1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Raise CPU voltage to 1.39/1.40v & lower HT frequency to 2000MHz; CPU-NB should be @ 2000MHz too. Your board supports AM2+/DDR2 combo, but i think you can still feed OC with as much CPU-NB frequency & CPU voltage to balance out this OC. How high can the RAM overvolt if you OC? Play with it too, as well as with RAM timings. In theory 2000MHz CPU-NB frequency should be a f***load lot of headroom to balance out 4.0GHz with the rest of the settings i gave; if not - lower it. Just my 2 cents, not that i urge you to do it - merely suggesting. :) :toast:
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2011
    Athlonite says thanks.
  2. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    I'll give that a bash on the weekend

    the ram however is already at 2.1V i maybe able to squeeze 2.2 into it but i'd rather not as it's going to be sold to mate when when I upgrade to AM3+ and DDR3 he's gonna buy the mobo,CPU and ram and I'd rather not screw it before then

    oh just checked that HT/NB Voltage seems it's at 1.3V not 1.2 better stability at 2400MHz plus ram keeps up with L3 now where as before at 2000 it was a bit laggy
     
  3. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    The following are the BIOS settings for my OC, when you'll have AM3+/DDR3 combo see if the same will work for you, til then - match (more or less) with your AM2+/DDR2 combo; also - L3 was laggy with the HT/CPU-NB settings i suggested? If it was - leave as it is & be happy with it. :) Settings:

    CPU freq: 200MHz 24/7 (almost - had it a week or so ago @ 203MHz);
    CPU ratio (multi): x20.5;
    CPU voltage: 1.4635v;
    CPU-NB freq: 2400MHz;
    HT frequency/voltage: 2000MHz/1.2v;
    RAM freq/voltage/timings: 1333MHz/1.64v/7-7-7-20-1T;
    NB voltage: 1.2v;
    VDDA frequency (dunno if there's one for AM2+ boards, will balance OC nevertheless just don't remember how): 2600MHz.

    Match those based on AM2+/DDR2 combo, leaving what works as it is (CPU/NB & HT + HT/NB voltages), oh & try to lower RAM frequency to see how it'll work; anything to stabilize OC. Good luck with AM3+ purchase whenever you will. 940 is for Socket AM2+ only, not for AM3 as far as i remember, though. :toast:
     
    Athlonite says thanks.
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  5. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Sweet. is that CPU a BE?

    Also, who'd you shoot to get that board for $15 bucks?!
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2011
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yup. Got it off of lt_jws. Moving the htpc over to full atx. Was claiming no post.
     
  7. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    cool


    I bought my Asrock Fatal1ty today, it should be here in 5 days, (cause of the weekend) so I'm exited. :rockout::rockout:
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2011
  8. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    2Irony:

    That AsRock Fatal1ty sports 12+1 VRM stuff; say how it benefits 4.0GHz on air compared to 8+1 VRM & how it benefits air OC'ing in general? Thanx & congrats. :toast:
     
    Irony says thanks.
  9. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Thanks. I will, as soon as I get it. :toast:


    I'm hoping that I wont need such high voltages for clocks over 4ghz. Right now, anything over 4.1 has to have 1.6+v to stay happy.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2011
    YautjaLord says thanks.
  10. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    On Fatal1ty it'll probably need ~1.4v & lower for 4.0-4.1GHz range; being 12+1 VRM (+ your NH-D14 :)) it'll be really cool & f***in' happy. lol jk AsRock sure does gets attention with 12+1 whether it's gimmick or (hopefully) not: "even" Crosshair V Formula & SaberTooth 990FX are 8+1 VRM. Gratz again. Waiting for your results whenever there'll be. :toast:
     
  11. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Yeah, thanks again. It'll probably be about a week before I've got results to post. Cant wait.

    UEFI BIOS too. I'll tell you how that goes.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2011
  12. Dogshitjoint

    Dogshitjoint New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    @/In a place where you aint ;) :)
    Hey guys (I am too lazy to back and read previous post to reply (PM me if you need me to reply if this really is of importance to ya).

    I just want share/add a fast note about reaching for a higher OC...and I succeded (IBT Normal Stable /86c 2min Furmark Stable) from 4127MHZ on the cores to 4223MHz, from 2412MHZ on the NB to 2472MHz, from 1600MHz in the RAM to 1648 w. low CAS/v and last nut not least I also ramped up my GFX to a healthy 880/4100 1.087v not to shabby ehh?

    (Rest assured I will not give up there as I beleive my RAM is stopping me not the CPU, as FSB@207MHz(Multi@20.5)=RAM@1656MHz made IBT fail(but 206MHz=RAM@1648MHz FSB is OK).Well maybe a HT @ 2070MHz may be a tiny bit too much here also or maybe not as the temp glansed 62c on the cores.

    (Note to self again CLEAN THE DAMN RAD+FANS! and improve airflow with a Flexible VVS "vent-tube" from window to air intake on the R3, actually this should give the case the same temps as it is outside, but better watch for condensation (spelling?))

    (Thx to YatujaLord for getting me a bit on the wild side with the succes of his OC that he first thought to be a bit far-fetched without having his newer parts (Its all about will/determination and taking a wild shot in the dark sometimes :))

    GTG. to watch some MMA & TV-Shows mainly SNL, South Park, Fringe & Robot Chicken and chillax...

    Cheers everybody.

