1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Awwwe... ok ...

    Stinking native am3+ boards can't get here soon enough. I'm ready for a small upgrade .....

    Any thoughts on migrating a RAID 0/SB7xx array to one of the new chipsets? "Plug n play" hopefully?
     
  2. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    WAIT UP!
    Someone mentioned Deep Purple?
    Hang on.. even my OCd 965BE needs a bit of time to process that info..

    What line-up?
     
  3. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    yo JrRacinFan every write down your P II x2 555 batch number if so, would u mind to share it thanks
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I think it's a 1007EPMW. Can't really be bothered to pull my H50 off the cpu right now nor have downtime due to tweaking. I'm donig the Chimp Challenge and every second counts on my rig cause I want to help sooo bad.
     
  5. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    eh not a problem god i know how that feels brother lol phew!!
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    LOL...

    Been tweaking my moto droid alot lately. More than my pc, still trying to find a good overclocked kernel with decent battery life. It get's frustrating after putting a new kernel on and finding out its sucking the life out of your battery. I know you don't want to hear that but eh ....

    Either way, anyone got any suggestions on how to improve my unlocked 555 pc's performance OTHER than a ddr3 upgrade? Only thing I can think of is an SSD and possibly grab a dedicated 2TB over my raid 0.
     
  7. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    correct me if i am wrong sayings its some kernel system file, making your prossercor usage higher then it should?

    and your x2 555 i more then to help whats your settings in bios,, cause coming from your previous post's anything after 3.9ghz is hitting a brick wall, who knows maybe i can help
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Exactly! I think I found a good one though, I have been using it the past few days.

    Reg. the 555, not all to worried about it tbh. Been keeping the chip at stock cause I don't need the latest/greatest, cranked itup for the Chimp challenge to settings I know are rock stable. I just photoshop browse the web and occasionally some BC2/L4D2. I actually use my phone more than my pc and game more on wii with wife and mom. I just want quicker file access.
     
  9. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    i agree to that, i don't game as much as i used, once and a while i play bc2, empire total war/gta iv or racing games things of that nature. i just have my P II jack up for kicks not that i need the speed, just used to a full quad i guess coming from my old P II 955 i sold or my bad overclocker P II 940, and yea i need of a upgrade asap to replace my old aging cards, real soon i will have gtx560gtx ti, there after i will up my psu or another 4gb kit of memory

    as for the wii i don't have one per say but my friends do i have a blast playing it, its awesome for all ages
     
  10. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    660 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Trust me if i knew, being looking for current line-up, Google searched & found so far nothing. Only way to find out is to be there i guess, sorry. Lol'd @ "even my OC'd 965BE needs a time to process" thingy. They coming May 14th, Keisariya (one of Israel's cities near the Midterranean sea) - gonna be awesome. I might come & check the line-up myself that's all i can say to assure you.


    Topic. Where's Shadow ? ShadowFold that is. :) What it takes to be in the front page of this thread ? Contacted him with (than) 4.1GHz OC but since it turned out not stable, contact him with new CPU-Z dump & CanardPC link ? Or what ? If it takes another month - i'll wait. If it takes another test - no prob as well. Unless it's not relevant now to include myself to this front page list thingy - i'll understand too. Thanx

    You mean this RAID 0 array is on SB7xx mobo ? SB7xx supports SATA 3Gb/s but don't know if it supports SATA 6Gb/s; not that it might matter : SATA 6Gb/s (comes with Crosshair V Formula as well as USB 3.0 me thinks) supposed to be backwards-compatible with SATA 3Gb/s, just like later is with SATA 1.5Gb/s, if that helps.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2011
    Jack Doph says thanks.
  11. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    Probably: Glover, Gillan, Paice, Morse and Airey; definetely without Blackmore.
     
