1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. madmanjohn

    madmanjohn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    midwestern IL-WI stateline area
    those of you looking, tried three mobos with the gx790 sb 750 combo- asus msi & biostar.
    for what i do i need stability and i still favor biostar. the ta790gx 128m is a super stable and ive oc'd my 9850 to 3.1 stable boot and run on plain air with no problems anywhere.

    but if budget was not an issue and i was building a clocker- id build a DFI. ive seen two that a friend of mine had and they are a cut above the rest.;) just straight awesome boards, and well constructed boards, fiber not resin boards. theres a big difference, 95% of virtually all mobos are built on resin boards and wont take as much heat or BS.

    the 780 and sb 700 combination runs hot- real hot for no good reason, and the drive handling is not as good - cant speak for any raid, cant run raid. make sure if you are going to run the 790gx that you also run the sb750. cant remember who posted that besides me but ill back it up.

    nice build shadowfold :toast: - ill be watching for more
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  2. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,846 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    Location:
    Texas

    NICE!!! :toast: Look forward to seeing some clocks tomorrow. :D Congrats.

    @shadow: If you have the funds, I would recommend the DFI 790FXb-M2RSH, this board is amazing, and the stock NB/Mosfet cooler is pretty good. Unless you want DDR3, but I still would recomment the DFI. (the M4A79 is awesome too though.)
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  3. Assassin48

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,459 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    Ill do a review on the Asus M4A79t DDR3 board in the next week or so before i do my dice run
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    D9JNL same as mine
     
    SparkyJJO and fullinfusion say thanks.
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,635 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,408
    since the M3A79-T dont like 4x1gb 1066MHz sticks installed, I picked up 2x2gb OCZ 1066MHz Reapers.... anyone recommend how to burn these sticks in....? before i resort back to the 3.88GHz clock?
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    set the voltage to 2.2v and the clocks to 1200 5-5-5-15 and hope it boots back up
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,635 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,408
    how about these.... 2x2GB DDR2-1066 kit. OCZ2RPR10664GK
    D9's or not ?
     
  8. Master}{

    Master}{ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    280 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    Fedex knows my package hasnt been delivered to me yet, and that its behind schedule, but not 1 of the 3 people i spoke to knows what happenned to it, where it is, or what exactly is going on.....

    so much for my waterblock....... Fedex is now worse off on my list then DAMN UPS, UPS never lost my stuff it was just late.....

    FEDEX FTLoser
     
  9. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,314 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    How's this looking? Was finally able to change my FSB from 200, my keyboard numbers were not working in the BIOS screens. Changed KB and works perfect. System hangs on boot with 250 FSB any suggestions?
    [​IMG]
     
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    either elpidia or PSC
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Use the multiplier :p
     
  12. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,314 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Keep the FSB at 245 and bump the multi?
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea, why would you mess with the bus in the first place? Memory speed?
     
  14. Master}{

    Master}{ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    280 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    your on the border of needing more Vcore in my experience

    250 x 14.5 = 3625 mhz i need 1.4-1.425 to get there.
     
  15. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,314 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    For the most part yes. I can get 3.7GHz with a 200 FSB and uping the multi. Thought I would give a FSB oc a shot.
     
  16. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,314 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Thats what I though.
    Edit: sorry double post.. :slap:
     
  17. SparkyJJO

    SparkyJJO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Awesome, so good stuff then. Not bad for a 4GB kit that only costs 65 bucks :cool:
     
  18. Master}{

    Master}{ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    280 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    what happenned to xtremesystems.org

    someone hack it or someone fail a voltmod on the server?
     
  19. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,635 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,408
    I see that the DC mode is now Ganged..... the tracers were unganged when set to auto for ganged mode... The setting is still on auto but dc mode is ganged, whys that?
    also should i ungang the memory?
     
  20. Assassin48

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,459 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    What i heard there was that power went out and messed up the server so the owner got a new one
     
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    OKOKOKOK. I'm gonna go find my USB drive and downgrade my bios. If I get the 4th core, I can break 10k in 3dmark Vantage. I'm sitting at 9.8k right now.
     
  22. Assassin48

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,459 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    Did you OC the video card?

    have you used AMD FUSION?
     
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  24. Assassin48

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,459 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
  25. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Nope just 1.6. The only bad thing I can see hapening with 1.0 is my overclock will suck. But I will only need like 3ghz for 10k. The cores make a huge difference.

    Actually I will try 1.1
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page