    //Dog
     
  13. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    SNL shorts...robot chicken.....:respect::respect:


    Edit: I know with my RAM, (1333) that if I even go a little higher than that, by upping the frequency that it makes everything unstable. What I have to do is either just use the Multiplier only, or raise the freqency by 25 or 50 and then lower the RAM speed back to exactly 1333, or I get all kinds of amazing Blue Screens.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011
    Dogshitjoint says thanks.
  14. Dogshitjoint

    Dogshitjoint New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    @/In a place where you aint ;) :)
    *************************************
    @ Irony:
    SNL shorts...robot chicken..... It´s a can of laughter:D

    I will check more stuff out about the RAM m8.

    *************************************

    Hello again (Qouting muself w. mixed feelings)...

    Strange thingies does happen, as I had the OC OK inside of Windows using an OC-Combo (BIOS+GA-EasyTune6) but when I tried to set it all in BIOS only, the system wouldn´t POST :/

    I had to settle for 4202MHz 1.472v /NB 2460MHz 1.280v and RAM @ 1640MHz !?

    Any ideas to why this can be?

    better get back to my TV-Shows before I get dementia (with all due respect to those who may be affcted with this terrible disease).

    //Dog

    Update before going to sleep: Damn! to get IBT Normal Stable in BIOS/Win7 I had to go even lower (Still 4200MHz :)) but I must admit that this sounds ridicolous in my mind...So I have no higher hopes for a stable clock over 4.2GHz without dusting of my rig & mixing with RAM Freq./Latencies and as a last resort fix that VVS-Vent I mentioned earlier :)

    Chill & Cheers folks!
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011
  15. PotatoCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  16. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    If you can run something like Prime95 for any length of time, its stable. You should be able to do all kinds of amazing things with that CPU and mobo. Dogshitjoint and YautjaLord both have those CPUs I think.

    Heres a link to Prime95 if you don't already have it. Its a benchmarking and stress testing software. Most people use it to stress test their new Overclocks to see if it is stable. if it BSODs during the stress test, then a perameter needs to be changed, like voltage for instance. It looks like you're still running at stock voltage, it wont hurt it to raise the CPU voltage a little. just to 1.4 to start off.
    http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft/

    (I would've posted the one at TPU downloads but the Download link was broken.)


    Edit: @DSJ: The only windows based OC software I've used is AMD Overdrive. But I've only used it just to mess around. To do any OCing, I always use BIOS. Even if its a little bit of a pain to restart over and over. OC Software makes me nervous; Maybe I have dimensia, LOL

    Edit#2: @DSJ: You still have plenty of headroom for your CPU voltage. Try bringing it up to 1.500v, I think that might stabilize it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011
  17. PotatoCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thanks
    i raised the voltage to 1.4 and also the NB multiplier to 2.4Ghz :)

    i did the small stress test and let it run till test 5, hasnt crashed or got any errors. oh and the CPU temp didnt go over 50C.
     
  18. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Cool, sounds like its pretty good.

    Some guys like to run it for 8 hours, and some guys like to run it for 24 hours, But as far as I can tell, it stresses your CPU far beyond what any game can do, and if I can run it for 30 mins to an hour, I think its probably gonna be fine.

    But yeah, You're probably pretty stable.


    Edit: Oh yeah, My Fatal1ty 990FX it coming today!!! I'm so exited...Newegg is awesome. 2 day shipping, with the normal $9 price.

    So I should have a few results by tonight...Provided it's not a dud.

    And I also wanted to try AS5 on the HSF this go round, But my friend that I was gonna borrow it from got work a couple hours from here, so hes only back once or twice a week. sooo...I guess I might have to use the NT-H1 again. Its not bad at all, I just wanted to try AS5 and see if I could get a little lower temps.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2011
  19. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    2Irony:

    Waiting to see how it'll fare out on you; one more indicator for me to buy Sabertooth 990FX. :) Good luck in arrival & testing of the mobo. Bet with this mobo you can squeeze out additional 100-200MHz for your 24/7 CPU OC just like with most of 990FX-based mobos. :toast:
     
  20. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I got my Fatal1ty, got it all hooked up. When I first got everything put together and powered it on, it looked fine. and then when I finally got windows to boot, the display driver, wireless driver and keyboard and mouse driver were all missing. so I installed those and everything seems pretty good.

    Excellent overclocking. I can run at 4000mhz with just 1.412v, which required 1.55v on my other (crapmonger) board. I got some new numbers in cinebench, and will run 3DMark06 and 11 right now.

    Also, UEFI BIOS is much better than I thought it'd be. very smooth mouse in BIOS.
     
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    One thing I like about the new 900 series, just plain out better handling of dram & CPU/NB clocking. Cant wait to see those numbers Irony. On another note, waiting on a 2x1GB ddr3 kit from a friend and you bet I will try to rehash a few benches on my old school 720 black.
     
  22. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    3Dmark11 is P2787, and 06 is 17985.

    I'm gonna take my OC a little higher now and see how it goes.

    Oh yeah, and at 4.1 I didn't get higher than 38c during Prime95 :rockout:
     
    YautjaLord and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Impressive with that 6770. :)
     
  24. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Show screens; my 4.1GHz requiers 1.4635v, but the mobo is 980a SLI-based one, hope Sabertooth 990FX won't requier more then 1.4v for this & higher OC. Great purchase, Irony. Just one question though: why such low score in 3DMark11 with Performance preset? Cause of GPU (6770)? Other than that - great stuff, specially the Prime95 temp. :toast:
     
  25. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Yeah, its my GPU holding me back.

    I've got a screenie attached, With Prime95 running.

    Edit: the voltage is at 1.475 cause I was running at 4.3 last night. But 4.1 is stable at 1.412v
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page