1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
  2. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    de.das.dude shows you're lack up knowledge, overclocking with a 4+1 phase motherboard, along with a 250watt psu and stock cooling
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    [​IMG]

    Although MAJOR props to you as an overclocker! On the 785G without an unlocked multi :cool: I give you tons of credit!
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  4. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    LOL its a 450W PSU now.
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    i still dont understand why you needed DDR3 to get that performance.
  6. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    that's great and all but i will wouldn't overclock with a motherboard that has 4.1 phase and no heat sinks on vrms that's just asking for trouble, also about this so called psu you picked up whats the make\model if its generic good luck with that :)
  7. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    generic. but yes i am in the process of remodelling an EVO heatsink to fit my VRMs.

    cant find a tool though :(
  8. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,883 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,161
    Eh, I've had some 450 watts that can go up to 550 and still be fine... but the cooling is a problem.. You can get a true 120 off some people here for $30
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    People move on. PC's need upgrading after a while. DDR3 is getting cheap. It was a small upgrade but mainly did it for motherboard support.
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  10. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    it's called ddr3 has higher memory frequency's then to ddr2 and sure the ddr3 memory may have looser timings to ddr2, but in realty ddr3 makes up for it with higher bandwidth due to higher mhz
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2011
  11. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    your missing the pointers i just stated. ok sure a better cpu cooler well help a great deal to bring temps down on hes processor, but you have to remember the vrms and choke will still get hot, unless extra cooling can be done like adding a fan in front or back side on vrms
  12. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,883 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,161
    He said he's working on a cooler.... besides good airflow will keep em okay till hes done modding that vrm cooler.
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I don't agree, I know what you're saying but take a look at what cpu's that motherboard provides support for. And yet do agree, in one aspect I bet the VRM's are getting hot and of course some heatsinks and a fan would do it justice.

    Regarding the power supply, a nice branded good OEM 500W would do it justice.
  14. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,883 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,161
    I've been wanting to say this for a bit, but I was afraid I would get a infraction, idc now though







    [​IMG]
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    lol i would have bought a branded PSU if i had the money.
  16. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    mad of what buddy? he should not be overclocking that board period unless vrm's and choke cooling is solved bottom line, take my word for granted i had almost the same board from what i gathered 3.6ghz was max peak i could archive and could stress all 4 cores, with out worrying to fry the vrm's and chokes, mind you i could run 3.8ghz or even 4ghz in games that are quad core intensive games like bc2, that makes the mother vrm's work hard and and on the hot side, but could not stress test my cpu at those speeds, the vrm's got blazing hot like close to 100c i am guessing. I should state with out adding a side fan on back side of board i would not of got these results, and last i had almost half a dozen of 4+1 phase boards Ive owned each one ran super hot, if i don't know what i am talking about then oh well not that i told u so
  17. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I take Jr's point and expand on it regarding DDR3. If Jr was to make the switch to a Sandybridge setup but retain that same memory his bandwidth would explode. Remember it's limited by the AMD chipset. However, for his current AMD setup he is pushing pretty much the limits which is always nice to do!!
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    if i fry my VRMs i wll get another board. :D its still under warranty. only a few months ago i had fried my NB. they simply gave me a replacement.
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    One other aspect to take, I heard Bulldozer is going to have an 1866 DDR3 native controller. Which I already showed that I can do near 1850 and topping out my current IMC.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  20. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Absolutely:pimp: If Bulldozer can supply good performance (doesn't have to beat SB), at a good price, that's the upgrade route I'll be taking. Especially as the new boards allow freedom of choice with regards multi GPU setups.
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    LoM...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Any tips on how to break 21k with a 460 & an X4?
  22. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Not a clue mate, I'm guessing it's fine for gaming though and it's just a bit of benching fun?
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    yeah true. I will run some vantage too when I get a few moments.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,671 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    my recommendation is a GTX470 would fix that issue right up :p


    why he has a 95w phenom X4. i run a hell of a system off of a 450w SFX powersupply. as long as he pays attention to how many volts he uses.
  25. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    don't matter 95watt or even 80watt cpu, i have enough experience with 4.1+ boards to know vrm's overheat quite easy heatsinked or not, now if he left hes chip at stock and under volted the cpu, that should drop vrm's teams quite bit and make hes board last a lot longer tell he can cough up the dough to get a better board, as for hes psu i never once read saying he had a sfx powers supply which i never heard of the make so its more then likely its generic

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page