1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

That's it , I've had it with the control panel window

Discussion in 'General Software' started by RuskiSnajper, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Yeah thats how Win7 sometimes feels like - really - lol
  2. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,576 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Nicely done!
    There's a little workaround Ruski. Stays in alphabetical order, and won't resize. I'm just going to remove the ones I don't usually use and it's sorted.
    Cheers Laurijan.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 27, 2011
    RuskiSnajper says thanks.
  3. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,602 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    No , i have window lists and sizes enabled and confirmed in registery so it remembers a lot of folders.


    It's just the control panel that's buggy , and not managin just my own PC.

    Big points are, not used to the namings, the control panel is laggy searching for these icons like a search (not preloaded) so it always shfts the icons a bit after it fully opens(annoying) , and then also the items are not in the same place from a computer to another.

    Im really fast at PC since i have a lot to do and this is so time consuming.

    I just didn't made customizations before, but i am going now , and thanks for additional ideas.


    Also , i want to research the items that are in control panel via registery and find the enums so they can be renamed.
  4. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    800 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    At least the Mac OS X System Preferences is way more intuitive and 100 times easier to find what you are looking for at a glance. It always pains me to open up the Windows control panels as it's such a mess and Microsoft seems to change the names of the items and location of options with each new OS release.

    Better? LOL.
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    it doesnt work with aussie accents, i have to impersonate tea and crumpets in order for it to work at all.
  6. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    This just gave me a thought. If we're all searching for stuff and having to keep our hands on the KB, why don't we move back to a command line?
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  7. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,581 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    California
    If it's something i use a lot, i make shortcuts.

    If it's something i don't use a lot, i use the search bar on Start menu - super fast.

    Press Start key on my keyboard and start typing... It's that easy and fast.
  8. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,340 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,056
    Location:
    Hell
    I personally use that godmod thingy for win7. It's ok
  9. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,602 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    i have shortcuts and godmode, but i just didn't do shortcuts for control panel , since win7 there's a lot new possible , i just didn't think of it , i didn't realized it was possible , but i was more resisting to fix it , but now that' i have too much this will be dealth with.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page