1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  2. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    @JR doesn't look bad.I would try to go higher on the clocks. I wouldn't stop till atleast 3.5ghz
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Sweet temps JR :toast:

    I'm liking the voltage as well that is showing (1.26v), can you go any lower than that and still be stable? I'm not sure how low the Tri cores can hit when overclocked, but I know my X4 955 can do the stock 3.2Ghz @ 1.168v fully torture test stable.

    Then again you're does start from a lower clock speed, so it might need just a little more voltage than I would...and as usual every unit is different. :)

    Kei
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Thx jj & pos

    I'm still working on a higher 24.7 clock. Although 3.2Ghz just feels fast and very snappy. Think I will attempt to push further via htt speed.

    @Kei

    Haven't really attempted to lower vcore much more than that. Hmmmm ...
     
    Kei says thanks.
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    good luck JR and keep us updated.I'm sure if you got a decent chip 3.6ghz on~1.35v would be possible for 24/7
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    look at this result Phenom II 720BE x3@x4
    good?

    [​IMG]

    comment :D Cooler stock
     
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    very very nice Hunt3r, wish I had the bonus core. But I love this chip so far.
    [​IMG]
     
    Kei and p_o_s_pc say thanks.
  8. facepunch

    facepunch New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    here you go on water :rockout:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    see thats more like it i popped 4062mhz on mine (not stable) and 3.7ghz stable on mine way back in the day before i killed the damn thing
     
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Hearing that scares me a little. How did you kill it?
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    left the cpu@ stock volts and pushed 3.5v thru the memory controller on some D9DCD
     
  12. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I don't see any problems with that voltage at all.
     
  14. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    My memories are 1333Mhz wanted to put them to 1600Mhz most do not know the move latencies .. you know?
     
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Im currently working on 1333->1600 as well. What timings are you currently at? Oh and don't go above 1.75v on AM3 just to play safe.

    EDIT:

    Just upped my ram, here's where I am at with 1.7v ...

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2010
  16. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    he is on "auto" BIOS
     

    Attached Files:

    • look.jpg
      look.jpg
      File size:
      107.6 KB
      Views:
      75
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yup, try out my timings above with 1.7v.
     
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, IMC's tend not to like that too much. lol.
     
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    issue was the difference need to crank everything if you plan on pushing 3.5v thru the IMC cpu at 1.7v could handle it just fine
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I know. It's been that way with IMC's from the beginning. IMC death was way more common in the DDR days tho, because of their much higher voltage needs.
     
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    my issue is phenom II have a 32nm IMC instead of a 45nm one when i tossed the ram on a 90nm new orleans chip i hit the same volt/clock without an issue
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I know (about the IMC process that is). I'm confused why you keep addressing me tho? I'm not disagreeing with you.
     
  23. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    where do you attain such knowledge? Reading thru each technical documentation,AMD released?:laugh:
     
  24. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    4gh´z

    [​IMG]

    might go for 4+ ghz tonight, should be able to do 4.1-4.2 below 1.5v, and dont mind the wrong voltage on cpu-z, it always fucks with me somehow
     
    Kei says thanks.
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Awesome, you are inspiring me :laugh:
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page