1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    you dont need more HT than 1800-2000, everything above that actually diminishes the performance, dont ask me why ;)

    Thanks! And there is still gas left in the Tank, i feel!;)
     
  2. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    You're talking about NB right?
     
  3. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,494 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    yeah lol on my ddr2 rigg i had it's NB 2.9 stable now this new mobo wont hold 2.8 or 2.7. and my ram volts cant be changed. last time i will be buying from gigabyte.
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Nice OC velvet. Nice to see you got a 960T with an unlocked multi. There are some that don't have that feature. Can you give me a maxxmem bench if you dont mind.

    @Catnip

    Try ctrl+f1 at main bios screen. Also, your IMC might not like the additional bandwith "?" Maybe im talkin out my butt.
     
  5. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Thanks! Didnt knew not all were unlocked... mine was sold under the "Black Edition" Moniker, so i guess there is a locked and an unlocked part?

    of course, here ;) :
    [​IMG]
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Try tightening bank cycle. What's your TRFC's set at? Yup, the OEM 960T's are a locked part, retail box are unlocked.

    To get even more out of that could lower 1 multi on CPU-NB and start overclocking dram.
     
  7. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,157 (8.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,624
    960T (unlocked)- p/n- HD96Z..... 95 watt

    960T (locked)- p/n- HD96T..... 125 watt

    It looks looks as long as it's 95 watt and has the Z in the part number it's the unlocked version..... haven't seen any of the locked versions around
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2012
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    maybe i will do, as final measure... the subtimings are just the stock ones for now, as said, didnt do much about them till now;)

    of course, just simply upped the multis and tested for stability, the best ist yet to come i think! :D

    actually, the sticker on my box reads: "OPN: HD96ZTWFGRBOX"
    Its the 95w version, yeah... also havent seen any locked ones here either;)
     
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Depends on OPN cpu-world has that data

     
    Norton says thanks.
  10. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Just linxed again, 20 runs at 4114mhz, 1.416-1.44 stable at the first try :)
     
  11. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    nice.
     
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    of course, im gonna try for more!
    Hell, i was glued to 3.8ghz max for over 2 Years of my Life! :D
     
  13. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,157 (8.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,624
    How are your temps at that OC?

    Have my 960T at 3.8/4.0 turbo and temps stay under 46C max load with my Xig Dark Knight (fan on auto). I will probably push it over 4.0 next week... just making sure it's stable under All conditions before I go further. :cool:
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Clocks atm are as following:
    [​IMG]
    temps are between 28(core,bugged)/36(socket) idle and 36/44 load,i use 1.35v CPU-NB all running passive on my loop... with fans turned on the temps are MUCH lower. ;)
     
    Norton says thanks.
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I'm telling you man. You need to up dram speed a little.
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    im sorry JR :eek:... i was a lazy bastard till now, gonna up ram clocks soon, just wanted to make sure everything else is right (and how i far i can go with NB etc when searching for the optimum dram clock+timings)
    :D
    i got this 2400 cl10 ddr3 here, idk what they can do on a good imc... have to try i guess ;)
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,974 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Hopefully the IMC can take the extra clocks since you're already stressing it at 3.2ghz. I must say though, those are some impressive clocks!
     
  18. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    That was mere curious testing as said ( to see how far i can go)... i still feel there is more left in the tank, but with 3.2ghz NB that seems to be pretty stable (for now at least),I can work ;)

    What i like the most, is the silence of this Setup... CPU runs completely passive, except for when there are high temps in summer or so, or the rad has heated up too much for my liking over the night, or during stress testing. 10 Minutes of fanning, make it cool for hours again, till it is saturated again, thru normal desktop load and idling ,daily use... (and that happens once a week maybe) :)
     
  19. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Show off, I can here my water cooled pcs fan s from the next room, get it folding, I se!e it as stability testing 24/7 at 4250 and 3150nb
    see if it's on in the morning: ()
     
  20. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,973 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,240
    Woo Asus approved my RMA and I sent it off, it should get to them by Friday and I should get it back ?????
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,865

    They will send you a new board of same model or equivalent. Honestly i wish i told you to write down the SN of the board. So u know if what you got is new.


    AND Velvet. Keep all parts dust free in that machine. I mean monthly too
     
  22. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,973 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,240
    I roughly remember it, I would know it if I saw it though. I don't really care if it's the same one, as long as it works :3
     
  23. MGF Derp

    MGF Derp

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    169 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Michigan Tech
    Going for 4+ Ghz on my Athlon II x3 440 tonight. Not a Phenom but similar traits. Missing having a Phenom around :(
     
  24. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    That'll be cool if you get there. What happened to your phenom?
     
  25. MGF Derp

    MGF Derp

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    169 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Michigan Tech
    Traded my little brother it for this Athlon. I have other hardware and I wanted to get hime upgraded. I have a plan on getting another one, thinking 960T like the rest of you are getting.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page