1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,944 (9.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,415
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  3. Dogshitjoint

    Dogshitjoint

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    @/In a place where you aint ;) :)
    Hey Irony...Sorry 4 late Re:

    My temps are around 40-45 in Idle/normal workload on all the cores (may vary +/-1 c) and @ full load the cores warms up to about 56 c but "the frying-pan moment" are imminent in IntelBurntest which reaches 60c+/- and that is HOT!. (I should also wipe the rad. ofc.:slap: @ myself)

    I must also add that my fan setting is to as close to inaudible @ idle but kicks in when it gets hot decided by the curve I have set it on in Gigabyte EasyTune 6. "Uberexplanation" Rocks!:laugh:

    [Edit:] Well I feel I may have and even have --->exaggurated<---(spelling?) when stating my point, yet yours are definately running cooler (my op. is that every degree counts really).

    About the Intels I cant say really as my latest Intel were a C2D E6550 which were running extremely cool IMO (I had it with the beefy Tuniq Tower 120 sporting it:wtf::eek::D) soo...:twitch: lets not talk Intels in this thread OK:D:cool:

    :toast:

    //Dog
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2011
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,168 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,053
    ya Always best to reset CMOS/ clear BIOS/UEFI and then power up and re-implement normal system settings and for ram that have specific voltages and timings and clock speeds, manually input them because SPD will not work right. Auto settings for CPU are fine unless if you are overclocking, Also im not sure if CNQ works right when a CPU is overclocked.
     
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    weird you mean at less than half the wattage that intel chip runs cooler?


    Your temps overall sound very normal for the clockspeed, voltage and a fake loop.
     
  6. Dogshitjoint

    Dogshitjoint

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    @/In a place where you aint ;) :)
    Coupled with "The Beast" (own naming ofc.) a.k.a Sunbeamtech Tuniq Tower 120 atleast as I never (w. some exceptions in the past) use stock coolers I can´t say it would run cool with that tiny piece of NB-cooling:rolleyes:;)

    Yeah but we were not discussing if my temps are normal or not as Irony asked what my temps were and I replied.

    My temps are normal only a bit/5-10c something higher-ish than Ironys on a X6/DH-14 and I state that this bit is not so little when every degree counts as the wall is 62c acc. to AMD over this the chip may be damaged, you may already know this but anyways a random reader may not?

    Hehe fake-loop/cheap-loop still it works like a charm:D:rockout:

    :toast:

    //Dog
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2011
  7. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,746 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz

    Yeah, that's kinda what I thought about the temps. All x6s seem to run very cool.

    As for intel, its irrelevant in this thread.


    (BTW, I think your name and avatar might be one of the best I've ever seen, as far a hilarity goes. First time I saw it, I was like, :wtf: and then I looked closer at your av. and then I was like :laugh::toast::respect::rolleyes::roll:)
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2011
    Dogshitjoint says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Dogshitjoint

    Dogshitjoint

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    @/In a place where you aint ;) :)
    Thx maaan!:D

    To add: I also imagine myself looking a bit like Chong when I stear @ my av. except the fur and cap:roll:

    :rockout::toast:

    //Dog
     
    Irony says thanks.
  9. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Decided to go way earlier for what you suggested, DSJ: it's alive!!!!!!!! Used following apps:

    WinRAR (multithreaded, think it was 64-bit binary but you have to forgive me cause i have it since 2008);
    3DMark11 PT & CT;
    Crysis CPU_benchmark 1 (starting from 3.9GHz & higher it doesn't make much difference in fps i think);
    CPU-Z dump & CanardPC validation.

    Set following options in BIOS for this OC:

    CPU ratio (multi): x20.5;
    CPU-NB: 2400MHz;
    CPU voltage: 1.4635v;
    HT Link: 2000MHz;
    RAM: 1333MHz.

    Personally i don't see much difference (if at all), other than it is also validated in CanardPC; maybe if i'll test it in LinX (75mins again? :)) it'll give this OC a justice. Pics:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  10. sirbaili

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Israel
    Nope___I am not willing to go far than 1.475 - Stable clock is 4150 with 1.450 VTT
     
  11. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,746 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I think the max. voltage stated by AMD is 1.550, and I've gone higher than that with my chip.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah 1.5v is not bad at all. Been there done that, chip still runs.
     