    Jack Doph says thanks.
  12. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    660 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    I'll say what the line-up was after i'll be @ the concert. You & Doph can PM me bout concert's general info.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2011
    Jack Doph says thanks.
  13. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    eh yaujalord want my phenom II 555 lol
     
  14. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    660 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    To buy ? :) Not while the cash runs tragically low on me. But thanx. Besides, soon FX-8130P comes out (along with Nvidia's Kepler & Crosshair V Formula; NV's Kepler=GTX 600-series) & i wanna have as much cash as possible by end of July/August to purchase it/those. Plus i just love my current 965BE & love to [ab]use it. lol

    *UPDATE*

    Second day in a row, no instability issues (though i didn't OC'd GPUs either, it's stock clocks now - 715/3600/1430MHz GPU/RAM/Shaders each), everything runs fine. 4.0GHz is golden, yet it's "mere" 50mins run with all defaults that selected when one choose said 50mins run. LinX will be my primarily & only stress/torture testing CPU OC platform; what kind of run to choose once Indigo Extreme bought & applied (the later will happen when i got Indigo Extreme - possibly by end of May) ? 100mins ? CPU's temp @ idle still 39-41 degrees C.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2011
  15. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    YautjaLord says thanks.
  16. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    660 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    OCCT acted as LinX when i had 955BE : i went for 3.7GHz back then (i think) & OCCT just wouldn't stop BSOD'ing, lol; LinX went nuts & BSODed on 4.1GHz. Thus for now i stay with LinX since it was 4.0GHz 50mins run stable. Prime95 : maybe when i'll have FX-8130P or when i'll get Indigo Extreme & decide to go nuts by returning to my prev unstale 4.1GHz OC.

    Besides, once i'll reach 4.1GHz stable under - say - 100mins LinX run i'd want to do something even whackier : buy & reach stable AMD's FX-8130P 4.1GHz & after it 4.5GHz stable OC; that's when i'll decide whether to LinX it or find Mersennes with it. :laugh: Thanx for links nevertheless. :rockout:
     
  17. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    OCCT Linpack is Linx, just less customizable... both use the same set of Linpack stress test;)
    only thing that is different is the PSU test, as that tends to pull more power... it does not heat the CPU more tho, it was made to stress the PSU primarily
     
    YautjaLord says thanks.
  18. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    660 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    And i thank thee for enlightment. :laugh: Thanx for reminding me that, i needed that someone will refresh my memory. *not sarcastic*

    The only plus for Prime95 is it is free & it has Win7/Vista/XP/Linux/etc... both 32-bit & 64-bit libraries. (but so does the majority of progs/apps/etc...) Guess i'll find out about the rest of pros & cons when i'll decide to use it. :)
     
  19. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    Actually OCCT has two benchmarks in one: OCCT and Linpack; and then you have the gpu test (similar to furmark), the psu test is both tests combined (cpu and gpu). OCCT medium data set is the one I'd like YautjaLord to test, because I think his overclock is not stable.
     
  20. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    660 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    By end of May; what LinX option compares to OCCT's medium data set ? Problem size or Priority ? Mine set to Medium; choose real-time ? I don't want to have bunch of tools, just one & reliable; hence i chose LinX. Clay, please - i wanna stick to one stress/torture testing app for now & probably in a future. :)
     
  21. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    I use LinX today and I noticed that my cpu wasn't on a constant load, it would fluctuate, I don't know if I have to change any settings (any ideas); prime95 put a constant load on the cpu. Also you can't just use those benchmarking tools that won't BSOD on you :laugh:
     
  22. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    OCCT is a pretty weak stability test, if i remind correct... the inbuilt linpack was far more aggressive.:) thanks for clearing me up on the PSU test,tho, werent exactly sure until you told me! ;)
    i think Xan....errr Yautja already told us that he is currently unstable, as he said to us, he crashed 15min into linx, from the whole 75min test

    Linx works like that, its more like Boinc, regarding load patterns... the spikes of Linx are MUCH hotter tho, than the constant 100% of prime, that i have tested thoroughly on my giant ass water loop....

    yeah, indeed yautja, stability tests are made, so they crash/BSOD as soon as possible, as only the smallest bit is incorrect... if a test crashes earlier, than another, then its the better test for sure;)

    none, as they are completely different test... i think the ordinary OCCT test is more like prime, if you want to compare anything to it ;)
     
  23. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    what about testing north bridge clock
     
  24. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    with 2600nb, he should be far away from instability...;)
     
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just wanted to mention, if you want to stress CPU's IMC, run LinX @ 1024MB iterations. If you're wanting to primarily stress cores, medium OCCT. In which case, you could use the one tool (hollar @ claylomax ;)) OCCT and run medium Linpack for IMC testing.

    @YL

    I'm thinking more in terms of bios compatibility with the ability to migrate the array without a rebuild. If I have to rebuild I am just going to start looking at single drive+SSD.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page