1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Valnjes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    While OC-ing, i dont use the MBO in the case...

    My "case setup" is:
    ASRock 890FX Deluxe5
    555BE @ 4GHz 1.45V (clasic 555BE, not the beather one 1.35V)
    4GB Ripjaws 1333 CL7
    LC Power 560W GP3
     
  2. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,278 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Core Temp 0.99.8

    Well I bumped FSB up to 219. Its running at 3504 ghz and the core temp is 27c.
    Seems very stable. So does that temp sound about right ? Im using the
    Core Temp 0.99.8 untility. That'll get me by until I get a new case with
    more fans.
     
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,046 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,598
    Add 10c to that temp and its about right. What voltage are you running?
     
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    coldest mines ever got is 39'c, since you have to add 10'c on that means my cpu idles at 50'c - gotta love the stock cooler
     
  5. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,278 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    1.45
     
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,046 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,598
    To high man. I would tone it down some for those clocks. You shouldn't need that much voltage unless your like me and have a shitty board.
     
  7. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,278 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    What setting would you suggest ?
     
  8. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    hes saying lower the vcore, to stock
     
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,046 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,598
    I would lower the clocks and voltage to stock. Up the clocks 25Mhz at a time until its unstable. Then up the voltage .5. Rinse and repeat.

    At 1.45 you should be able to hit close to 4.0 without an issue on a decent board. But honestly I wouldn't go that high with a Frio.
     
  10. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,278 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    I really haven't a clue how to do any of that. I want to learn, but just reading it I'm lost.
    So right now with the way I'm running it isn't a good idea I'm assuming. Why would be my first question and then is
    there maybe a youtube explaining what you were just talking about. I thought if I was running fairly cool and the machine
    was stable I was good to go. I have a lot to learn evidently. Thanks ! My board is on my specs, it is pretty good for a MicroATX.
    Update: I just went into Bios and it says Normal vcore voltage 1.45 ! I am idle at 31c add 10 degrees 41c. Bad ?
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2011
  11. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    655 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Off-topic, sorry :

    Going for 'Dozer-based setup soon, need me to RMA few things. People - who of you wanna buy next : 300GB VelociRaptor WD & Samsung SyncMaster T240. How much will you give me if i'll sell it to either of you ? :) No rush, might happen atleast in about a month or even more.

    Topic :

    Boise, if it helps : i had 965BE rev.C3 125W TDP CPU; before it was down i had it @ 3.9GHz 1.3875v vCore, going for 1.40v might do the trick plus as people say tweak down FSB/HT & if you didn't - play with VDDA, 2.50-2.60v is prefferable.
     
  12. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,278 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,046 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,598
    Ok you dont need to be at 1.5. Thats nuts unless you have better cooling. Set your volts to 1.40 and set your multiplyer to get you 3.5Ghz and see if shes stable via OCCT.
     
  14. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,278 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Acronym's are killing me man :roll:
    OK figured it out. Stress tester ! So bump the multiplyer
    up and the voltage down ?Is that it ? Then run OCCT to
    make sure I'm safe : ) How long should I run it ?
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2011
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,046 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,598
    lol OCCT is a program made for stress testing your overclock.

    Here you go....
    http://www.ocbase.com/perestroika_en/index.php?Download

    1. Run OCCT with stock settings only. Everything must be stock. If it doesn't pass under stock settings then the system itself isn't stable and you have other issues.

    2. If it passes under stock settings up your volts to 1.40. You could try 1.38 and such but personally I like to start at 1.40.

    3. Up your multiplier until you hit 3.5 Ghz.

    4. Run OCCT and watch your temps.

    5. If you do not break 50c with that Frio it will be a miracle. I wouldn't exceed 45c under 100% load for 24/7 use. 54c at an hour of 100% load isnt to bad......but not great.

    Now if you hit 55-59c under OCCT I would stop OCCT and turn down your clocks. Remember you have to add 10c to whatever you read. Anyway what I am telling you to do is playing on the super safe side. You can push all this higher but since you are new to overclocking I would stay in these parameters. Also do not run OCCT for more then 1 hour bursts and allow cool down between each run.

    If anyone would like to add to this feel free. :toast:
     
    boise49ers and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  16. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,278 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Yes in lame man's terms please :D I appreciate the time
    you took explaining it where I can understand it. Thank you
     
  17. crunchie

    crunchie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    110 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Australia
    Another acronym? (in bold) :)
     
  18. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    listen man a gigabyte ga-880gm-ud2h is is only 4+1 phase, dont expect a high overclock, 3,5ghz is even pushing it lmo
     
  19. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,278 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Really ! There are a lot of Youtubes with guys with Phenom II x6's
    and that board pushing them a lot farther then that. Are temps what
    I need to be careful with ? I'm not looking for records just a little
    gaming advantage. At stock right now OCCT is running at 100% load and
    it is holding at 46c. Doesn't climb over that. I have two programs watching it
    and they both read the same.

    Update: Spiked to 47c once in 20 minutes so far.
    30 min. 46c is where it held most of the time ? I'm
    gonna wait for an answer before continuing anything.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2011
  20. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    cpu temps mean nothing, check your vrms and chokes temps by putting your fingers on them while stress testing the cpu if its to hot to touch then your pushing the board to far, ive own lots of 4+1 boards trust there not ment for wuad cores even at stock unless undercolted or they get super hot around the 90 to 100c range
     
  21. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,278 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    So it is an AM3 board and has support pictures of Phenom x4 and x6 on the package, but isn't up to snuff to run them ? I'm about done with this idea. I get more confused every day. This board advertises dramatically lower system temps because of uses twice as much copper. Is that just advertising mumbo jumbo ? So those guys I seen the video's on youtube with this board, are they in for trouble and have no idea what they are in for ?
    You see my conflict here ? Have you had this board and if so is that what happened ?
    I'm not trying to flame your warning I just need to know I'm listening to the right advise as far as MY board is concerned. I understood it was good for what I wanted to do and now of course like so many other things I've bought in the past it isn't up to the job. I heard the same thing about my cooler, of course after I bought it.
     
  22. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    lets say.... you get what you pay for, when its about mobos.
    boards like this will never clock very high, due to having a small vrm, which isnt even passively cooled. i had stronger boards, that had uncooled PWMs, that BURNED nearly, so hot they were;)
    and i admit: i needed 3 boards, till i found the right one for my phenoms, which is so strong, that now my phenom is the weakspot;)
    to give a statement about 2 oz copper PCB´s... they have use!
    but only, if all other components on the board are top notch... you could regard it as cherry on the top of the cream on an ice ;)
    your cooler is... average. nothing special, nothing bad :)
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Sure it is.. at stock settings. It may not be able to push it much overclocking. Make sure that your phases/vrm's are heatsinked.
     
  24. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,278 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    :DWell I did pay $80 as opposed to the $50 on my last board.
    So do you think I could push it to say 3.7 maybe ? Give the
    finger test. I used to do that with girl friends all the time:roll:
     
  25. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    boise i was not trying to offended u in any way just stating facts, aim for 3.6ghz tops just don't stress test the cpu and u should be find running games etc
     
    boise49ers says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page