  13. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,746 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz

    http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTtmAzx8YK-Exju6QzkzGV3cy1Gl_1uSc3qP5cDwfacEYkAq0csWA

    I see what you mean


    Yeah, I've been running mine at 1.52v for a week or two, without any trouble. (4.1Ghz) I think I might have a leaky chip, which isn't nesecarily bad, I guess. it means I can run higher voltage through it. But I have run it at 1.6v, and its still fine. extra voltage won't hurt AMD chips like it does intel. As long as you keep it cool, they stay happy.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    dude learn more about hardware, cause anyone with the right mind knows that a ASUS M4A88TM-LE is crap when it comes to overclocking, it cant handle high power usage going trough the pwm, and vrms, so yea keep running your cpu at those settings the board will fry, and might even take other components out.

    i don't understand i people come on hear overclocking with a 4+1 or even 3+1 phase motherboards with quad and six core, bottom line 4+1 boards cant take the power and get real hot never mind overclocking. get it trough you're head guys if u want to overclock your cpu with out risk of frying your motherboard or blow other parts, the buy a 8+! or 8+2 phase motherboard
     
  15. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,746 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz

    I know. I really am not too worried about this board tho, I'm replacing it with a Fatal1ty in a couple days.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    my bad if i sounded offensive i just want people to understand these cheap boards cant handle the power?. as for for Asrock Fatal1ty not a bad choice let us know how it goes bro
     
  17. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,746 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    None taken.


    Yeah, I'll be on this thread posting results as soon as I get it. I'm hoping 12+2 power phase (as opposed to 3+1) will allow me to use this chip to its potential.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Dogshitjoint

    Dogshitjoint

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    171 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    @/In a place where you aint ;) :)
    Way to go YT!:rockout: (I knew u had it in ya:)):toast:

    Agreed the feeling is more often negligble and subtle in most cases.

    75mins of LinX should be enough! maybe even overkill I beleive.

    See ya around m8


    @ Irony
    :pimp:

    Thats good to know about the voltage-hurting if this is a fact? I remember vaguely that the voltage that the guys set on the CPU during the AMD "Dozie" WR, were over 1.7v maybe even 1.75v:eek: but that were together with liquid Helium, so I am guessing/theorizing that if you put a CPU on a stick roasting slowly over a camp-fire and as long as its encapsulated in a media thats keeps it cool enough then it should be able to work without issues:wtf: ehhr or maybe not?:laugh:

    //Dog
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2011
    YautjaLord says thanks.
  19. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,746 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I'm confused as to why you'd have external heat on the CPU, (even in theory) When it produces plenty. But as long as you keep it cool and don't run insane amounts of voltage though it, it will be fine.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81

    More like CPU have it in itself :laugh: (able to OC that high, if approached correctly), or do you actually mean that i have guts to experiment like that? Thanx nevertheless.

    Soon will run LinX than, probably in a week or two from now. :toast:
     
  21. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    am for 4.2ghz yautja
     
    YautjaLord says thanks.
  22. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    On air? WTF? :laugh: Maybe better off with Swiftech's H2O x20 monstrosity, even with VenomousX being ace for air-cooling it won't take that kind of beating i think. Yet i might go for such OC, but in one condition - it'll be in next rig:

    Sabertooth 990FX;
    AX1200W;
    either with the current RAM config, or 2x4GB DDR3 1600MHz;
    VenomousX with Indigo Extreme ETI;
    The rest of components won't be changed.

    4.2GHz on - even though awesome, if not ace - but still, air cooler? My mind struggling to digest this suggestion; retract from this thought while you can. :roll: Maybe after i'll run LinX 75mins & see if it's stable + upgrade to the above mentioned components i'll go for it; til then - 4.1GHz LinX 75mins run & forget. Thanx nevertheless. :toast:
     
  23. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont

    i can hit 4.2ghz np 24/7 with my cooler master hyper 212+ with a single 3000rpm 120m fan spinning no faster then 2400rpm max temps are 52c
     
    YautjaLord says thanks.
  24. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Max temps @ load? I will definitelly wait to purchase Indigo Extreme than: the goal is to have less than 50C @ load or - even better - full load. 4.1GHz for now; thanx nevertheless. :toast:
     
  25. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    your to picky man, 62c is max temp for denab or tubans cores, as long as u keep it 55c or lower your fine bro
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page