. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    My man, this is what spooks me some about o/c'ing as high as I did in this heat!

    Today, earlier?

    LOL, I had some hassles in my setup (where you started helping me & POGE took me rest of the way w/ Tatty One)... weird ones, because they were from F@H, & shot my total units done up to 67, from 45 in 1 day's time (heck, less)!

    And, to be blunt about it? LOL, that's impossible imo... No single machine I have seen to date can pump out 20 units in 1 day!

    Plus, F@H was "HUNG" on 1 instance of it... but, 2nd was fine!

    (Could be glitch in F@H, but never had in 45 units done so far)

    I am leaning to memory instability, & think F@H showed me that (I backed off my timings & such, as you have, & also changed a couple things in Volts area for stability (upping it, not much)).

    So far? Stable... but, that spooks me, ontop of you (one of the top folks in this area here imo so far @ least) having hassles like this!

    APK

    P.S.=> Above all - don't get me wrong:

    I appreciate the help you guys gave me in "teaching the ropes" on memory tightening & overclocks, but it is a risk I know, so I took it (you're NOT responsible & all that, & I am documenting that right now - nobody TWISTED MY ARM to O/C etc.)...

    I just am worried I may end up in a "jam" that way too, you know?

    Anyhow, that said: I backed down large after today's "mishap" (no big deal on that F@H either, but point is there, may be telling me "HEY DUDE - YOU ARE PUSHING TOO FAR" etc.) apk
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2006
  11. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Trust, if theres not a setting I cant tweak or stabalise, somethings physically wrong ;) I know exactly where your coming from though. The error I have is almost like its invisible, the memory tests fine in HCI memtest, yet needs lots of volts and fails SPI 32MB and makes oblivion BSOD like a bitch. I'm gonna try a 166 divider or lower and start cranking the FSB up to rule out the mainboard as a problem for deffinate.
     
  12. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    ARGH!

    We got caught between pages, I had an IMPORTANT edit!

    APK
     
  13. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    EDIT PART - TOO RANDOM on those imo!

    Yup - it's hardware, gotta be. Win32k.DLL iirc, (I will look it up) has something to do w/ memmgt. iirc, brb... back, you SURE it's "Win32K.dll" (hence the bolding above)? Sure it's NOT Win32k.sys or Win32.dll???

    I know that Win32k.sys (handles NtGdi function calls, GDI = graphics display interface) is a video subsystem kernel component, & the fact you have Nv4disp.dll in the mix? Is telling ME @ least, you have video hassles (assuming you misspelled Win32k.sys & put in .DLL instead, I've done that)!

    APK

    P.S.=> Stupid, I know, considering you're leaning to RAM which makes sense, as you've seen it before etc. with this type of RAM!

    ON THE RAM NOTE - do you have other RAM you can test with, even if LESSER grade?

    Still... since you just redid this rig?

    What version of the video drivers are in there?? Latest, or "Stock OEM/MS" ones etc. (doubt this, I don't think they HAVE nvdisp.dll)... apk
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2006
  14. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I'd say deffinately memory thus far as even on the clean format I got a memory dump BSOD and flat out restarts. I'm running a divder atm anyway, so we will soon know for sure if the memory is at fault ;)
     
  15. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Hope you're right, but DO see above again (I edited it like heck)...

    APK

    P.S.=> Some questions in it is all... apk
     
  16. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Current vid drivers are 91.33, latest. I don't have spare RAM atm either, hence why I've thrown a 100MHz divider at the RAM ;) BSODs and restarts I got before formatting occurred nomatter the drivers I used chipset or VC. So the more I think about it it looks like the RAM is up the pisser again.
     
  17. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Cool, cool... it's just that it's EASY to do a misspell on similarly named files, give you a CLASSIC from today no less:

    A guy came in here today complaining about system memory being eaten up, so I had him "Breakdown" the memory listed in taskmgr.exe per module listed, right?

    He tells me, SYSTEM is eating stuff up (so, we have to break out its modules, & only way I know of to do this, is either tasklist.exe (charmode/tty/console/DOS mode app) OR processexplorer.exe from SysInternals (GUI))... @ a 20,000k rate!

    Mine shows 236k by comparison... so, something's up, right??

    Heh, then... he mentions ccapp.exe & I think "Oh, yea, it's NAV acting up" as ccapp.exe is a component of it.

    I figure & asked, "You sure about the spelling" because it happens & I don't bust folks on that, this is just forums, not your resume OR your "last will & testament" lol, right?

    Well, turns out? CCCAPP.EXE is a KNOWN VIRUS/TROJAN!

    Guy's most likely "BUGGED" imo... but, see how close spellings can throw you?

    APK

    P.S.=> See here:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=14642&page=2

    EDIT PART - Man, this is f'd up... maybe, just maybe, I misread it... but now, I saw he did write ccapp.exe! wtf...?

    apk
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2006
  18. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    yeah i get that a lot when folk come to me, its kinda annoying but u cant help but laugh and think "dozy twit" :D
     
  19. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Ah, he just doesn't know that is all, and HE MAY HAVE ACTUALLY MISSPELLED IT, or I misread it today it's possible (see above edit, lol)!

    :)

    STILL - WE don't know, as he has not replied!

    Plus, he didn't give us much in the way of specifics either...

    (& that's OK by me, means he is new to it is all... I was once too!)

    APK

    P.S.=> Put it THIS way, we still don't know what's up w/ him yet... I have to wait that one out... apk
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2006
  20. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    jus noticed the link, ill drop by it if i dont forget, jus its late now goin on 5am :O
     
  21. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    At this point man, I am truly sorry, but I think you've exhausted me!

    (& w/out RAM to test over there, even lesser stuff? Well, I hope you are "dead on" via YOUR type of testing, because that's currently OUT OF MY SCOPE of RAM know-how!)

    Sorry man & GOOD LUCK!

    APK
     
  22. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Its cool man. There are times where just talking helps put things into more perspective and suddenly things are laid out clearer ;)
     
  23. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Ketxxx......I haven't seen It mentioned yet.....Have you looked at the Volt rails on the PSU yet?.....If the lines are dropping....then that would give you random restarts...and Blue screens as well...also...have you checked the Outlet your pulling power from yet?

    Just a few thoughts.
     
  24. elixxx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    71 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sweden
    You do have an old Winchester CPU, from own experience the winchester core suxx bigtime!

    The lower models of the winnie i hade eg: the 3000+ and the 3200+ wasent any good overklockers.

    IF they clocked good it wasent 1:1 FSB to RAM values , dropping down the deviders to 133-166 sure made a big diffrence.

    The memory controllers in the winnie har just to weak for 1:1 overklocks ( OKOK some exeptions sure)

    My tip are pick up an venice 3200 or 3500+ they are so cheep these days.:wtf:
     
  25. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Rails are perfect, and my Winchester clocks good, up to DDR650 1:1 :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page