1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,595 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    London
    The vdroop (or is it vdrop) on my board is around 0.8v.

    Attached Files:

  2. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,115 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    Have you tried changing the render ahead back to 3 to make sure it wasn't that, that was causing the problem?
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  3. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    0.8Vdroop is a bit you sure it's not 0.08 or 0.008
  4. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    621 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    vCore you mean ? Have set it few weeks ago to 1.3750v for 3.7GHz, yesterday set it to 1.3875v - 3.8GHz this time. Mind you - the cooling for CPU is stock AMD's HSF & the ambient temp in room is less then 20C. On Monday (Jan 10) is salary day & i'll have enough ca$h for VenomousX + something else.

    While @ it : how did you set your NB/HT voltages/frequencies ? Thinking bout setting CPU/NB frequency to 2200MHz & HT to 2400/2600MHz, just need to know how high to set voltages to both respectively. :rockout:
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    up cpu nb not the HT
    upping HT speed does absolutely nothing it might help stability wise but litterally its a .0001% difference where as the NB speed is easily felt

    try and keep your ram at half your NB speed with tight timings so that your more likely to have memory read speeds and L3 cache read speeds end up being equal

    2600nb = 1300mhz ram try for CL7 at those speeds 2800nb = 1400mhz ram so on and so forth very few can hit 3000nb on 965 the X6 cpus are more likely to hit that speed.
  6. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,595 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    London
    You're right, it's 0.08v
    What I mean is that the cpu voltage drops a lot on this board; for example if I set 1.57 in the BIOS, it's 1.55 idle on Windows and 1.49 while on load (prime95 and OCCT)
    I leave HT frequency at 2000 as if you increase it you lose performance (at least in some benchmarks) CPU/NB 2600 (can't go higher) with 1.25
    I didn't know this but that's what I have.
  7. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Did I up the right vid settings for this overclock?Also how is my temps look for an air cooler?
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  8. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,595 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    London
    Is that your load voltage? If so that's a great overclock. Try to keep the HT around the 2000 mark as it doesn't give any performance when overclock. EDIT: I'm starting to think that I got a bad chip.
  9. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    :laugh:
    Yes :laugh: and it wasn't.
  10. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    yep but it crashes at the cpu test in 3dmark11 will try the HT 2000 and up my volt on the cpu.
  11. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,595 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    London
    It was too good to be true.
  12. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Yeah silly thing will post at 20x=4.0 gihz at 1.45v but needs 1.50v and the NBVid needs 1.25v and the HTvid needed 1.26v for it to do a 3dmark run with the memory at 2600 mhz:shadedshu.Scored 8015 so those volts not worth it.:banghead:
  13. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,595 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    London
    It seems that from 3.8ghz for every 100mhz it needs 0.05v; mine does 3.9ghz with 1.47 (load) but to do 4.0ghz it needs more than 1.52v. As we said earlier, don't bother with the HT, leave it manually at 2000mhz and the voltage on auto, that's one setting less to worry about.
  14. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    621 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
  15. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,034 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Im not sure I understand your question :confused:
    ht.. leave it at 2000mhz if you like. if not raise it up a bit. There is really no noticeable difference raising it. Nb? have you tried to go higher under stock nb volts?
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    most C3 denebs can do 2600-2800 on stock NB volts

    as for HT link i hit 3450mhz on reasonable volts it doesn't help much and just causes stability issues when you clock way up...i guess under xfireX you may see some bandwidth in there....

    [​IMG]
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  17. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,034 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Lol, leave it to you to blow it outta the water CD :toast: nice run and Im thinking Ima going to try matching ht to the nb
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    good luck its DICE
  19. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,034 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    my HT is at 2739+ mhz and that's high as it goes... Mem NB clocks higher but not HT. WTH? :wtf:
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    hmm my 1090T hit 3ghz from what i remember on water... maybe its the mobo
  21. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    621 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    By OV i mean overvolt. How high i need to overvolt (if needed) the NB/HT ? Or just leave it @ Auto ? vCore is @ 1.3875v, NB frequency is @ 2400MHz, HT @ 2000MHz & NB/HT voltage ? That's all i ask. Thanx.
  22. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    You should set the CPU-NB volts to anything between stock and 1.45.... what value is gonna give biggest benefit to you, is to be self tested. mine liked 1.3375 for example ;)

    [​IMG]
    YautjaLord says thanks.
  23. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,519 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    hey guys. i got this old pentium cooler from 1992
    bought it at 30cents

    [​IMG]
    its got the stock fan on it. i brought it back to its best form. cools pretty well. so i was wondering if this would be better than the stock chipset cooler on my ASUS M4A785D-M PRO mobo?
    [​IMG]


    if not you have any other ideas?
  24. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    621 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Thanx. Will do it right now actually.

    Yeah, i'll get to that choppah too. :laugh: Where did you got this pic ? :)
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page