1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    how much nb? if its too much, i cant guarantee, to reach the 1600mhz completely
    (not very strong imc), but with supposedly slightly better timings!
    :eek:
    EDIT: i post my actual now,first
    REDIT: the values are messed up, i post a cpu-z also
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    2600 NB for me on that run I just posted.
  3. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    now my actual, its much faster than my old settings

    how fast are your super pi 1m and 2m calcs?
    my linx also reports much lower flops than yours!

    EDIT: correct pic now
    higher latency with that timing? obscure?

    Attached Files:

    • pc.jpg
      pc.jpg
      File size:
      208 KB
      Views:
      75
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2010
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Maybe the lack of memory speed as compared to mine affects your L3 a bit????? I don't know dude.
  5. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    as said, its much faster with lower timings... i will try to make another pic with higher memory clock today, to show it to you:)
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Sounds good man :toast:
  7. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I can tell you when using windows these AMD chips are quicker. The may not be faster at burning a dvd or other tasks but in windows they are faster. I'm not sure why maybe the memory controller or chipset instructions, but they are snappier.
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    So far so good.....

    [​IMG]
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Trt, that's th same thing I noticed, they feel so snappier. I personally think that AMD's Hyper transport and the way they communicate with the mem and NB and stuff is a much better design than Intels. That's just my two cents.

    @jr. I'm happy for you bro, imma try to send you that ram today bro.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ok now how do I unlock this puppy? I set in bios ACC to Auto but no change. Maybe a bios downdate?

    EDIT:

    Noticed I'm on F4, the first bios release. Hmmmm ...
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'll let some body chip in on that
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No problem CP.

    [​IMG]

    Does everything here look on par to you considering I'm on stock air @ 3Ghz? Currently crunching.
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    What are you cooling it with? Temps are ok though. Max safe is 55.
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Stock air bro.
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That's not bad. :)
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Thanx man. Still a no go, I've tried all options in ACC. Hmmmm ....
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I don't think all of them unlock though, do you know?
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Updated to F5 bios, switched it over to Hybrid EC Firmware from normal. No Windows load, but it did unlock to quad although no proof due to no windows boot.
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Hmmm you getting closer, at least it unlocks.
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    O btw CP, I was playin Dirt 2 today, didn't change any settings and it played the same. So in theory i'm matching performance of the quad + GTS in gaming.


    EDIT:

    Unlocking was a no go, attempted a few things.
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2010
  21. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  22. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    That's a really pretty box. :D

    250 HT is yawn inducingly easy to hit on Phenom II as long as your board as above garbage level...aka even a budget board will go higher than 250. My Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P $80 budget board tops 330 HT on problem without raising voltage. :cool:

    Kei
  23. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    with a quad because they can be harder
  24. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    I'm using a quad....PII 955 C2. I've seen higher than 370 HT with Phenom II's before, and that was a lock multiplier model.

    I have absolutely no doubt that you'll be able to hit 250 HT as long as you're using at least a decent board.

    Kei
    trt740 says thanks.
  25. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    [​IMG]

    Is good Phenom II x3@x4..As he speaks Turbo V 3.2Ghz

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page