1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    So looking at my temps who thinks they can help me push it further? Since I upgraded my RAM the other month I really am struggling to get anything over 3.5Ghz shown and I know it can do more, I used to run it at 4Ghz for benching and that was on an old air cooler.
    [​IMG]
  2. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Is it loaded in that shot? Temps are quite good. I'm suprised you can run it with that little voltage tho, try raising CPU volts a bit if your trying to OC. My 1090T needed 1.40v to do 4.0ghz, and 1.5 to do 4.2. I never could get it to boot at any speed with less than 1.35 tho
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That doesnt look right for temps. Need to know what current settings on dram and what you are trying.
  4. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Those temps are correct :rockout: I'm using stock clocks for the RAM - 9-9-9-27
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ok ? So at 250bclk you're running 1333 9-9-9-27 and what are core temps....
  6. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Honestly the photo above are showing my true core temp, and my RAM is actually clocked 1868Mhz 9-9-9-27-40-T2
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Leave it where it's at.
  8. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    I just bought myself an PII x4 965 to replace the ageing and tired 940 in my sys specs so will be having a little play with it when it gets here

    Edit:

    Ok so it arrived this morning and I put it in when I got hame from work

    so it's running stock 3.4GHz clock with a bump to HT and NB which are both running at 2.4GHz (stock=2.0GHz) and 1.38V and it's purring along nicely
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012
  9. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    129 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I tried overclocking my AMD when I heard something clunking (like hitting the fans). Opened up the PC and it was a bloody christmas beetle. Christ I hate those little buggers.
  10. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    ROFL Ba Humbug then
  11. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,847 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Hey guys. I've been battling getting my 965 BE over 4.0ghz! It has no problem running 4.0ghz at 200 mhz fsb 20x multi, 1.4125 core 1.125 cpunb, x12nb multi for nb (2400mhz nb). Idle is 37 and load is 50* C. Prime 95 stable for hours. Cooling is CM V8. Antec 300v2 case with fans all over it!

    How do I get this thing to 4.1+?!? Extra core volt and cpunb volt isn't helping either.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2012
  12. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    286 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Wow that CPUNB voltage is far too high for only running 2400, why so high?
  13. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,847 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    I was following dolk's guide, which suggested for 4.0ghz a 2400 NB @ 1.250
  14. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    286 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    So if you were following the guide, why have you put the voltage on CPUNB@1.425v?
  15. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,847 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Oops sorry its set to 1.1250v for the 4.0ghz stable OC. I missposted. I'll edit the above post. This thing is stable to run lean up to 4.0ghz @ 50*C then after that it falls flat and requires a ton of voltage on the nb and the core just to get to 4.1. I've been 30 mins stable so far p95 @4.1ghz (20.5x multi) 1.525 volt core 1.375 volt cpu-nb. Its at 53-56*C load at this temp.

    Maybe I should give up and stay at 4.0ghz?

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2012
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  16. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    286 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    I would just stay at 4ghz, that's a standard phenom oc at acceptable temps. Now go and enjoy some games, it's xmas :)
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    The last batches got up to 4.5GHz BTW. 4.1-4.2GHz on air.
  18. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    286 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Tell him that, not me lol.
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    Responding to your reply.:slap:
  20. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    286 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Fair enough, on his current cooling I feel he should just stay at 4Ghz. It should be ample and it looks like he has reached his limit cooling wise.
  21. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,847 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Thanks for the passion guys :roll: I really appreciate the advice so far.

    I am at stable oc at 4.0ghz low voltage and stable at 4.1 ghz with high voltage, might as well go with low voltage
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  22. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    286 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Enjoy amp, happy gaming :)
  23. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    "Go with the path of least voltsistance and your processor will endure a long time on the earth"

    I made that up.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    This obviously is the threshold of your processor. FYI, 55 and under is great on temps so if you have headroom you can push it and Phenom II's are excellent even up to 1.55 volts.
  25. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    They maybe great upto 1.55V but I wouldn't do it on air though

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page