1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Can you get it over 4GHz?
  2. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    oh hell yea i was at 4.2ghz last night 1.4750v stable for 2 hrs and something i bet i could even run a lower vcore, go back a page i posted my results chicken
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    hit over 4.5ghz and i will be impressed infared on XS's has gone that far on air
  4. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    4.4ghz nor 4.5ghz wont go, has o be the board or max of cpu, ill find out when i make it a dual core 4.5ghz if the same results the then i will know if its the board or cpu
  5. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    working on 4.3ghz as we speak as a quad core 1.5250v
  6. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    this does not seem right 22c as a dual core 4500mhz idle
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    It's impossible unless you are really cold in your room right now. Add 10-12c at least.
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    10-12C until you hit 50C then it is closer to correct 62C is exactly correct on them per AMD
  9. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    I finally got over 3.9GHz stable, 3.984MHz exactly, leaving the multiplier on auto. Not bad after trying for 9 months. :)
  10. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    i only had this phenom II 555 for a few days 4.2ghz x4 24/7
  11. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Must relatively golden, as till today, i only was able to validate that on my 955... and that after months of tweaking, on a Killer loop :laugh:
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    Huge difference between you c2 chip and his c3 chip. Mine on a killer loop did about the same as yours but with 4.1 stable. Downside the these new c3 chips is the imc cannot hold a candle to yours the old c2 chips and first few batches of c3 could handle way higher volts than these new ones.
  13. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    indeed, as i have one of the VERY early batches, as you once stated...a CACYC 0915 APMW,a batch known to be a good OCer,for a C2 955, from my knowledge, when your own 955,which was an ES was of batch 0918 APMW, and as such, younger than my Retail proc ;)
    Thanks for clearing that up,cda!:)
  14. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,145 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,649
    Where the hell did all the AMd OC'ers go? Was playing with the 1090T this evening and this is where im at so far :)

    [​IMG]
  15. crunchie

    crunchie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    110 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Australia
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,581 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    dude.... you have a NB cooler right??

    or it'll fry man... 3GHz!!!
  17. crunchie

    crunchie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    110 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Australia
    Probably not 24/7 frequencies :). Mine aren't.
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No offense, but what the heck are you talking about? AthlonX2's 3Ghz NB setting is perfectly fine. What you are seeing is the IMC's frequency that's on the chip. It can be clocked the same way as the actual cores, it only adds about a few degrees to the chip's temps itself. It's worth clocking it that high.
  19. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    I'm in I'm in.....


    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2011
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,142 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,471
    what settings need to be changed to OC the NB? mines only at 2GHz, so i'd like to know some reccomended settings to get it higher (2.4-2.6 would be fine)


    i have the same board as crunchie, so his input would be appreciated
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    CPU NB Frequency should have an unlocked multiplier. Can up that a few notches and don't go past 1.45v in CPU NB VID.
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2011
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,142 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,471
    what voltage range is normal, say for 2.6?
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    On a thuban chip I'd think about 1.3-1.35v. One of those things that "every chip is different" applies here.
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,142 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,471
    i tried 1.30v... some impressive boosts to memory speed at 2.6Ghz NB, compared to stock 2Ghz.


    [​IMG]


    if my math holds true, the L1 read is 18% faster now, after a 30% increase in NB clocks. nice improvements, now to test stability.
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Might be able to get 2.8, my lil C3 does 2.6 no sweat, try for 3.8Ghz clock speed also. A good way to figure out if your bottlenecked by NB is look at your Memory and L3 cache reads, memory should show to be faster like your pic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 member and 2 guests)

itsakjt

Share This Page