1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Shockingly nothing. I think it may have been bad right out the factory, it was doing strange things in post, when I dropped it from 1066 to 800 to OC more it just fucking had a seizure and died on me.
    And by the way it was still WELL within the manufacturers' specs.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    So does anyone mess with the ACC options? I want to see if I can possibly lower my CPU voltage. Anywhere else in the bios I should look for helping stability?
     
  3. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,063 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    whats a good air cooler for the x3 720be i dont want it to be dear either i need an upgrade from this ac freezer pro 64

    using mx2 paste btw

    cant wait for my new mobo to come should be 2-3 weeks lol super saver delivery FTW!
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Phenom II's have ACC built into the CPU. It's only good for Phenom 1's.

    Xigmatek HDT-S1284EE is the best AMD CPU cooler for a good price. The S1283 is ok too but the 1284 has more heatpipes :) Don't look anywhere else!!
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    tomorrow there will be better numbers :D
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  6. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    phase change setup?
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    I'm guessing dice. :D
     
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    didnt he say something about using DICE a couple of days ago?

    Regardless, great job CDAWALL, 4.7 GHz :respect:
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    it was DICE
     
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I just put my 940 in a cup full of water and stuck it in to a freezer.
    I'm crayzayyyyy
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    nah thats not crazy i used a piece of dry ice for a HS and it worked lol
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I've never dealt with dry ice before but wouldn't it melt?
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    it did me and freak just kept putting more on it lol :D it got 4.5ghz stable botting to XP that way
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Damn.. That sounds kinda crazy lol
     
  15. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    CD, what were your running temps and volts for that run?
     
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    for the 4.7ghz it was @1.76v and -13C load for the 4.5ghz run with a piece of DICE on top it was 1.7v and 0C :roll:
     
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    [​IMG]

    MAD SCIENTISTNESSOSSITY
     
    Kei says thanks.
  18. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
  19. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Wow that's awesome :roll:
     
    freaksavior says thanks.
  20. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Nice. :rockout:
     
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    my 4.9ghz validation keeps failing WTF?

    [​IMG]
     
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Asus Crosshair II formula
    2x256mb Micron D9DCD
    320GB Seagate 7200.10
    onboard nv 8200

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2009
    Bluefox1115 says thanks.
  23. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    That's some superfast SuperPi. lol
     
  24. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    cdawall deserves a friggen medal for his work.

    :respect::respect: I bow to you cd, you are tpu's phenom king of overclock! :respect::respect:
     
  25. tjwo94 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    143 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I could use a little help fine turning...im stumped.

    So let me start first by giving you the basics of my setup:
    32bit Vista
    AMD Phenom II 940 BE
    ASUS Crosshair II Formula
    Dual 9800GTX+ SLI enabled
    Corsair Dominator 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 (PCS 8500) Dual Channel Kit

    I have my 940 Overclocked @ 3.817 ghz -- 200x19
    My vcore is 1.50v
    My DDR2 is 2.1v
    Memory timing is 5-5-5-15-2T @ 1066 unganged
    HTT is set at 2200, however CPU-Z is only reporting 1800
    HT is 1.46v
    I have not altered NB settings as I do not understand how and have yet to find a guide to doing so with this motherboard.

    I have run 3DMark06, remained stable and I am only scoring from 15600 to 15800, I believe this to be terrible.

    Soooo...I am looking for some guidance about how to go about further tweaking my system for better performance as I have reached the best I can with my current knowlegdge and understanding.


    I was also wondering why 3DMark only shows my system having one vid card, does it only test using one of them or am I configured wrong somewhere?


    Here are my CPU-Z and 3DMark06 results:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page