1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Start by dropping ram one divider under what its rated, bringing nb/ht link multi down one. Set vcore to say 1.3v nb vid to say 1.2v. Disable spread spectrums and c1e/cnq. Start pushing bclk/fsb up. While checking temps start off by running prime95. If you can go at least an hour, then run linpack max ram available for an hour. Rinse and repeat for every 100mhz.
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  2. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I need just a touch more cpu volts, other than that I can run that. and never go over 41c
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Thanks Jr, I will be testing as soon as I get free time. I have army reserve duty this weekend so monday or so I will be able to get things rolling
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Correction, that's every 100mhz on BOTH nb and cores.

    EDIT
    Also my post is rather universal to all am3 based chips if not looking for stupid highoverclocks, right down to volts used.
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  5. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Pretty good Results! (Screens? With Linx? Sensor tabs?)
    But, you also need to have to use that hanging brick in your case...
    Im not formidable with heavy air coolers, a nice comfortable WB is something that cant be beaten;)
  6. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Here's a screenie. NB is at 3000 with 1.28v, CPU at 4.2 with 1.52 in bios. Ran linx for about 3 hours yesterday with no problems. RAM is only at 1600, had it at 1840 for a while but it wasn't perfectly stable.
    [​IMG]

    My cooler weighs almost 3 pounds, lol. I would really like to try water.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Not bad at all, just need some lower timings on that ram!:p :)
    Yeah, Water is great once everything is set up properly,in my opinion, air cooling is by far not as good as water, as long as your loop is leakfree and conveniently built
  8. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I think they are 9-9-9-24 stock. they won't run at 7 though.

    Edit: I plan on getting a second gen bulldozer, it should get toasty, as far as air is concerned. I'm thinking I might try water then. I don't want a kit, like corsair or antec, I kinda want to build it.
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    not to brag but its crazy must of you with your 6 core tubans are having a hard time getting anything stable over 4.2/4.3ghz. where as my phenom II 965 can get into windows at 4.8ghz, and of course i know its not stable but i am making a point hear
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,219 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    A stable CPU is far more important than a suicide pass
  11. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    maybe so but being able to get into windows without a bosd at those clocks is impressive. as for a stable i ran prime for 3 at 4.5ghz
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    with a different board, clocking wouldnt be so good for you i guess, its the best board i personally ever used for phenom clocking;)

    also, if you can boot at 4.8, youre just lucky... pretty good chip;)
  13. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    yea well live in the Canada, so i had the doors open that day lmo
  14. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    well, then you have just answered your question yourself, why you are able to clock like that;)
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,967
  16. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Now that is pure gold... HAHAHA :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

    My favourite part?

    2. NB or northbrige - It doesn't only govern the performance of Ram. Totally wrong. NB has nothing to with RAM- all latest CPU has IMC integrated memory controller that decides the frequency, latency and performance of the ram. NB caters to display devices / pcie devices.

    What a champion.... :roll:
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,843 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,917
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I love TPU...and that you guys have a clue....that was....wow. Lovely way to start my Sunday!:laugh:



    Heh.
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2012
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  18. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Wow....

    Willful ignorance is one of my pet peeves. And when ignorance speaks with a voice of authority.
    de.das.dude says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    oh god... this reminds me of when my local computer tech tried to tell me a GPU has nothing to do with Bluray playback and that only a motherboard with an on-board HDMI port could do so. I tried explaining that it has an on-board GPU but he refused to acknowledge such a fact. This all started when I asked him if he had any blu-ray drives for sale. He tried to ask what motherboard i had (even though i bought it from him) but told him i have an 9600GT and should be fine. He refused to sell me one since he thought i'd bring it back when "i found out my motherboard doesn't support bluray"
    Athlonite and de.das.dude say thanks.
  20. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,967
    lulz. cant believe he is a friend of my cousin.
    that was written by me :p

    and he is the senor moderator at a forum. i left that forum after spamming everywhere :p
    Irony says thanks.
  21. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Good form, well played :laugh: :toast:
  22. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    How can I unlock 4th core in my 720?
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Here's a video of me unlocking the 555 Black on a 790X-UD4P
    http://youtu.be/Sp74dBeVs58

    A very similar bios layout to what you have.
  24. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    ROFL mobo doesn't support Blue ray I hope your not planning on using him anymore what a moron
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What? Come again?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page