1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Ev1l_HAF

    Ev1l_HAF New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    NYC
    Ok so i have a AMD Phenom X4 9950 Black Edition is there a club for that?
     
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    If you search by threads I have started there is a thread for 9950's. It's not a club but it's got tons of info once the thread is revived I'm sure it'll get active again. I'm on the phone if not I would link you to it.
     
  3. Ev1l_HAF

    Ev1l_HAF New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    NYC
    thanks i can look for it
     
  4. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    There is also the original Phenom Overclocking/Undervolting thread which you can find with a quick search in the 'Overclocking' forum. Couple that with the thread CP started, and you'll have more information than any one person should ever need lol.

    Kei
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I just slapped myself for not remembering that thread. Basically almost same CPU so both threads combined will make you go insane if you haven't already.
     
  6. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Let me fix this up for you. ;)

    There fixed ;).

    FrontSide Bus is an intel term, hence it does not apply to AMD's. However, the reference clocks function is similar to the FSB.
    It's basically a different name for something that has a very similar purpose. It's the difference between potato (po.tae.toe) and potato (po.tah.toe).

    I've gotten somewhat decent at figuring out RAM timings and such. So far my formulae have not failed me. I must say that AM3 has opened my eyes to it more. On my 939's it was somewhat straightforward, and really overclocking the RAM, unless you could get it to DDR 500, was kind of a waste of time for very little benefit. AM3 on the other hand shows considerably more improvement from overclocking its RAM.
     
    jjFarking says thanks.
  7. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,084 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,654
    Cherry Picked Engineering Sample it sounds like, then a board that is no frills meaning less power draw, and probably a Modified bios out the ass.
     
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Not necessarily, it ain't the first one that does that.




    on the other hand, I just got my Corsair H50, woot woot :toast:
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    No benches at that speed tho?
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,832 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    Is anyone here running a 955 c3?
     
  12. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    biostar boards clock like mad its been proven time and time again. they just don't hold up that great sadly :( but that is a nice clock
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm running a 965 C3. I have a 955 C3 still in the box, but it's on it's way to System Viper tomorrow.
     
  14. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I did say that it was 'for all intents and purposes', meaning that it isn't quite the correct term, but it's what most people remember.
    It's just a bus speed, of course ;)

    I just wish AMD was a little clearer on the subject & explain once & for all the proper relationship between the various buses & what they affect.

    Would you happen to have a link to something a little more up-to-date than the old white papers I referred to?
    It's annoying when trying to glean correct info, when the only info I can rely on is a little out-of-date :p

    Cheers mate :toast:

    EDIT:
    I might add that the continuing incorrect use of 'FSB', would have to be, in part at least, blamed on the mobo/BIOS manufacturers, as they continue to use this terminology, even when it's not at all applicable.
    :p
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
    Kei and BlackOmega say thanks.
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Results so far with the H50 installed.

    For now the max load temps while crunching are about the same at 47-48ºc. However I had the case opened with the Megashadow, with the H50 case is closed. Tomorrow I'll try to swap rotation of the fan out and see how I get better results. Right now I have it blowing in. I'll keep you guys posted.


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
    Kei says thanks.
  16. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I knew what you meant ;).
    I'll have to see if I can find the info I searched to gather all of that. But you're absolutely right, AMD is very ambiguous about the buses or even why the reference clock stock is 200. For all I could tell, they just liked the number.

    From what I gather about the ref clock is that it's sole purpose is exactly that. A set number that all of the other pieces (CPU, GPU, etc) use to reference and keep in sync with the rest of the system.

    And you're totally right about the BIOSes, the BIOS on my board (790FX-GD70) has certain voltage options like CPU PLL voltage. It gives a formula of how to obtain this number which is something like .5 RAM voltage + CPU VDDQ voltage but no more than x. Well that's great and all but there is no CPU VDDQ voltage. (It might not be VDDQ, I'll have to check to verify). So I'm still like :confused: wtf is this? Then when looking over some intel overclocking I see that this is a voltage setting commonly adjusted. Yet this is the first I've seen it on an AMD board. But then agian this is my first AM3 board.

    SLightly OT here but look at this.
     
    jjFarking says thanks.
  17. mR Yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    222 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I am. I can easily get the CPU to boot into windows over 4ghz but can't get the system stable under stress testing situations. I still don't know all the settings on my mobo (M4A79T Delux).
     
  18. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    lol same thing here, i'm finding though without load line calibration getting over 4 ghz is gonna be near impossible for me, i shouldn't have cheaped out and got the m4a, and got the crosshair instead, the vdroop on this board is just effin insane.
     
  19. mR Yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    222 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Are u running stable @ 4ghz (profile says u are running @ 4ghz) under stress testing?
    If so, would u mind sharing settings?

    Thanx
     
  20. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo

    I never knew you had to sell the i7 980x .. it must be very strong for the price..hehe
     
  21. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    So.. are you still getting the Obsidian?
    Despite its sharp corners, I'm actually starting to get won over by its possibilities.
    Sure as hell beats the Element S in every way :nutkick:

    Also, why aren't you running 2x 120mm fans on that rad?
    Space constraints perhaps?
    Not required maybe?
    :toast:

    EDIT: very tidy looking mate :toast:
     
  22. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    It's an engineering sample, which means it's créme de la créme in virtually every aspect.
    It would be awesome, though the price asked is a little .. steep ;)
     
  23. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,353 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,143
    Gee I been away for a while, didnt expect the H50. Looks good though. How does the block mount?
     
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Thanks man, I will get the obsidian later down the road , yes.

    I had no timeast night, today I will try to test different fan configurations. I'll keep you'll posted.
    thanks man, I got my taxes ahead of time :) so I went for it. The pump mounts super easy, what gave me some trouble was the backplate, I think the screws that bolt up to it were not threaded correctly. However I got it to work. :toast:
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  25. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,353 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,143
    Hey bro dont it mount to the stock rear plate?

    obsidian? who said that? damm you ppl!

    also to Kei! your a bastard lol... Im running stock cpu clocks to see how low I can low volt the cpu. I however refuse to run and NB lower than 2600MHz... The nb is running 1.20v (for now) and the cpu the same, the memory is pumping @1600MHz @ 1.60v 1T 7.7.6.15.25.... so far it passes Intel burn test :cool:
    I find running stock cpu clocks to be just as fast as an o/c'd cpu for a 24/7 rig.... :nutkick:
    Well you did it! you rubbed your low volt crap on me after all lol!!!!
    I guess that makes us even for the H2o shit hey bro lol!:p
     
    Kei says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page