1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,800 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Nice Asus board. Nothing wrong with integrated graphics for now and good price too. Also DDR3 memory has gone way down for Dual-Channel AMD Phenom cores. I've spotted a nice set of OCZ Platinum DDR3-1600 4GB (2GB x 2) at 7-7-7 timings for a nice $140 Cad which would be much cheaper in US $$$. Not bad at all. Triple Channel DDR3 is a different story and way overpriced.
     
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    say hello to my new mobo


    thanks you shadowfold for finding that beast
     
  3. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    well... what are the odds of this... i don't dual boot, so i had to completely uninstall and then reinstall my os to test this.. but my 4gb kit of g.skill works fine in 32bit windows.. and not in 64 bit windows??

    can anybody point to anthing other then creative drivers that could cause this.. did i do something wrong??
     
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Memory Hole Remap in the BIOS?
     
  5. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
  6. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    tried that...
     
  7. MAGMADIVER

    MAGMADIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    254 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    FT. LEWIS
    not too bad of a motherboard Kei...are you going to get it?... I just upgraded my system from a 4870 to a 4870 X2 let me say that it is quite lovely... (getting giddy just sitting near my rig):pimp: bits and bobs.jpg
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2009
  9. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
  10. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
  11. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    fellas, I just read in a review the max recommended voltage on air for a Phenom II is 1.55v can anyone confirm this and if so these chips must be made of some stern stuff.
     
  12. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    Ive never had mine over 3.8 @ 1.5 and 1.5 temps are still in the mid-high 30s haven't tried 1.55 though.
     
  13. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    1.55v is the max recommended for a GOOD air cooling setup.
     
  14. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    What about a good water setup?
     
  15. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    That I'm not sure of. cdawall knows the answer to that one, where you at cdawall!
     
  16. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,800 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    A little more higher I assume with the added benefit of cooler running CPU.
    Also for that Gigabyte board the only thing I like about it is the extra expansion slot along with dual Gigabyte ethernet's. Other than that, the ASUS smokes it out of the water.
     
  17. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,800 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Kei says thanks.
  18. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    something about being in school :p

    1.6v 24/7 was what i ran on my 945ES
     
  20. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,033
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Please remember guys, that heat really isn't the concern with these chips. They will stay relatively cool at 1.6v with good air. The issue is electron migration. Voltage can kill these chips without overheating, and it's still too early in the game to know the threshold for the Phenom II.
     
  21. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    1.55v is supposedly from AMD
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    You beat me to the punch. I have my serious doubts about 1.55V or more being safe on these for 24/7, as every chip from K8 till now were only safe up to 1.5V. Factor in that electron migration usually gets worse on a smaller process, not better, and 1.55 just doesn't make sense to me.
     
  23. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    i run 1.52 at 3.85 and i hit 56 in a 23c room... i wish it wasn't so, i've got a lapped thermalright ultra120 extreme and 2 panaflo fans and i still can't keep it cool while priming... usually hit 57 tops, i'm treading dangerously close to the 60c mark, when gaming it never goes above 48
     
  24. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    could be but maybe it engineered with that in mind
     
  25. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page