1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,014 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    978
    Thanks I had it running all multiplier, supports tight timings. Was setting up my old machine for a sale and went 1066 with really tight timings ( cant remember off the top of my head) and it ran nice with that setup.
     
  2. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    853 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    I just checked that first Cinebench I posted the Voltage was 1.6v at 4440 Mhz, I have to add that I booted into windows at 4.2 and used AI Suite to go up from there. I see you're using an Asus board itsakjt so AI Suite should work for you. I don't use this software often since it can be kind of buggy but it'll work great just for a validation. You can raise the volts and the multi with it. I was above 1,7v for that validation that I posted.
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
  3. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,175 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yeah I have AI Suite(disabled the start up services) and tried with that also(TurboV). System freezes or is highly unstable at anything above 4.4 GHz. Its weird because otherwise, my chip is a good overclocker. I tried on 3 different motherboards. I had an Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3 and tried there. Same results i.e. max 4.4 GHz. Tried with an Asus M4A785TD-V EVO and same 4.4 GHz max. And now with my present board too. I can do 4.3 at 1.6V. Is it because my cooling is insufficient? Or something else? I have the modded stock cooler but it should not be a problem for just posting just a CPU-Z screen! Or am I missing something? @Johan45
     
  4. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    853 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    T

    Temps would have been my first guess, running a modded stock cooler probably isn't going to get you any higher. I'm on an unconventional external loop with a 700 GPH pump and a Phobya 1260 supernova. I use this to cool 2 high power systems at the same time.
     
  5. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,014 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    978
    IIRC, I couldn't get above 4.2 to boot, despite the 4.1ghz speed max temperature being about 55*C and the voltage being 1.4v. Maybe it was my mobo's 4+1 power phase design. Is that typical with Deneb non-980's?

    My ram got flaky at 4.1, it was strange. Only showing 8 gb of my 16gb, etc.
     
  6. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    853 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    These PIIs tend to get a bit wonky right around the 55c mark so it's not surprising. On air I had a hard time with 4.0 but my chip needs 1.5v and would crash in P95 everytime with water it run no problem.
     
    Vario says thanks.
  7. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,175 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Thanks for the info. :) What cooler do I need? Will a good air cooler be enough for at least a CPU-Z validation?
     
  8. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    853 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    That I couldn't say it depends on how hot you're getting. A Hyper 212 wasn't enough to run 4.0 for me but all you want is a validation?? I've heard good things about the Dark rock pro, never tried one but.....
     
  9. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,175 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Gotta check. :) Yeah I would be happy to run 4.0 GHz 24/7 and 4.2 max. Above that, I think it would be impractical to run this CPU 24/7 @ 4.2 GHz+ for the reliability and power efficiency. :oops:
     
  10. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    853 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    And just plain wear and tear, alot depends on the V_Core needed and heat.
     
  11. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,946 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    :cry: Well looks like I'll be leaving the club guys I just bought me an AMD FX 8320 to slap in my Crosshair V Formula :clap::peace::lovetpu:
    hopefully it will be by weeks end so I can have a good play over the weekend
     
  12. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    853 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    You can always toss the 956 back in for a stroll down memory lane.
     
  13. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,946 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    Yes I could always put it back in the old Crosshair IV formula

    well it's goodbye to the 965 and hello to the 8320 so far so good

    and reusing it in the CHIV will have to wait till I can afford some more ram
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2014
  14. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    660 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Here's the new (1.69) CPU-Z validation of my still old & still trusty 965BE working in Crosshair V Formula-Z - this THING does bump up some few MHz to 4.0GHz:

    [​IMG]

    I promised - i delivered: before i switch to FX-8350 i told i'll post the 965BE's OC on this particular board, so here it is. Three, THREE consecutive years of this frequency without [almost] any hiccup!!!! This is the respect you give to such awesome CPU! See ya all @ FX OC'ers Club, tomorrow i'll go for assembling & OC'ing this beast to 4.4/4.5GHz along with RAM. Thanx all for this F***in'A Phenom II OC'ing ride. Cheers, keep headbangin'. :rockout:
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
  15. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    191 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Location:
    Bełchatów, Poland
    Phenom II X6 1045T. Stock: 2.7GHz 1.35v, normal use: 3.2GHz 1.30v (yes, downvolting!), max on ASRock 970 Extreme3: 3.8GHz.
    Now I have better motherboard but I don't need more overclock.
    http://valid.x86.fr/kyz68x

    Why my RAM running on CL11?! UEFI sucks...
    [​IMG]
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,812 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,076
    you need to set it from the bios to use the xmp profile.
     
  17. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    191 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Location:
    Bełchatów, Poland
    I know but now I have unstable power supply. Normally this RAM works as 1333@1600MHz CL9.
    When I buy Chieftec 500W PSU, I will set it to CL9.
     
  18. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,175 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Did 4324 MHz on my Phenom II X4 955 Deneb. Its will turn 3 years old this June and still has its max OC potential. Kudos to AMD and me for the love to my computer. :) Here's the validation.

    [​IMG]
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  19. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    853 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Nice itsakjt, those 955s were always good clockers.
     
    itsakjt and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  20. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,946 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    On air or water itsakjt and (never mind what Volts/temps were you getting) forgot to click the validation
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
  21. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,175 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    On air and not only that, with the stock cooler. :p Recently got a Corsair GS 700. So now out of money. My next target is a new chassis and cooler. :)
     
    Athlonite and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  22. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    853 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Picked up an AMD PII X6 1090T and gave it a run yesterday, nice chip it was running 4.4 stable with 1.5v then it just skyrocketed after that here's the max I squeezed lat night. http://valid.canardpc.com/t7wk7v

    4856.01.JPG
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt, suraswami and itsakjt say thanks.
  23. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,936 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,537
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I bet it will give a fx 8350 a ass whoopin. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    853 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Ya it does but only at some things. Give them a run at HWBot prime and the FX puts it to shame but cinebench my FX-6350 can' even touch it.
     
  25. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,936 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,537
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    After the wcg challenge I am going to do some seriuos benching. I have a couple chips I want to see where they top off at.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page