1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,047 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    788
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Did you try unlocking that chip into a X3 or X4?
  2. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,328 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    any chance of some screenies fella, so we can see what volts your using for mobo etc ive mine 24/7 folding at 4 but itll do 4.2 stable but at 1.52V on cpu and a high cpunb of 1.5 ,all watercooled so temps are fine , though ive lowerred cpunb to 1.43 at min and im testing stability after the last few posts:eek:

    i had tested it mostly with nb at 3.2 and cpu at 4.2 and it was unstable untill i put 1.5 on cpunb before ,but ive lowered it due to folding and my fear of killing it , that and the 850TX psu im using starts whining if i push much more ,its doing its bit though 2 pumps 14 fans and the rig listed has to be on the edge of 850 watts, the last psu calc tool i tried said 1150watts req'd:twitch: its on my upgrade list obv(modular too:D)

    i was also getting the odd kernal power error popping up in events log before so im sure the psu was being spanked a bit too much ,now there gone
  3. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    that will probably be the max, idk if anything warmer than subzero or close to subzero temps would air would benefit you very much with these high clocks;)
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,935 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    why not search for it on your favorite Web Search Engine. Sounds to me you need more Vcore
  5. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Thats a pretty good clock. It seems like I saw someone on here a few months back with one at 4.5 with 1.48 volts or something, made me jealous. I can only boot at 4.3, not stable at all. I can run at 4.2 though, stable with 1.52v. I keep it at 4.0 though, and enjoy the volts at 1.40v.

    Whats your CPU voltage? if its like 1.48 or something, its not gonna hurt it to bring it up a bit to keep it stable.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,861
    I think your thinking of my post of the 1090T I used to run...:D 1.48v @ 4.5GHz but that was just for boot and nothing else...Anyways, Usually Id run 1.525v on the core with LLC at 75%
  7. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    What are the max Volts your recommend for daily use, for CPU and CPU-NB?
    Have you found any use in tweaking the PLL, NB, NB 1.8v,SB and HT volts?
    So far it doesnt seem like there is much happening, stabilitywise, when i use them;)
  8. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,861
    What cpu/and NB volts you running?
  9. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    1.44 on the CPU, 4.2ghz
    and 1.3125 on the NB, 3130mhz
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,861
    1.44v on the high side but it's Great!
    1.3125 is a tad on the high side!

    I was running 1.10v NB@ 3000k
  11. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    yeah, running NB@ 3000 1.2v shouldnt be a problem for me too,idk if lower would work, havent tweaked too much in that direction yet :eek:

    so you say, im at the end of my personal flagpole now,eh? :cry:

    what are the minimum volts at that a thuban died? :D
  12. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    London
    My board has no Load Line Calibration, but it has the highest vdroop ever.
    I always leave the cpu/nb around 2600, because the extra voltage adds more heat to the cpu and the gains are minimal past 2600 (that's what I read on this forum)
    Why we have these fora then? Also you don't know my vcore, how you recommend more.
    In the end most of us do that, when you go past 4.1Ghz it needs more vcore and it gets hotter; that's why I now leave it at 4.0Ghz with 1.40v.
  13. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Thats Eidaraman...not very unfriendly, but definetly useless, and always big words, with little to back them up;)
  14. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Sounds like your chip must've been the best of the best golden chip. Low volts all the way around. :rockout:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Detection

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    New Crosshair V Formula has made OC life so easy, got this in a few minutes, stable for weeks and I reckon I could push it a lot higher with patience

    [​IMG]
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    welcome to TPU!

    please fill in your system specs here
  17. Detection

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks! Specs filled :)
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    tuniq tower is that awesome? you did 4GHz on that? :O
  19. Detection

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yep, this Tuniq Tower wiped the floor with my brothers water cooling with the same chip, so he replaced his water cooling with a Tuniq Tower 120 extreme too, best cooler I have used and was only something like £35

    Amazing temps, only problem is it sits very low to the RAM, just fits with a bit of fan adjusting but it touches the top of the RAM
  20. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    My cooler is about 1/4 inch over the RAM, maybe a little less. There's a few other guys with 965s on here, a month or two ago they were all trying to get over 4 ghz.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Detection

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yea I couldn't stabilize mine anything over 3.8GHz until I stuck it into the Crosshair V Formula, now its OCing like its a different chip
  22. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    With my micro atx ASUS board, I had to have 1.52v for 4.0ghz, but with my Fatal1ty I only need 1.40
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Detection

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I think it all depends on how well the board can stabilize the juice to the CPU, vdroop etc

    Cheaper / Older boards with not so good components etc probably need more voltage for when the chip pulls load, but when its idle thats too much voltage, hence why its harder to keep the OC stable, thats my guess

    With more expensive higher quality boards, they can keep the power steady for the chip in both power states idle and load

    My guess
  24. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Water all the way long... anything less is for beginners! :p
    Nah, do what floats the Boat, im just joking! :laugh:
    I wont trade my loop for any crappy aircooler thats made, tho.
    Who else can run 4.2ghz 1.44, 3130NB 1.3125v on passive?;)
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,410 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,974
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok guys, I got my 1055T crunching 24/7 but want to start OCing. I have oced many black edition denab quads but this thuban is newer and I will need some advice on were to start. I have a rocketfish 90MM cooler that seems to be doing ok but I will not be going to insane clocks. I say around 3.5Ghz or so to start and I will see what temps I will have.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page