1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

That's it , I've had it with the control panel window

Discussion in 'General Software' started by RuskiSnajper, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    How the heck can i make the control panel window STATIONARY and remembering it's position and shape and that it's ALWAYS mixing the items around and it's just a big pile of crap how can i rename all of the , i want FULL Customization of everything , i will rename and place WHERE I FUCKING WANT - I AM ALWAYS SEARCHING FOR 10 mIN and it's really reallyyyyyy anoying.

    This is SO annoying win7 M$ does it again Ahhhh¨!!¨!!!!!!


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2011
  2. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Are you speaking of your desktop?
     
    mad1394 says thanks.
  3. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,213 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,388
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    I suppose so
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Reload the thread
     
  5. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,251 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    I got annoyed by not finding Add/Remove Program in that view mode - In XP it was easier so I started to use Win7 Control Panel in "view by" category - made things a little easier but not perfect.
     
  6. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,213 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,388
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    myeah, MS always treats us like that... And then they have such a slogan here in Holland-land., Windows 7 works the way you want it to. Yeah right... :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Protip: if you know what your looking for, just use the dam search bar at the top right.

    Will find it like that *clicks fingers*
     
    RuskiSnajper says thanks.
  8. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,251 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    True another way - never thought about that..
     
  9. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    clicking where it should be beats being bothered to type.
     
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,596 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,519
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Vista/7, in many ways, is fail. Get used to it because it is still better than the alternative (Linux/Mac OS X).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,277 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,562
    those icons are always in alphabetical order. it resizes to fit based on the window size, so if thats changing, then you're changing the size.


    either you're resizing the window before closing it (and therefore, it opens at that size next time) or you have some kind of cleanup program (such as Ccleaner) wiping windows list of window positions and sizes.



    by default, windows 7 does not resize your windows on you, OR reorganise the control panels icons in anything but alphabetical order.
     
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Multiple mouse clicks vs 1 mouse-click and typically 2 key presses : ] ( first two letters are normally enough)


    Honestly it's fast as hell and far quicker than "looking" for something with your eyes.

    It also has no learning curve where as manually looking requires you to learn where items are in order for it to be efficient.


    Anyway we should all be gamers on this forum should be able to bust out keystrokes like no ones business :laugh:



    For example, try and find a word in a web browser manually, then try ctrl+f and start typing. I bet the later will find it faster every-time XD ( I know a bit of a different scenario but just to illustrate just how much better your computer is than you at finding stuff)
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,277 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,562
    in win7 you dont even need to search in the control panel, you can search in the start menu and it finds them.


    easy example

    [​IMG]
     
    CrAsHnBuRnXp and 95Viper say thanks.
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Aye, works rather well, check this out, even opened paint using it.

    The more you use the search the better it becomes as well : ]

    A lot of stuff I use a lot I literally do first two letters and hit enter and it will open it for me.

    (darksiders and stalker)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    If there are particular items that you use regularly, you could make them shortcuts on your desktop and avoid the control panel window completely.

    Additionally, you could get a program like Fences, create shortcuts and put them in a "Fence" that will stay put on your screen.
     
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    If someone really wanted to they could make their own control panel using short cuts, like recreate the old style one.

    Lot of effort though just to be use something your used to rather than learning a new way.
     
  17. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    True, Panth, and I 'm not sure why Ruski accesses the CP a lot anyway.
    The only time I really use it is to change power settings, like if I don't want my computer to go to sleep during a long download or something.
    For me it's basically set and forget.
     
  18. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,251 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Some programs dont add a shortcut to uninstall them in the start menu and force you to use the CP for example - another problem, at least with me, is that I use 7 kinda I did use XP out of some programmed refexes. Many tips in this thread were new to me :)
     
  19. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I search in the start bar, and I also use toolbars for my common places:
     

    Attached Files:

    Laurijan says thanks.
  20. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,251 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    That would be a great way to add essential system control apps without the need of going to shortcuts on the desktop which would force you to minimize some windows.
    And you dont need any search first or something.
    It actually such a good tip that I will do it right now - thx!
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  21. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I couldn't live without it man; I haven't clicked "My Computer" in weeks!!
     
  22. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,251 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    [​IMG]
    Thats the best way of doing it - yeah!
     
  23. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
  24. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,251 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Its kinda tricky but I try to explain:

    1) Make shortcuts of the stuff inside the control panel to the desktop. Just drag the icons to desktop

    2) Make an empty folder on the desktop - name it how you like the toolbar one to appear

    3) Right-click the toolbar in an empty space and in the drop down menu that you will see go to "Toolbars" - there select "New Toolbar..." and lastly select the newly created folder where the shortcuts are.

    LOL Windows is so complicated!
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  25. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Doesn't 7 have some built in voice recognition features? You could always go that route.
    (I could be completely wrong. lol)

    Kreij: Computer, open control panel.
    Computer : Acess Denied.
    Kreij : Why?
    Computer : I'm having a bad day.
    Kreij : WTF?
    Computer : Formatting c:\
     
    scaminatrix and Laurijan say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page